Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've been waiting a long time!
Gas Food Lodging/Green On Red

I bought this cassette tape after seeing Rain Parade on a music show (can't remember the name of the show). They played - I'm depending on you & My secret country, it completely blew me away! The guitars and harmonies were something I had not really heard before. I had heard 60's west coast type of music but this had more of an...
Published on 14 Dec 2009 by Mr. Shane Coyle

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Time has not been any kinder to the final Rain Parade lp..
The Rain Parade were (briefly) one of the great guitar bands of the mid-80's, their debut lp "Emergency Third Rail Power Trip" remains one of the great records of any era and the follow up mini-lp, "Explosions in the Glass Palace" is similarly arresting. If you don't own these records then get them now. They remain untouchable.

The final phase of the brief Rain...
Published 8 months ago by S. Rogan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've been waiting a long time!, 14 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crashing Dream (Audio CD)
Gas Food Lodging/Green On Red

I bought this cassette tape after seeing Rain Parade on a music show (can't remember the name of the show). They played - I'm depending on you & My secret country, it completely blew me away! The guitars and harmonies were something I had not really heard before. I had heard 60's west coast type of music but this had more of an edge to it, maybe as we were right in the middle of the hard core LA punk scene this must have rubbed off on them. Although they got dubbed into the 'Paisley underground scene' - which I'm still not sure who this was or what constituted which bands belonged to this scene (I just like this album). To me it was one of those single albums that you come across. To now be able to buy it on CD has just made my 2009, I keep humming those first two songs in my head for years as my cassette died years ago. It is worth 5 stars as it is just a great album, enough said. The live album has also come out on CD which is also worth a purchase too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, great band, 20 Jun 2010
By 
Ianham "Ianham" (Ross-shire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crashing Dream (Audio CD)
The Rain Parade were at the forefront of the so-called Paisley Underground - an easy journalistic term to encompasse several bands which emerged from LA in the eighties(Dream Syndicate, Green on Red, Long Ryders. True West etc). Never a very accurate description, it basically took in anybody who used a 12 string guitar and knew their way around the Byrds,Big Star, Crazy Horse and Burritos songbooks. That said they were damn good bands and the fact that the audience they found was less than Beyonce's phone book did not diminish their talent. Rain Parade's second album proper should have taken them up a notch - it didn't - but that does not mean that the songs weren't up to it. More focussed than Emergency Third Rail Power Trip (their first), the songs bounced along with zingy guitars and melodies that you could easily hum it should have provided at least one "hit" single. Unfortunately they were woefully represented and any impetus lost by a lack of interest in the neo psychedelic. With a bit of care, decent management, good PR, sympathetic DJ's and great sleeve/logo then they could have become an American Pink Floyd. Of course they didn't but listening to this album some 25+ years after its original release, I was struck by how timeless the music is. Psychedelia came from the 60's but this records amply demonstrates why it was never stuck there. If you were to be picky then I suppose the production could have been more expansive, some of the songs could have been stretched out more (esp. Mystic Green) and as a package, even in the reissue, should have deserved more respect, time and redesign. Buy with complete safety, spend a bit of time with it and you will find an album to love for years to come. For musical references see 1st album Primal Scream who shared influences.

I commend this CD to the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rain Parade - Crashing Dream, 2 Jun 2010
This review is from: Crashing Dream (Audio CD)
A superb album! I have had this lp on vinyl for many years and had been waiting for it's CD release. Finally it has arrived. IMHO the Rain Parade at their absolute best - well crafted songs, beautifully produced - an album that I never tire of hearing. A definate keeper.Crashing Dream
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album that Deserves a CD Release, 7 Feb 2009
By 
Paracelsus1966 (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
This was the Rain Parade's last album, and is usually overlooked in favour of their more well-known debut, Emergency Third Rail Power Trip and its follow-up, the EP Explosions in the Glass Palace.

This a pity, because Crashing Dream is possibly their finest hour. Gone is the whimsy and psychedlia of their earlier work, to be replaced by a more mature sound. The songs are achingly beautiful and sad, the sound of a band growing up even beyond that remarkable debut.

I bought this album when it was first released in the autumn of 1985, and it's haunted me ever since. Will someone please put it out on CD, so that this lost classic can find a wider audience? (The same could be said for their superb live album, Beyond the Sunset, released earlier in '85.) They were a truly great band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Time has not been any kinder to the final Rain Parade lp.., 7 Dec 2013
By 
S. Rogan "Shaun" (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Crashing Dream (Audio CD)
The Rain Parade were (briefly) one of the great guitar bands of the mid-80's, their debut lp "Emergency Third Rail Power Trip" remains one of the great records of any era and the follow up mini-lp, "Explosions in the Glass Palace" is similarly arresting. If you don't own these records then get them now. They remain untouchable.

The final phase of the brief Rain Parade career trajectory is far less satisfying. The loss of David Roback was a massive blow to the musical palate of the band and led to the axis being tilted irrevocably toward the worthy but frankly uninspired songwriting displayed on Crashing Dream, their only major label outing. The songs here are monochromatic where earlier they had been dazzlingly technicolour. The tempos are plodding, the melodies firmly rooted in early 70's rock and the production is pallid and reeks of a band being spraypainted by their corporate paymasters. It's (prematurely) middle aged and uninspiring AOR to be honest (replete with synth washes for chrissakes). There are no low points or high points on this record, songs become indistinguishable from each other as the record grinds to its unsatisfying conclusion over what feels like an age.

I remember buying this as a teen and being gutted at how poor it was after devouring the thrilling records that announced the arrival of Rain Parade. Now some 25 odd years later I am revisiting it and feeling similarly disappointed (if somewhat less cheated as an old fart).

The Rain Parade made records that deserve your love, sadly by this point they had ceased to be loveable. I guess even they recognised that the game was up as they dissolved shortly afterwards. Save your money and get the debut lp. 2/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars parade dream on, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crashing Dream (MP3 Download)
follow up to 3rd rail power trip,this is a more straight forward album musically by the parade.still has a west coast feel to it,but not as trippy as 3rd rail.a cross over of influences from the byrds jangly guitar sound to more rocky type numbers and some good harmonies thrown in for good measure.a strong album musically and they never did get the recognition they deserved likewise other bands like dream syndicate who were part of the so called paisley underground scene.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crashing Dream
Crashing Dream by Rain Parade (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews