Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic whodunnit
After having read a spate of mediocre detective fiction, I really enjoyed this one. The quality of the writing is high yet the narrative is easy to read. And, most importantly for such a book, the mystery itself is a great puzzle. The downside is that P.D. James' style of writing tends to leave her giving a lot of page space to develop the characters and when there are a...
Published on 6 Sept. 2010 by Little Green Alien

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little dated I think now
This is the 6th Adam Dalgliesh book by PD James. Like the 5 that went before it, it feels dated. It was written in 1976/77, so that probably shouldn't be surprising.

In this book, a biologist working for the Forensic Science Service is killed in his lab in East Anglia, and it's Dalgliesh's responsibility to find out who did it, along with the murderer who...
Published 11 months ago by Jamie Bowen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little dated I think now, 4 Jun. 2014
This is the 6th Adam Dalgliesh book by PD James. Like the 5 that went before it, it feels dated. It was written in 1976/77, so that probably shouldn't be surprising.

In this book, a biologist working for the Forensic Science Service is killed in his lab in East Anglia, and it's Dalgliesh's responsibility to find out who did it, along with the murderer who killed a subsequent person in the book.

Personally, the datedness wasn't that much of a problem for me. What bugged me was that it was a little predictable. These "country house style" mysteries get a little samey after a while, and I've read 6 of PD James' books lately. This said, I suspect that you'll like the book if you haven't read that sort of book in a while (and don't mind the datedness).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic whodunnit, 6 Sept. 2010
After having read a spate of mediocre detective fiction, I really enjoyed this one. The quality of the writing is high yet the narrative is easy to read. And, most importantly for such a book, the mystery itself is a great puzzle. The downside is that P.D. James' style of writing tends to leave her giving a lot of page space to develop the characters and when there are a number of 'closed room' suspects this can lead to the pace of the narrative dragging a little. But otherwise, this was a fantastic read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James (and Dalgleish) score another victory!, 6 Nov. 2000
By A Customer
P.D. James fittingly wears the crown as "queen of the mystery writers"! And in "Death of an Expert Witness" the title is clearly shown and deserved. Again, James brings in Chief Inspector Adam Dalgleish of Scotland Yard, and once again, this venerable, brilliant, and honorable investigator is in good form. James usually presents a model in human behavior--she's good at this--and gives Dalgleish the full run to work out the inconsistencies, the red herrings, and finally the truth of the case. Dr. Lorrimer is a cold, efficient, dislikeable scientist; now he is a cold, efficient, and dislikeable corpse. Dalgleish must find out why he was killed--and it is more than merely because he was disliked. What did he know that panicked his murderer? After all, he was cold, efficient, dislikeable, and very knowledgeable, "an expert witness," as it were. Bring along a dictionary, as James' vocabulary is challenging--but not distracting--and her works are refreshingly intelligent and worth the effort it may take!(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars disappointing, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
took a long time to introduce the characters
who worked in a forensic laboratory
i found it very difficult to remember who they were
and what their jobs were
was not rushing back to read it
she died recently and was given much aclame
probably i chose the wrong one to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not one of her best I'm afraid!, 14 Sept. 2003
I love P. D. James but this just wasn't one of her best stories in my humble opinion. I realised who'd done it from the start & the actual motive was sketchy plus the second murder just didn't ring true! An excellent writer such as P. D. James should not have made inconsistency errors but there were a few in there (I can't point them out here because I don't want to spoil the plot!!) If you're a fan, by all means buy it : you won't be disappointed but if you are new to James then try Cover Her Face or An Unsuitable Job for a Woman first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars OK but I thought she was supposed to be well ..., 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of an Expert Witness (Adam Dalgliesh Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
OK but I thought she was supposed to be well up on Police procedure. A SOCO would never pack clothes in a plastic bag nor put all the clothes in one bag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 8 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of an Expert Witness (Adam Dalgliesh Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
It was a very interesting book to read and very hard to put it down, when other matters should be attended to!!! Mike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
P D James at her very best - fabulous writing and great story line - what more does anyone want or need?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As always enjoyable, 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Death of an Expert Witness (Adam Dalgliesh Book 6) (Kindle Edition)
As usual a well written well conceived plot tho' at times I found the text a bit dense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather basic and uninvolving, 25 Nov. 2006
By 
Caterkiller (Darlington, UK) - See all my reviews
I was recommended this by fellow crime fans who regard James as the keeper of the legacy of Christie and Sayers. All I can say is that this is a great disappointment. The story is basic and the two murders in the book are not linked so there is no acceleration is the plot such as in Christie's "Mrs McGinty's Dead". The writing style is pretty bland, the motive's of the key suspects are explained but this takes up about half the book and the whole thing ends rather abruptly. Not one of her finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews