Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars20
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 February 2008
For anyone who wants a mathematical validation to the reality of the star seen at the time of christ's birth, this is ideal. It explains why it is only now in this last few years, that its understanding has become possible. It will leave you awe-struck by its scholarship and integrity.
Sadly, this is in a format of Region 1, and is not readily playable on many domestic DVD players in Europe.Region 1 is for use in America, but some machines in Europe can play it. Check first before buying; but it's worth doing what you can to view it. The story that we have waited 2000 years to hear.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2010
The Star Of Bethlehem is by far one of the best documentaries I have ever watch, you will look at the stars in the sky in a completely different light.
Well worth watching.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2011
Simply brilliant!
Whether you have a faith in a Creator God, or you put your faith in scientific proof....this film is simply Brilliant!

From the scientific point of view, it uses proven science to reel back time to the critical turning point in Israelite history...and corroborates the Gospels that tell the story of Yeshua ben Yoseph from Nazareth...his birth time and the time of His crucifixion.
From a faith point of view, if you ever wondered about the real birth date, and the signs in the sky that were reported by the Gospel writers, or the signs in the sky of the time of the crucifixion of Yeshua, then hold on and be amazed at how marvelous the Creator truly is.

There are wonderful, moving surprises in store for all who lay aside preconception and prejudice to view this with an open heart.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2012
Sometimes, it seems as if we may be tempted to treat the incidental details within the Gospel narratives as just a bit of window-dressing to lend significance to the message. I suspect that the elements in the 'Christmas Story' may be a bit like that. This film is a useful reminder that the incidentals do actually provide us with a great deal of explanatory detail which may be used for verification purposes. In fact, such was the care applied to the treatment of Matthew's text (chapter 2), I was shocked to discover just how much verifiable data was actually there.

The makers of this film open up the subject in a wholly convincing way. My only reservations are the slightly unctuous tone used at times (but that's perfectly understandable, given the real significance of the discoveries) and the rapidity with which Rick Larson fixes on the Planet Jupiter as the solution to the conundrum. That doesn't stop him being right, however, and the presentation puts forth an extremely robust case for the dating of Christ's birth, as well as the identification of the astronomical configuration which applied at the time.

A very good piece of work, and a helpful reminder for Christians that the detail we are given is there for a reason.

Overall, the film is beautifully-produced, and I would recommend it anyone with an enquiring mind, prepared to have their assumptions about the 'Christmas Story' radically shaken.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
Very interesting and thought provoking film. The narrator explains things in a clear concise manner that is suitable for total novices and also more advanced students of both astronomy and Christianity. The topic, the Star of Bethlehem, has been commented upon by the other reviewers far more eloquently than I ever could. However what I would say is the inescapable conclusion to be drawn from the evidence as presented is nothing short of amazing. To address one reviewers concerns about the compatability of DVD players, it plays on my Playstation. This is the film that was shown on God TV here in the UK Christmas 2010. IMHO its essential viewing.

Star of Bethlehem [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2012
A layman (who is no slouch!) does the research and shares his documented conclusions about the nature of "the star of Bethlehem". Cinematically (is that a word?) GLORIOUS, musically, visually GLORIOUS... It provides facts that are compelling as it deals with not only the birth but also the death of the Babe laid in a manger. Weaves old and new testaments together as the Feasts of Israel are fulfilled in stunning declarations in heaven and on earth.
I watch it over and over and am gripped each time by new insights gained. DON'T MISS the 'Bonus Feature': "Revealing the Ram".
Scientifically astute minds will have plenty to chew on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2012
This is by far the best film ever which explains the phenomena of the Star of Bethlehem. The film is of a small group gathered to hear Rick explain his findings after several years of research into this extraordinary event. Using software similar to that which NASA uses Rick has traced the movement of the starts and planets through the skies and through time. He shows, on screen, very clearly the movements of these heavenly bodies and how they would have been seen at the time of Jesus birth. He also shows how it could be that the "Star" seemed to stop and stand still. There is more, much more but let me not spoil it. Buy the film and be amazed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
Wow! This qualifies as another example divine evidence of divinity itself. God's creation of the universe included the marking of His entering earth in the flesh and His exit on the cross. Marked in the stars in the 2nd Heaven before the events occurred. He is who He says He is. He is the definitive "I AM".
Mr Larson cuts through the confusion of times being changed and points to the evidence that reveals the truth of God's word.
This DVD is an American production, and as such it is in NTSC format. Many U.K DVD players will play a NTSC disc, and P.Cs usually take it in their stride.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2016
I bought this because I wanted a sensible account which matched what Scripture says. The account given by Mr Larson is indeed very convincing. But, he is an American and he speaks very quickly and I find that I do not always pick up what he is saying. This I find a disadvantage. He also tends to jump from one idea to another abruptly. The account he gives is very convincing but it has taken me several play throughs to get more out of it. There are several things which could be done to improve this exposition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2012
A fascinating insight into the heavenly realms and what they foretold of the comming Messiah and the death of Jesus. The scriptures state that the heavens will declare the glory of our great God, this DVD brings this scriptures true meaning to be seen and understood. A very well produced film, based on fact, using the astrological Callander. Rick Larson testifies how the intererst in this star led him on a journey of discovery which enhanced his knowledge of the creator God.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.95

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)