Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


81 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anger is an energy
Charlie Brooker is the man behind the infamous TVGoHome site, where he invented television programmes such as Get Hen!, where contestants had to get a hen, and Daily Mail Island, where single mothers, asylum seekers and other targets of tabloid ire were torn to pieces by rabid Middle Englanders. Proving that life often imitates art - or at least, arse - even more bizarre...
Published on 29 Dec. 2004 by Gary Marshall

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sample only - Quite accurately observed and gently comic
The sample to this book is an extensive one and gives a good taster of the book as a whole. I generally like Brooker's articles in the Guardian (especially today's one about the fall of capitalism and Shreddies) but these Screen Burn articles are like Brooker^2, an extreme Bizarro Earth version of Brooker going ape about TV's flotsam like a deranged Mr Angry, leaving no...
Published on 26 Sept. 2011 by Andrew Ives


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

81 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anger is an energy, 29 Dec. 2004
By 
Gary Marshall (Glasgow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Screen Burn (Paperback)
Charlie Brooker is the man behind the infamous TVGoHome site, where he invented television programmes such as Get Hen!, where contestants had to get a hen, and Daily Mail Island, where single mothers, asylum seekers and other targets of tabloid ire were torn to pieces by rabid Middle Englanders. Proving that life often imitates art - or at least, arse - even more bizarre programmes were actually broadcast, and in his new role as TV critic for the Guardian Guide, Brooker had to review such pinnacles of popular entertainment as Big Brother, I'm A Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here, and the truly bizarre Touch The Truck. Screen Burn is a collection of these reviews, spanning the last three years.
Whether you'll enjoy Screen Burn depends on your attitude to life. If you're the sort of person who has a sunny outlook, believes that people are fundamentally decent and greets the dawn of a new day with a big smile, Screen Burn will make you weep hot, salty tears. If on the other hand you're a twisted misanthrope with an abiding hatred of pretty much the entire human race, the book will make you laugh until your eyes bleed. Brooker doesn't pull his punches: while other critics might suggest that a programme is below par, Brooker demands that the presenters be locked in a barbed wire cage with angry hyenas and rolled down a mountain. If - as John Lydon once sang - anger is an energy, then Charlie Brooker could power the national grid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take a bow, Charlie Brooker, 13 April 2005
This review is from: Screen Burn (Paperback)
You may not think reading several years' collected columns one after another could sustain itself for the entirety of this book, but somehow it manages to work. To buy it isn't just to read some extremely sharp and extremely amusing observations about television (I was in stitches at one description of Jim Davidson), but to be forced to take a step back and look at society, feeling Brooker's pain as he attempts to hold on to his sanity and intelligence in an insane world of bleating, porcelain drones. It's got to the stage where the piss-take show concepts he dreams up are actually SHOWN on television, and as a result no-one is safe from his venom if he thinks they deserve it, regardless of class, age, pastimes, nationality, wealth, fame, looks or intelligence. Jim Davidson, Simon Cowell, football fans, the Daily Mail, neo-conservatives and Middle England get a particular pasting. This isn't to say that Brooker's without a sense of fairness; perhaps unexpectedly, he sticks up for a few people commonly pilloried by both the media and the public, including John Leslie, Sharon Osbourne and Jamie Oliver, and even some marginalised groups like drug addicts and asylum seekers.
Profane, angry, venomous, heartfelt, intelligent - but above all, EXTREMELY funny. Especially considering the bargain cover price, this is a must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest book I have read for a while, 7 Mar. 2008
By 
P. J. Bragg (Bristol and Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Screen Burn (Paperback)
I am always a little suspicious when a book tells me I will "laugh out loud" because often as not I find myself reading it stone faced waiting for nuggets of wit that never seem to come.

This book genuinely does what it says on the cover. Due mostly to a hugely funny use of over the top metaphor and comparatives.

Similar to Clarkson but funnier and ruder. Buy it, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest book I have ever read, 26 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Screen Burn (Paperback)
This man's grasp of language, his misanthropy and his FURY make him the funniest non-fiction writer there is. "Screen Burn" is an absolute masterpiece of bile, wit and (in fact) refusal to burp along with the "It's just a bit of fun, innit?" mentality that poisons so much modern TV.
His reviews also prove just what an assured judge of quality he is, as he comes out in favour of programmes which have since been hailed as classics.
He is compulsively readable and magnificently, blisteringly funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reprinted Screen Burn, 8 Oct. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wish I had realised this was just a reprint of the 2004 Screen Burn book rather than the latest installments of the Screen Burn columns (which I assumed it was when it popped up for pre-order).

It is a funny book originally, but now comes with a more grown up cover featuring Brooker with an expensive haircut.

I guess with winter drawing in I can chuck my spare copy on the fire to keep me warmer for a few more minutes...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charlie Brooker is angry. Very angry., 1 Mar. 2005
By 
Peter Fenelon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Screen Burn (Paperback)
Charlie Brooker loves television.
He just hates the way it is now.
This book is a passionate, scathing, vicious and occasionally scabrous attack on the dumbing-down of television over the last five years or so; the rise of interminable reality programmes, lowest-common-denominator "talent" shows, and incessant downmarket soaps and violent dramas.
Put that bluntly, it could be seen as a depressing book. However, Brooker is the man who gave us TV Go Home and Unnovations, and is the creator of the odious Nathan Barley, so there's a savage, excoriating wit there - this is appallingly funny, and full of well-directed ire.
As television fragments into thousands of channels targeting ordure at the masses, Brooker's book is a powerful scream calling for sanity and some artistic integrity. It's also filthy and hilarious.
Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny or what?, 29 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screen Burn (Paperback)
Every bit as entertaining as the later, 'The Hell of it All' and 'Dawn of the Dumb'. Fascinating to look back through Brooker's sarcastic comedy eyes to TV shows from early in the 'noughties'. There is a belly laugh on almost every page and one is constantly left wondering how an Earth he managed to come up with a particular metaphor or ludicrous exaggeration. You'll find yourself actively searching for opportunities to describe someone as looking like 'a dish cloth hanging off a door knob' and many, many other classics. There are other reviews which interest because they were the very first show of a series which subsequently became part of the cultural landscape, such as the first Big Brother. Most of the time his criticisms hit the nail bang on the head. If you have a sense of humour and enjoy comedy writing you'll love this as much as the other collections of Charlie Brooker TV reviews.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Amusing and utterly scathing, 2 May 2010
By 
S. Gilbert "Gil8ert" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Screen Burn (Paperback)
A collection of Charlie Brooker's TV Column writings from possibly 2002 - 2004 (I'd go and look but it's over 50 metres away), this book had me in snorting fits of chuckles. The way in which the columns are written mean that even though he is talking about TV from a bygone era, you still understand and can relate to everything he's saying.
Brooker is clearly very intelligent and has an excellent grasp of the English language coupled with unashamadely immature musings. Some of the images he managed to conjure in my mind were absolute gold!

I started this book about 5 hours before going in to surgery to have my widsom teeth removed and sat in the waiting room snorting and wheezing like a fool. 8 hours later I was out of surgery in a fair amount of discomfort but on picking the book up I was back to giggling like a fool. That's how good it is, it surpasses pain! Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hate Fuelled Look at TV from 10 years ago, 7 Dec. 2012
By 
A. Marczak "mazzarak" (Mordor) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Charlie Brooker is quite a different figure now, compared to when he wrote this.

Unlike other reviews, I had realised that this book is actually quite old, and actually goes back to the beginning of Brooker's writing columns for newspapers.
In the same way that all those Jeremy Clarkson compendiums compress several years of articles together, this covers 2000-2004 and if you read it now, it throws up some interesting flashbacks.

Firstly, there are the reviews of TV shows that you simply don't remember, mainly because they were late night trash. Secondly there are the reviews of programmes which are "on a hiding to nothing", such as little-known shows as Pop Idol, featuring unknown sneering lunatic Simon Cowell.

The language is always fruity, frequently surreal, and always highly entertaining. The perfect night time read as you try and forget about your own troubles. Reading this is like watching Eastenders. There's always someone less fortunate than you out there...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting look back at the TV from 2001-2, 23 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Screen Burn (Paperback)
With further hindsight, Charlie Brooker will probably be able to pinpoint the beginning of a peptic ulcer at some point in this bilious journal. This is a window into hell; it is a collection of all the television review columns he did for The Guardian G2 during the aforementioned period (when it was still a relatively good newspaper and not the grovelling organ of the state that it's now become), and charts his emotional state after prolongued exposure to Jim Davison (was he really on prime time TV so recently? Astonishingly, yes he was), Simon Cowell, Simon Bates and other such luminaries.

I found out recently that he co-wrote Nathan Barley with Chris Morris, as well as having a contributing role with Brass Eye. The language he uses is very reminiscent of Chris Morris's lines so if you found those programs funny, no doubt you'll love this.

His words shoot angrily off the page like the hot salty fluid from the blowhole of an indignant whale - bathe in the bile and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Charlie Brooker's Screen Burn
£4.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews