Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love her!
I have now read all of the Agatha Raisin novels in the series, this being the 17th! Yes, they are light and easy reading and not to be taken too seriously. They are all equally enjoyable. In my opinion none stand out in particular as the 'best' or 'weakest'. Ideally, they should be read in order of publication, to follow the development of the characters...
Published on 19 July 2007 by Sue at home

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm - nearly 2.5 stars!
Not sure where the liquor figures in the story - must have been a fleeting mention somewhere ...

Research is lacking - dreadfully.

There is mention of a will - made before someone marries yet still legal? I don't think so. Correct me if I am wrong but on marriage any previous will becomes invalid.

Agatha visits Lewisham (with one of her...
Published 7 months ago by Jill in East Kent


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love her!, 19 July 2007
By 
Sue at home (Cheshire. uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I have now read all of the Agatha Raisin novels in the series, this being the 17th! Yes, they are light and easy reading and not to be taken too seriously. They are all equally enjoyable. In my opinion none stand out in particular as the 'best' or 'weakest'. Ideally, they should be read in order of publication, to follow the development of the characters.

Agatha is entertaining and doesn't she remind us, just a bit, of someone we know? A holiday read, a bedtime read. I don't suppose it will ever be on the A' level English Lit syllabus!

Agatha, is funny, politically incorrect, independent but at the same time vulnerable and human, especially where men are concerned!

Read and enjoy. (And if you do take to Agatha try Hamish MacBeth by the same author.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still High Quality, 8 Mar 2008
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read several of the Agatha Raisin books and have enjoyed every one of them. This one is as good as all the others with a storyline which moves along nicely. All the usual characters appear here and several new ones emerge. The characters are as strange as ever, and they have developed over time. I still found myself liking and loathing them in turn which makes them all the more human and believable. The hotel from hell reminds me of some places I have stayed in, in Britain, again making the book all the more real. The basic premise of the tale is that a woman from the hotel (so horrible it is probably doing the world a favour) has been killed. Agatha is like a terrier in finding out who her killer is, with several misadventures on the way. Although light this book is enjoyable and makes a pleasant change from the more grizzly murder mysteries on offer. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Is the series starting to pall?, 22 Sep 2007
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
While this is still a briliantly funny light read it didn't have the same sheer enjoyment that the earlier books did. I guess I prefer the amateur Agatha more than the private investigator Agatha which is obviously persnal preference.

This was good though on the personal entanglemts with Agatha's love life in its usual hysterical crisis, and that alone makes the book worth reading.

If you're new to the series then don't start here (I still think AR and the quiche of death is unbeatable) but this is still enormous fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love ,Lies And Laughing, 17 April 2010
Ive read all the Agatha Raisin books ... ..And although this isn't one of the best, it still, in parts for me, has some outstanding laugh out loud moments.

We see the return of the forever elusive James Lacey ..but from this a stronger Agatha evolves.

All the regulars make an appearance Mrs Bloxby even gets involved in the "case" .

Its a good entertaining light read with a murder mystery thrown in ...

This is one of those stories whereby you are taken away from the comfortable village surroundings of carsley to a dreary seaside town ...and of course Agatha becomes embroiled in yet another murder..let the fun begin

I wouldnt put it as a stand alone but as part of the series its essential reading if not just to follow the characters and will she wont she end up with James ..

Im straight on to the 18th and i am dreding getting to the 20th and having to wait for another book to come out ..I love these Agatha Raisin books they are just so much fun and cant be written quick enough for me :)

Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Tries Again with James Lacey and Falls in with Villains, 6 Oct 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
As with The Deadly Dance and The Perfect Paragon, this book can be read as a standalone if you haven't read the earlier books in the series. I do think, however, that your enjoyment will be increased if you read at least The Deadly Dance and The Perfect Paragon first . . . and seriously consider reading the excellent beginning of the series, Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death.

If you are a long-time fan of the series, you may be ambivalent about the reappearance of James Lacey in Agatha's life. But in Love, Lies and Liquor (the 17th book in the Agatha Raisin series) there's a shift in the relationship that makes his character somewhat less tiresome than before.

James is living next door to Agatha again and invites her to take a holiday with him to a "surprise" locale. She packs for the Mediterranean and he takes her to the rundown seaside resort of Snoth-on-Sea where the weather is lousy. While James has fond memories of boyhood trips there, today's Snoth-on-Sea has nothing to recommend it. The hotel is rundown, and the guests seem like louts. In fact, there's a shouting match in the hotel dining room that leads to James punching out one of the other guests.

When a woman that Agatha threatened, Geraldine Jankers, is found strangled with Agatha's scarf, the "lucky" pair from Carsely are stranded as they seek to clear Agatha. Clearing Agatha isn't too difficult, but James wants to flee and Agatha feels that she must investigate to find the murderer. Agatha draws on her Mircester detective agency's resources to scout out the suspects.

Before long, Agatha draws the ire of some dangerous characters and finds her very life at stake.

Several things make this book different from others in the Agatha Raisin series that improved its appeal for me: Agatha and her colleagues make some amazing mistakes that would be hilarious if they didn't have serious consequences; the danger level is high throughout much of the book; there are more mysteries to be solved that are related to the murder than one might expect; the to and fro with James Lacey has unexpected twists; and Agatha's signature vulnerability for handsome men she just meets isn't central to the story for a change. Her detectives are proving to be more able than in the past which provides for some better procedural aspects to the story. The change of scene is also good for the series by providing lots of new characters as well as the opportunity to reprise old characters in new ways.

The pacing of the story is very good. Major shoes drop at regular intervals without much warning that take the mystery and its implications in new directions. My interest was sustained at a high level for almost the entire story. The humor is well developed in the story as many characters take the equivalent of pratfalls . . . but in each case there are serious consequences which gives the mood of the book an interesting feel than a more unrestrained comic mystery would provide.

I look forward to the next entry in the series. I hope it will continue to the trend towards better stories and more rewarding mysteries with more subtlety among the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Agatha Tries Again with James Lacey and Falls in with Villains, 6 Oct 2007
By 
Donald Mitchell "Jesus Loves You!" (Thanks for Providing My Reviews over 124,000 Helpful Votes Globally) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
As with Agatha Raisin and the Deadly Dance and Agatha Raisin and the Perfect Paragon, this book can be read as a standalone if you haven't read the earlier books in the series. I do think, however, that your enjoyment will be increased if you read at least Agatha Raisin and the Deadly Dance and Agatha Raisin and the Perfect Paragon first . . . and seriously consider reading the excellent beginning of the series, Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death.

If you are a long-time fan of the series, you may be ambivalent about the reappearance of James Lacey in Agatha's life. But in Agatha Raisin and Love, Lies and Liquor (the 17th book in the Agatha Raisin series) there's a shift in the relationship that makes his character somewhat less tiresome than before.

James is living next door to Agatha again and invites her to take a holiday with him to a "surprise" locale. She packs for the Mediterranean and he takes her to the rundown seaside resort of Snoth-on-Sea where the weather is lousy. While James has fond memories of boyhood trips there, today's Snoth-on-Sea has nothing to recommend it. The hotel is rundown, and the guests seem like louts. In fact, there's a shouting match in the hotel dining room that leads to James punching out one of the other guests.

When a woman that Agatha threatened, Geraldine Jankers, is found strangled with Agatha's scarf, the "lucky" pair from Carsely are stranded as they seek to clear Agatha. Clearing Agatha isn't too difficult, but James wants to flee and Agatha feels that she must investigate to find the murderer. Agatha draws on her Mircester detective agency's resources to scout out the suspects.

Before long, Agatha draws the ire of some dangerous characters and finds her very life at stake.

Several things make this book different from others in the Agatha Raisin series that improved its appeal for me: Agatha and her colleagues make some amazing mistakes that would be hilarious if they didn't have serious consequences; the danger level is high throughout much of the book; there are more mysteries to be solved that are related to the murder than one might expect; the to and fro with James Lacey has unexpected twists; and Agatha's signature vulnerability for handsome men she just meets isn't central to the story for a change. Her detectives are proving to be more able than in the past which provides for some better procedural aspects to the story. The change of scene is also good for the series by providing lots of new characters as well as the opportunity to reprise old characters in new ways.

The pacing of the story is very good. Major shoes drop at regular intervals without much warning that take the mystery and its implications in new directions. My interest was sustained at a high level for almost the entire story. The humor is well developed in the story as many characters take the equivalent of pratfalls . . . but in each case there are serious consequences which gives the mood of the book an interesting feel than a more unrestrained comic mystery would provide.

I look forward to the next entry in the series. I hope it will continue to the trend towards better stories and more rewarding mysteries with more subtlety among the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Agatha on top form..., 14 Oct 2013
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I loved this story. There is something nostalgic and exciting about a grand hotel at the seaside and add 2 murders and you have a thrilling experience. More about the relationships between Agatha and James and Charles. This is a winner and plenty of red herrings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 29 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Agatha Raisin and Love, Lies and Liquor (Agatha Raisin Mysteries Book 17) (Kindle Edition)
I love Agatha Raisin books because they are always funny and uplifting and I would recommend them to anybody. Easy to read and the theme running through each book is addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 24 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
these stories are always a good read
agatha is an exasperating character but at the same time somehow endearing
there is always a good twist at the end of the tale and this one doesn't disappoint
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews