Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars47
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 17 October 2009
`Why England Lose' or `Soccernomics' - to give it its non-UK title - is an attempt by Simon Kuper, a leading football writer, and sports economist, Stefan Szymanski, to give football the `freakonomics' treatment. The result is sometimes entertaining and often interesting, but overall the effect is somewhat uneven and frequently bogged down by the authors' attempts to provide a theoretical framework for their musings.

Comparisons with Moneyball, Michael Lewis's 2003 account of how Billy Beane revolutionized the Oakland Athletics baseball team through statistical analysis, are inevitable. At times `Why England Lose' seems a self conscious attempt to give football the Moneyball treatment . But the very nature of the game is less controlled than baseball, which essentially boils down to one-on-one encounters between pitcher and batter. Football's inherent randomness, despite the authors attempts to argue otherwise, make it more difficult to be influenced by statistical theory.

Arsene Wenger is the golden boy of this book. He has used statistics and psychology to brilliant effect, particularly in the first half of his career as Arsenal manager. The authors unravel some of his strategies, but don't really add much new. There's a sense that even an in-the-know fan could suss them out (buy young, sell after a player has peaked, make a player feel wanted, and so on) over a few post-match pints.

But instead of on-the-field business the authors explain other footballing phenomena. Some, such as why new stadiums and football tournaments don't bring desired economic benefit, is fascinating. Others, such as which country is the best `pound for-pound' footballing nation, less so.

This is an entertaining book, but I'd stop short of describing it as a must read. There's a knowingness - which borders on smugness - in its tenor that belies the actual content -- which is interesting but not exactly earth shattering. In his earlier works and his weekly FT column Kuper has proven himself a far more entertaining and perceptive author; it's a shame he doesn't quite carry it off here, but maybe that's a problem that comes with co-authorship.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
While you might not agree with the conclusions made by the writers in the book, you can't deny that it is a fascinating application of economic theory to football. It certainly gave me food for thought.

The thing that surprised me while I was reading the book was that I was taken more by the writers' methodology than the actual subject matter. I loved the way that something as romantic as footballing glory can be analysed using regression analysis. I never thought that I would see a mathematician like Gauss mentioned in a book about football.

Having said that, the romantic football fan in me still hopes for glory and wants his team to do better than the statistical factors would suggest it should. The book seems to suggest a degree of fatalism in football which I would love to disprove but expect I can't.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2010
This has been described in some places as a kind of Moneyball for soccer; it isn't.
Rather it takes set of (largely Anglo-centric) assumptions about football, and tests them using broad statistical analysis.
So the title, for example, 'Why England Lose', explains how actually England do about as well as the size of the population and other factors warrant.
And the history of European football alongside industrial growth is considered when highlighting how few major European capitals have produced a European Cup winner. London hasn't to date, for example.
Simon Kuper's input is obvious in the writing, Stefan Szymanski's economist's brain in many of the fields of inquiry.
Thought provoking rather than revelatory. Recommended.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 December 2010
This books takes an analytical approach to various footballing topics, such as England's performances in world cups, chances of scoring/saving a penalty, playing the transfer market and so on. It makes heavy use of statistical data and sets this against received footballing wisdom, often with surprising conclusions. Despite its premise, it's accessible and requires no real specialist knowledge of statistics. Sometimes it seems to take quite a while to reach a conclusion that seems intuitive, and occasionally, the rationale for the use of data could have been more clearly justified, but overall an interesting read.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
I have to confirm that the earlier reviews about the Kindle version are absolutely right. If you crumpled up a photocopy of the paperback, fed it through a scanner and used 15 year old character recognition software, it would still not be as bad as this centre-justified rendering. There are some headings which I still don't understand, even after reading the body text. This is mystifying. Did no one have access to the original text?

The book itself is probably worth 4 stars. A scrupulously fact-checked, exhaustive analysis, it is not. Nor is it intended to be. It is supposed to be a book looking at some interesting phenomena in football in a new and entertaining way. In that it succeeds. You probably won't agree with every argument, but you are at least challenged to come up with a counter-argument instead of falling back on pundits' clichés.

The chapter I felt was missing was whether it is true that "the league doesn't lie". The hypothesis is that over 38 or 42 games, luck / randomness / bad refereeing decisions etc. should even themselves out. It should be possible to analyse this statistically - and not just by one team's fans looking at specific decisions that "cost them" - but oddly, the authors didn't go there.

Still, the rest is a good read. Just not on a Kindle.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2009
Given the subject matter, I thought this book could be a little dry. Far from it. Its exceptionally easy reading and deals with a number of myths about the Beautiful Game. The 2 authors neatly dissect various intuitions and myths that have arisen about footie, and present their findings in a very readable form.

I won't spoil the fun, but if you ever wondered WHY England lose, WHY Real Madrid buy galacticos (and its not because they want to win the league) and exactly how MUCH difference a manager makes, then you should buy this book.

Despite having finished it, this tome retains pride of place next to the bog for essential peaceful reading.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2009
Most importantly, the first 200 pages of this book are excellent reading - please keep that in mind while I get through a couple of minor irritants!

As someone else mentioned, I found my attention drifting through the middle section of the book. I couldn't quite see the point of some sections, and others seemed to huff and puff for page after page without any meaningful conclusion.

Secondly, about half way through I had to skip back to the front to see if I hadn't missed a foreword by Arsene Wenger. This is a very `Arsenal' book. There are numerous digs at Liverpool and Spurs, and every 3 pages either Chelsea or Man Utd are being cited as a negative example of something or other. Looking at the index, Arsenal and/or Wenger are mentioned 45 times - and every single reference shows Arsenal in a positive light. While some are perfectly justified, a piece on loyal supporters uses Nick Hornby (a famous Arsenal supporter and author) as the archetypal diehard (they are called "Hornbyesque fans") really stretched credibility. No offence to Hornby (who if I remember rightly, grew up a long way from North London anyway) but writing on the subject of diehard supporters and using Arsenal as a positive example? I would accuse the authors of a lack of research but I suspect at least one is a regular visitor to the Emirates!

But these irritants should not detract from the book as a whole. As I mentioned, the first 200 pages of this book are an absolute joy. Depending on your view of football many of these chapters will either confirm a lot of things you may already have suspected, or better still, come as an absolute revelation. It cuts through a lot of the hype and guff that are spouted at us by the likes of Sky, ITV and the BBC - if you find yourself rolling your eyes at Sky's pre-match build up every Sunday, or wincing as Andy Gray/Andy Townsend/Lawro trot out another cliché then this book is absolutely for you.

For the most part, the statistical analysis is well explained, well presented and genuinely enlightening. There are also some fascinating insights from experts within football, but even more from experts outside football and for that reason alone I could quite happily have devoured another thousand pages. So much of this book was 'fresh' - that's really the ony way I can put it that makes sense.

I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this book, despite my grumbles. And furthermore, once you've also read it, I guarantee you will probably want to put it in an envelope and send it to your club's Chairman/Manager with the note "Please, please, please read this!!!"
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
I am enjoying reading this book. But MAN, the conversion to Kindle is horrible. There are lots of typos and most of them look like bad OCR conversions. The best example is the famous "Bosnian ruling" on transfers. If you're reading this review you know what should be. But apparently ni = m. For a recent book - 2008 - this is ridiculous, why didn't they take the proper copy and transfer it?

I'd give this probably 4 to 5 stars for content and readability, and 1 star or less for the Kindle edition. Horrible horrible horrible.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2010
A smashing book (in terms of the content) but an absolute shocker of an e-reader edition. Clearly the publishers could not be arsed to proof read the conversion from the text to the electronic copy. No publisher in their right mind would print a book on paper with as many typos as this - they would be laughed out of the industry. It is a shame, as the book itself is very interesting but whoever was responsible for the e-edition has seriously let the authors down.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2009
The book is an economists look at the game of football - a Freakonomics for football. There are some insights that should make the book mandatory reading for strategists at the FA, club chief execs, and ALL football pundits. Although it is over 300 pages often fairly detailed analysis, it is surprisingly easy to read, and peppered with interesting anecdotes about the likes of Brian CLough and Guus Hiddink. I could not put it donw and read it from cover to cover in a day.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)