Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How the "zoo in Durrell's luggage" became the Jersey Zoo.
Naturalist/writer Gerald Durrell, with a writer's eye for unusual detail, a great sense of humor and absurdity, and an unquenchable enthusiasm for finding unique animals, recounts his third animal-collecting trip to the Cameroons in this classic 1960 memoir, recently reprinted. Supplying other people's zoos for many years, Durrell, on this trip, intends to collect...
Published on 13 July 2005 by Mary Whipple

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The last book for my A-Z challenge. Parts of ...
The last book for my A-Z challenge. Parts of the book were amusing where he described animal behaviour. He went out to Africa to collect animals with the view to opening a zoo. The local people were bringing various animals for him to buy and some of the monkeys were real characters.
Published 6 months ago by Kim


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How the "zoo in Durrell's luggage" became the Jersey Zoo., 13 July 2005
By 
Mary Whipple (New England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Zoo in My Luggage (Paperback)
Naturalist/writer Gerald Durrell, with a writer's eye for unusual detail, a great sense of humor and absurdity, and an unquenchable enthusiasm for finding unique animals, recounts his third animal-collecting trip to the Cameroons in this classic 1960 memoir, recently reprinted. Supplying other people's zoos for many years, Durrell, on this trip, intends to collect specimens for his own zoo, one which will be open to the public and which will become a "self-supporting laboratory" with a captive breeding program to prevent the extinction of these species.
Arriving on the west coast of Cameroon, Durrell uses pidgin to converse with the Africans and refers to all animals as "beef," but he soon acquires many rare animals from the local population. A frightening canoe ride through hippo-infested waters, an attempt to capture a fifteen-foot python, a search for the blue-scalped, bald-headed Picanthartes bird, and the experience of smoking out a hollow tree keep Durrell and his staff energized and excited before they head to the highlands. There, Durrell stays with the charming Fon of Bafut, a elderly king with many wives, and he and Durrell enjoy many long evenings of talk, dance, and whisky. Soon the Fon's compound fills up with hundreds more captive reptiles, birds, and animals, including a half-grown baboon, a five-year-old chimp, and a baby chimp, all of which provide innumerable, often hilarious adventures.
Durrell provides details about the caring and feeding of these animals, and he and his staff prove to be very "hands-on" caretakers, often having animals creep into their beds. The logistics of building cages and, eventually, packing them for the trip home, reveal the level of detail necessary to keep these animals healthy and calm so they can survive the trip to England. Upon his return, Durrell then begins the daunting task of trying to find a place to house these rare specimens, a task he neglected ahead of time.
A lively writer with a commitment to conservation but a tremendous sense of fun, Durrell gives the flavor of the whole trip, not just the academic details, providing realism at the same time that he reveals irrepressible humor, much of it directed at himself. His sensitivity to his surroundings, which he conveys through vibrant descriptions, makes the countryside come alive, while his anecdotes about the animals and the people he meets show his interest in expanding his knowledge while fully participating in events around him. Though there is no epilogue to bring the reader up to date on the success of Durrell's zoo or its captive breeding program, this information is readily available at: [...] Mary Whipple
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We go have happy time", 25 Jun. 2012
By 
Dolphin (Stuck inside a cloud) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Zoo in My Luggage (Paperback)
This is an autobiographical account of how Gerald Durrell (an already much experienced "animal rustler") assembled his own private collection of exotic animals which, in due course and against considerable odds, became the backbone of his zoo on the island of Jersey (now the Durrell Wildlife Park).

I would not normally want to read about wild animals in a zoo, but this is the story of a passionate animal lover who is committed to doing what it takes to save at least some of the species that mankind's unstoppable spread is driving into extinction. Durrell's very real affection for the assorted creatures he is determined to preserve shines through, and even surpasses his scientific curiosity and commitment to studying their habits.

Durrell's writing style is amusing, lively and enjoyable, despite some unavoidably outdated attitudes. There is an irrepressible optimism that drives the search-and-collect party into dodgy situations and their mishaps are related with both humour and humanity. The growing menagerie also provide many hilarious anecdotes with their escapades and strong personalities. To communicate with the locals, Durrell employs a kind of Pidgin English which is, in itself, humorous but the main reason to read this book (more than once, in my case) is that once again we get to meet the Fon of Bafut, a fascinating personage who has befriended Durrell & Co. on a previous expedition and is instrumental in the success of this present trip. The Fon is the most fun-loving, generous and uninhibited host one could wish for and, for me at least, the chapters where he appears are the best part of this delightful book. There are some charming pen-and-ink illustrations by Richard Thompson but I wish they had included a photo or two of the Fon himself. A truly funny book, even if you don't care about the animals. Read this for the humour, the scientific titbits are extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing and engaging account of animal collecting, 28 July 2010
By 
Katie Stevens "Ygraine" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Zoo in My Luggage (Paperback)
No matter how 'out of date' his books may be now, Gerald Durrell remains an absolute pleasure to read. Not only does he have a wealth of fascinating experience from which to draw, he has an excellent eye for detail. His style is dry, amusing, and full of that oh-so-English litotes which is so rarely seen in newer writing. I often found myself laughing out loud at his delightful way of phrasing things.

I did find the constant use of pigdin grated a little. However, this was mostly because it sounded like JarJar Binks, and I can hardly blame Gerald Durrell for something that was George Lucas' fault some 40 years after he wrote this book. I became used to reading it fairly quickly though, and it soon ceased to actively annoy me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful description of collecting animals in Africa for his zoo, 3 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Zoo in My Luggage (Paperback)
After collecting animals for others, Gerald Durrell writes an enchanting description of how he collected animals for his own zoo. The descriptions of the animals and the difficulties of keeping them alive and healthy in captivity make great reading for anyone with an interest in natural history.
His great affection for the local African people shines through also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great and intersting zoological story., 3 Mar. 2013
By 
JCT Richards (Northallerton, North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Zoo in My Luggage (Kindle Edition)
Gerald Durrell was not only a terrific writer, he was also a fascinating and interesting person. This story of his adventures in Africa and his cooperation and friendship with the African chief makes the book a pleasure and delight to read. I have read his story of his boyhood in Corfu and now I will purchase his other books over the next year or so and know that I will enjoy thoroughly relaxed and enjoyable reading. I have also visited his excellent zoo in Jersey where all the animals are kept in roomy well equipped and clean accomodation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have read this book before, 26 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Zoo in My Luggage (Kindle Edition)
I read this book years ago, I always enjoy Gerald Durrell, you learn something but he is always funny as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extremly pleasing book that will amuse most people, 17 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Zoo in My Luggage (Paperback)
An extremly good book that shows Gerald Durrel at his best. It takes you to Bafut and then to Bournemouth with an array of witty characters, animal and human. I would suggest this book to everyone that likes animals and anyone that likes a good laugh. One of his best yet!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME BOOK!, 25 April 2013
By 
D. Norman (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Zoo in My Luggage (Paperback)
This is by Gerald Durrell the naturalist who wrote My Family and Other Animals. It tells the story of how he wanted to open his own zoo. I bought this for my 9 year old son as he likes animals and he thought it was a fantastic book. Great characters, good story line and he has really enjoyed it. He has read all the usual Harry Potter, Ronald Dahl, Wimpy Kid etc and this was something different. Would definately recommend it for any boys who like to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great read from Gerald Durrell-just like all of his books!, 31 Aug. 2014
This review is from: A Zoo in My Luggage (Paperback)
A zoo in my luggage was a great book. I've read most of the Gerald Durrell books and they are absolute joy to read. If you buy this book, I'd recommend buying also "The Whispering land" and "Encounters with animals" and many more such as "my family and other animals" etc. It was a great read and I hope you end up getting it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very happy, 30 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Zoo in My Luggage (Kindle Edition)
good book , as expected, and the service and delivery was very speedy, happy to recommend any time, excellent service
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Zoo in My Luggage
A Zoo in My Luggage by Gerald Durrell
£2.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews