Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tres Bien !!!
Having thoroughly enjoyed A Year in Provence I was pleasantly suprised to find that Toujours Provence is even more entertaining. It is written in the same vain as it's predecessor, describing beautifully the rich scenery, characters and events of rural France, but as the author has more experiences to draw upon for this book, the stories have a bit more variety. Pour...
Published on 19 Feb 2006

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A pleasant read in hospital
I enjoyed the book as a light read, my first Kindle purchase. It's the usual Mayle territory with British expat meets 'colourful' French characters with hilarious consequences type anecdotes loosely strung together. The pen illustrations seemed rushed and lacking relevance. His first one in the series was the best.
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tres Bien !!!, 19 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Toujours Provence (Paperback)
Having thoroughly enjoyed A Year in Provence I was pleasantly suprised to find that Toujours Provence is even more entertaining. It is written in the same vain as it's predecessor, describing beautifully the rich scenery, characters and events of rural France, but as the author has more experiences to draw upon for this book, the stories have a bit more variety. Pour yourself a glass of wine and enjoy a very entertaining read !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Read, 26 July 2009
By 
Mrs. L. J. Martin (Muirkirk,Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Toujours Provence (Paperback)
I couldn`t put it down, even took it to the Loo to get peace to read it, the usual Peter Mayle hilarity, a wonderful read for anyone that loves France or dreams of sunnier days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic book that couldn't be closer to home if it tried, 17 Mar 2000
By 
This review is from: Toujours Provence (Paperback)
Being an English citizen that moved to Provence a year ago, I have to say this was the funniest, most accurate book I have ever read. Everything that Peter Mayle wrote was spot on with a humourous description hand in hand. I would recommend this book to anyone who's ever been to this area of France and even those who haven't. It was amusing to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tourjours Provence., 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toujours Provence (Paperback)
An enjoyable read but one of the weaker books that Peter Mayle has written,But saying that it is still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toujours Provence (Kindle Edition)
Mr. Mayle has a warm and wry sense of writing, and his affection for Provence and its people comes through time and again. I highly recommend this book, especially for first time readers of travel writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still entertaining, though weaker than his first book, 19 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toujours Provence (Paperback)
Still entertaining, though weaker than the first book A year in Provence. If you read the first one, you can tell the main ideas of this one, it just gives more detals
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A taste of france, 12 Aug 2011
By 
WEEK END CHEF (CAMBRIDGESHIRE, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toujours Provence (Paperback)
Since food and France are some of my favourite things in life, this book was always set to be a poular choice for me. Add in Peter Mayle's genius for describing people and places so clearly that you can almost smell and taste the atmosphere and you have an absolute delight all wrapped up inside the pages of a book. One of my favourite reads, ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 29 April 2014
This review is from: Toujours Provence (Paperback)
Having read the first book I was looking forward to this and I was not disappointed. More of a holiday read than serious and definitely great for a French trip!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Toujours Provence, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toujours Provence (Paperback)
Haven't read it, as it was bought as a present for a friend who lokes Peter Mayle. I'm sure they enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Peter Mayle, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toujours Provence (Kindle Edition)
I loved A Year in Provence and Encore Provence so wanted to read this one. I don't think it's as good but still very enjoyable reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toujours Provence
Toujours Provence by Peter Mayle
4.68
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews