Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars But for the ending would have been 5 stars!
Dean seems to churn his books out fairly regualrly and maybe he should slow down and get some new plots.So many of his recent books Richochet,The Husband and this share similarities:normal people thrown into action against unseen adversaries.Where a friend/lover/relative is in peril.Law agencies,tracing technology etc.

This book rattles along nicely and is...
Published on 16 Jun 2007 by J. Mather

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flatulence!
I totally agree with previous reviewers that this is a fairly good thriller (thin but fairly exciting) up until about page 400 and it is as if the author's publisher has called him up and said " I need the book finished by tomorrow" so the last 30 pages are just rushed to a conclusion and you are left with a tremendous feeling of anti-climax. Just like "The husband"...
Published on 31 Jan 2008 by Big Jim


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars But for the ending would have been 5 stars!, 16 Jun 2007
By 
J. Mather "Rock God" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Guy (Hardcover)
Dean seems to churn his books out fairly regualrly and maybe he should slow down and get some new plots.So many of his recent books Richochet,The Husband and this share similarities:normal people thrown into action against unseen adversaries.Where a friend/lover/relative is in peril.Law agencies,tracing technology etc.

This book rattles along nicely and is engaging;the characters appealing,but soon it becomes repetitive with the excellent creepy villain Krait(who reminded me of "Red Dragon"'s psycho)killing people just for plot shock value.He would have made a great main character in his own right.

It was engrossing towards the end as Krait lures his prey(I won't say any more)with a brilliant bait!

But that is where it falls apart,the finale set piece is flat and the denoument just ridiculous when you think about it.

But an enjoyable read,but no more of these thirllers Dean! Go back to scaring the readers!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flatulence!, 31 Jan 2008
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Good Guy (Hardcover)
I totally agree with previous reviewers that this is a fairly good thriller (thin but fairly exciting) up until about page 400 and it is as if the author's publisher has called him up and said " I need the book finished by tomorrow" so the last 30 pages are just rushed to a conclusion and you are left with a tremendous feeling of anti-climax. Just like "The husband" really and also like "the husband" there are endless mentions of the wind and variations of it, eg "gentle breeze" and "blowing a gale", indeed there is a section about half way through where there are 18 (I counted) pages where the wind gets at least one mention per page.

And by the way, there is the statutory first chapter of his next book at the end. And you can guess can't you, but YES on the third line there is a mention of the "breeze". Pass me my anemometer - if that's how you spell it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This book wishes it was Velocity, 21 May 2009
By 
L. S. Boag "Lee" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Guy (Paperback)
I couldn't help but think that this book was like the younger, less intelligent sibling of Velocity (one of Koontz's masterpieces). The main character was a tad bland and enigmatic at times that left you more bored than frustrated and more anhedonic than enthused.
The position the main character is forced into is morally disrupting, but hardly holds a candle to Velocity's emotional torture.
The main save of this book is the saddistic bad guy, that you can't help but like at times due to his dark humour and depth.
The climax isn't bad, it's just like the characters got a bit tired after the entire book was a big game of 'chase me!'
If you've already read Velocity, give it a go, it's a good 'on the bus' book and has its moments. If you havn't read Velocity, go read it first, or you'll regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jack Reacher Lite, 8 May 2009
By 
S. Carruthers "Marathon Reader" (Gateshead, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Guy (Paperback)
This is my first review on Amazon, so bear with me...

I've read a few of Dean Koontz's books over the years and I'm left wondering what's happening to him and Stephen King? For me, along with James Herbert and Clive Barker, they were THE horror and supernatural writers. Thankfully, Barker and Herbert have held up rather well as the years have gone on, but King and Koontz... well, let's just say they've mellowed.

This book is pretty good, but nothing that hasn't been done before. It reads like one of Lee Child's Jack Reacher books, but is neither as exciting or engrossing.

Read it if you've got a couple of days to kill, but you're life won't suffer if you don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To Portland and back seated between a mason and a psycho killer, 18 Aug 2008
By 
Joseph Haschka (Glendale, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
When I infrequently turn to a Dean Koontz thriller for entertainment, I usually discover some psycho that's evolved from a bad childhood. It makes one wonder what crowd the author ran with as a kid.

Here, stonemason Tim Carrier, minding his own business on a barstool, finds himself mistaken for a hit man by one who abruptly gives him an envelope of money and the note: "Half of its there. Ten thousand. The rest when she's gone." The "she" is author Linda Paquette.

Then, when hired killer Krait shows up at the same barstool, Tim endeavors to pass himself off as the one ordering the hit, but with a change of mind. He gives Krait the 10K to not carry out the pre-arranged contract. Krait is unmoved.

On flights from Burbank to Oakland to Portland to Las Vegas to Burbank, THE GOOD GUY was a book I couldn't put down. I barely noticed the packaged peanuts or, on the leg to Vegas, the young woman with the showgirl body and plunging neckline in the seat across the aisle. The read is that good.

As Carrier takes it upon himself to single-handedly save Linda's life, the hook of the plot is obviously to discover if he succeeds or if they both end up as corpses. Krait is one twisted and relentless dude in his pursuit of the fleeing pair. Then, there are the anticipated answers to the questions that the reader asks. What was Carrier before he started laying brick that enables him to keep himself and Paquette out of harm's way? You or I would be dead in a heartbeat, so don't try this at home. And why has Linda been targeted? Even she hasn't a clue.

Except for its diversionary potential, THE GOOD GUY has no redeeming value whatsoever; it's pure trash. But, for a plane ride from Burbank to Oakland to Portland to Las Vegas to Burbank, it was absolutely perfect. Even if I did pass on the opportunity to ogle the showgirl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My first Dean Koontz - not bad, 23 Feb 2008
By 
This review is from: The Good Guy (Paperback)
I have seen lots of Dean Koontz on bookshelves and always avoided them as I always thought he was more like Stephen King and not really my sort of thing. My wife bought this for me and I was surprised that I really liked it.

Yes - the ending was a bit unbelievable (though it didn't feel rushed to me as others have suggested) and although Krait was a wee bit strange with his home cooked, right skin product fetishes, this just added to his general menace.

The story line was sufficiently gripping and atmospheric (agree with another reviewer re. Koontz's obsession with weather conditions, particularly wind!) and the Tim, Linda and Pete characters were all likeable and you found yourself wanting to understand the stories which they keep from each other until the end.

The main drawback for me was the dialogue between the two main characters being chased. Koontz builds up sufficient tension as Krait gets nearer to his prey but this is then deflated by the wisecracks that pass between Tim and Linda. Instead of the urgency expected of two people who know they are being pursued by a homicidal maniac, you get a laid back almost disinterested contempt for the position that they are in that does not quite sit with the fact that they are running for their lives.

The Cream and Sugar connection was a bit far fetched but on the whole this was a good read. Will read more Koontz but would be interested to know which are similar books to this as don't fancy the more macabre reads!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The (80%) Good Guy, 25 Sep 2008
This review is from: The Good Guy (Hardcover)
The Good Guy is not a bad book. Over the years ive read alot of Koontz books, but this one is the worst. However, Koontz is truly a master at what he does, so compared to other stories, this one is still engaging despite its finale.

The good: The plot has a number of intersting twists, there is tension in the pace, the characters are moody, the imagery is engaging and its fun to hate Krait as he orgasms at his own (supposedly) god-like status.

The bad: However, the ending is awful, this book is like a dessert followed by a starter. The sweet mouth watering delights (that you usually look forward to at the end) can be found at the start. Then, when you excitedly get to the end you are met with a bowl of cold asinine pea soup, resembling snot.

I disagree strongly with the pedant who tried to joke about mentions of 'wind'. It is not noticeable, quietly adds atmosphere, sets the tone in certain scenes and conveys wider meaning. Its just the writing style of Koontz.

I agree with the other reviewers that the ending is rushed. It is out of place, ludicrous, clumsy, and unemotional. You are left thinking 'i dont really care' about the characters. Koontz could have written that God came down and fixed everything, it would have been more believable and infinitely better than the actual ending.

Overall The Good Guy is a good book, up to around 50 pages before the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced and action-packed, 8 April 2008
This review is from: The Good Guy (Paperback)
I have to say that what really excited me about this novel was the premise- for a mason to be mistaken for first a hit man, then the man hiring the hitman was a concept too good to pass up. The first few chapters had me hooked, and OK I'll admit it; I'm a sucker when it comes to altruistic male protagonists. The combination of snappy dialogue between Linda and Tim and numerous cleverly interwoven metaphors make the book a stylistic success.

Having said that, I don't think this book is an example of Koontz at his absolute best. Tim's backstory, when it's finally revealed, seemed overdone. The scene with the (warning- spoilers!) president especially seemed a bit contrived whereas the details about the government agency behind the killings were understated.

If you're looking for an easy, gripping and action filled read this is a good book for you, if you're like me and a bit finicky with plot details then some aspects of this one might annoy you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A quick Read, 9 Jan 2009
This review is from: The Good Guy (Hardcover)
Having recently read 'Velocity' by Dean Koontz and enjoyed it, I picked this book up and found that it was a quick and enjoyable read. It is fast and pacy and as some other reviewer said it is good for a plane journey, which is true. It did annoy me a little that Tim couldnt answer the question of what he did in a previous life and it did end a bit poorly but overall it was good. I liked the storyline of Tim sitting on a bar stool in his local and someone mistaking him as a killer for hire and giving him money for the 'hit'. He in turn turns around to the real killer who approaches later and tells him that the deal is off but he will give him half the money for his trouble. A bit unbelievable but anyway Tim goes on to protect the victim; Linda, from the killer.
I dont think there was a lot of research into the writing of this book, it was just churned out and that is why we have all the mystery behind who people were and what they worked as.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Like a shallow Collateral or No Country of Old Men, 22 Mar 2008
By 
J. Bowen "Jamie Bowen" (Hampstead London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Good Guy (Paperback)
In this book, a stonemason is accidentally mistaken for a professional hitman by someone who seriously wants a particular woman dead (and receives $10,000 for the job by the guy who took out the contract). When the 'true hitman' realises what's happen (the stonemason gives him the money not to do the hit), he goes after both the original target and the stonemason (who band together) to tie up loose ends and make sure he doesn't get caught. The book then becomes a game of cat and mouse between the killer and the killees.

The story isn't too bad. It's a very straight-forward nuts and bolts thriller that sees one group of people chase another, before the chased 'turn' and fight back.

The way the story is structured, it reminded me of the stories in Collateral or No Country for Old Men. Don't expect all that much depth or nuance in this book though. It's a decent enough read, but it's not really written with depth and 'shades of grey' in mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good Guy
The Good Guy by Dean Koontz
£2.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews