Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended
Dunmore once returns to a historical novel, as she did in The Siege, which remains one of my favourites by her, along with A Spell in Winter. All her books, whether contemporary or historical, take their plot from the characters.

This book is set in Finland in turbulent (and fascinating) political times, but wears its research lightly.

It is the...
Published on 10 May 2007 by Jaybird

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ...malice curled inside Eeva and licked her heart like a cat...
A well researched novel set in Finland in the years running up to 1902, during the period when the country was dominated by its giant bear of a neighbour, Russia. Dunmore's writing has developed something of a sub-genre lately, focusing on war, upheaval and revolution, firstly with The Siege and now with this novel which has a similarly political background. Dunmore...
Published on 16 May 2011 by Eileen Shaw


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ...malice curled inside Eeva and licked her heart like a cat..., 16 May 2011
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: House of Orphans (Paperback)
A well researched novel set in Finland in the years running up to 1902, during the period when the country was dominated by its giant bear of a neighbour, Russia. Dunmore's writing has developed something of a sub-genre lately, focusing on war, upheaval and revolution, firstly with The Siege and now with this novel which has a similarly political background. Dunmore humanises the book by means of the story of an orphan, Eeva. The class-ridden nature of society in Finland during this time gives Eeva only the slenderest of chances to escape a life of servitude. She is lucky in that she ends up housekeeping for an enlightened doctor and eventually leaves, with his connivance, to live a revolutionary existence in Helskinki, which seethes with the presence of Russian agents.

A novel dominated by the raw and unpalatable upheaval of that era, this is a patchy read, with the writing sometimes flattened by Dunmore's close adherence to the political circumstances which dominate the lives of most of her protagonists. There is a sliver of hope in the ending for Eeva and her Helsinki lover, Lauri, but Dunmore might have given us a definite if not a happier ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Rural Finland at the turn of the 20th C., 28 April 2007
By 
p_roux (Espoo, Finland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: House of Orphans (Paperback)
I enjoyed Dunmore's description of life in rural Finland at the turn of the century. There was an attention to detail which was fascinating and her portrayal of the characters at the orphanage and the doctor and his family was sympathetic and well-researched. The poverty of the farming communitites is a stark contrast to the comforts of the Swedish speaking bourgeoisie in the early 1900s. With the doctor's help Eeva moves back to Helsinki, and her life amidst the political turmoil of the new city is again an interesting contrast to her childhood years in the security and the purity of the countryside.

Although I enjoyed the beginning of the book I felt we lost Eeva after she moved back to Helsinki. The narrative switched without transition from one character to another without developing to any climax. I was surprised when I reached the end of the book, and was frustrated that some of the characters had slid out of the novel without me noticing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A book of two halves, 3 Dec. 2010
By 
Frances Stott (Devizes, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: House of Orphans (Paperback)
When I started this novel, I thought I was really going to enjoy it. I love Helen Dunmore's writing, and in this book, it is as fluid and effortless as ever. But the story seems to lose direction, and when the heroine, Eeva, moves from the country to Helsinki, the plot becomes looser, more muddled and less satisfying. I missed the kind doctor of the first part and the delicate portrayal of his relationship with Eeva, and the political activities of Eeva's new friends in Helsinki failed to grab my attention. Like at least one other reviewer, I was surprised and puzzled when the novel suddenly ended, with so many questions unanswered. This book was altogether a disappointment; definitely not one of her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Set in Finland, 10 Sept. 2009
By 
Dr Phibes "Dr Phibes" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: House of Orphans (Paperback)
Set in Finland in the early 1900's and selected from the 2006 orange long list. Unfortunately if did not make the shortlist but I was very happy to have read the book which I enjoyed.

Set against the backdrop of the Finish uprising against Russian domination in 1901. I have not read anything set in Finland before and found this made the book more interesting for me. A 16 year old Eevie leaves an orphanage to become a maid for a country doctor. We see Eevie come to terms with her new life with the doctor and I found this part the book the best. The Finish love their spas ! and some great 'Spa' moments are included in this book.

SPOLIER

The doctor slowly falls in love with Eevie and this was very well done and convincing and for me this is where the book should have ended..

After she leaves for Helsinki to be with her true love I think the book loses pace and would have been just as good a read without this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 10 May 2007
By 
This review is from: House of Orphans (Paperback)
Dunmore once returns to a historical novel, as she did in The Siege, which remains one of my favourites by her, along with A Spell in Winter. All her books, whether contemporary or historical, take their plot from the characters.

This book is set in Finland in turbulent (and fascinating) political times, but wears its research lightly.

It is the story of Eeva, daughter of a political activist, who is sent to an orphanage and from there into service, working for a country doctor.

This is a wonderful book, deft and elegant, without being difficult or condescending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric but not quite there., 19 Aug. 2013
By 
This review is from: House of Orphans (Paperback)
I really enjoyed the first part of this book. We meet Thomas & learn how he meets Eeva at the House of Orphans & how she comes to work in his house. The narrative flows along easily & the atmospheric descriptions really bring the orphanage & Thomas' house in the forest alive. I felt it lost most of this when Eeva leaves Thomas & the house in the forest to move back to Helsinki & her revolutionary boyfriend. From the blurb, I thought more would have been made about the relationship between Eeva & Thomas but this fell short for me. The book was a little too short & the ending left me wanting more.
I came to this after reading The Siege & The Betrayal, both also by Helen Dunmore & both of which I would highly recommend over this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another world, 3 Mar. 2007
This review is from: House of Orphans (Paperback)
This is one of those incredibly satisying novels that takes you into an unfamiliar world and then propels you along through terrific characters and a satisfying plot. I never knew I'd be interested in Finland in the 1900s, but I was gripped, and taken into two contrasting worlds of Helsinki the new modern city and the backwoods of the Finnish countryside. It's a love story -- a triangular one -- and it's also about revolution and terrorism and full of suspense.

The characters are by turns noble, touching and sinister -- and sometimes all three.

Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love and politics in early 20th century Finland, 19 Dec. 2010
By 
Ralph Blumenau (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Orphans (Paperback)
The book is set in Finland in the first few years of the 20th century, when Finnish nationalist and left-wing groups in Helsinki were planning resistance to oppressive Russian rule. As a child Eeva knew that her father was part of such a circle. When he died, Eeva briefly lived with the family of her father's comrade, who had a son, Lauri, of her own age; the children were close childhood friends. But when Lauri's father was arrested by the Okhrana, Eeva was sent to an orphanage in the country. After a year there, at the age of sixteen she was employed as a servant by Thomas Eklund, a 47-year old widowed country doctor, who had been married to a cold wife; his embittered daughter Minna hardly ever came to see him.

Eeva's presence is resented from the start by Lotta, an unhappily married woman friend of Thomas', and even more so when Thomas gradually becomes obsessed with the graceful girl, though he restrains himself from doing anything improper. Eeva, for her part, is unaware of the doctor's feelings and in fact resents being a servant to someone she believes to be wealthy and who belongs to the Swedish ruling class.

The atmosphere in the first two-thirds of the book, when Eeva is employed by the doctor, is tremendously well conveyed. The emotions under which the doctor labours, the pressures of two resentful women, and Eeva's deliberately self-contained nature all make for a tense read. It is all set in a Finnish countryside whose sights and scents are described in a most evocative manner.

Only occasionally in this part does the book take us to Helsinki, to show that Lauri, now a young man, has become part of a circle of conspirators led by his sinister but magnetic friend Sasha, and takes part in arguments about violent versus non-violent resistance. Compared with the deep feelings in the doctor's house, they seemed to me rather text-book, even if Lauri, who "had heard something like this a hundred times", felt that Sasha's arguments "sounded fresh, new, like snow nobody else had ever trodden on" (p.194)

Eevi and Lauri had lost touch with each other, and it would be a spoiler to describe how they resumed contact and how Eeva left the doctor's house to join Lauri in Helsinki - but it is all beautifully done.

But in Helsinki Lauri's involvement with Sasha creates problems, to put it mildly; and after some chapters in which nothing much happens, the painful tension rises again. I would have wished for a crisper end of the book, and could not see the point of the literary form which Helen Dunmore has used for the resolution in the last chapter - but until then it was a powerful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars historical novel set in Finland in early 1900s, 6 Jan. 2013
This review is from: House of Orphans (Paperback)
To me this book is as much about what forced people in countries across Europe to make new beginnings out of their various feudal pasts, as it is about a particular time and place (Finland in the very early 1900s).

Some of the customer reviews of House of Orphans complain about the switch in style as the book moves from the countryside to the city. I guess maybe what Helen Dunmore was attempting here was to show how the move from rural to urban living took place concurrently with a change in storytelling style: from whatever went before (lyrical realism?) to modernism. I imagine she was trying to reflect that in the way she wrote this. Hence the detailed and sustained narrative style in the early section that deals with Eevi and the Doctor in the countryside, and the more jumpy, at times discordant, style of narration once Eevi moves out of the doctor's house and begins to make a new life the city.

I slightly agree that not enough happens here, towards the end, that the novel somehow feels unfinished. It feels as though we're moving towards a crash point but the author bottles it and whatever crash is coming (revolution, assassination, emigration) happens off the page. But this could be intentional. Either way I still found this book well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Book club choice, 2 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House of Orphans (Paperback)
Quite a good read. The rave reviews on the back caused me to expect more. To say she is one of the best living novelists, makes me feel sorry about the quality of our current writers. I did not like the ending, most of the book told a story. The last chapter summarised the characters as if they were items on a shopping list, I found it disappointing and unsatisfactory . It was almost as if she had run out of steam and needed to dispense with the characters in a hurry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House of Orphans
House of Orphans by Helen Dunmore
£4.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews