Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent!!!
I am so pleased with this product, I really can't think of anything negative to say! This thing is HEAVY DUTY right down to the lock. Firstly its nice and bright, it locks and unlocks nice and easy. If a would be theif was eyeing your bike up and it had this thing on he would need some very heavy duty kit to even attempt to break it of not to mention the time they would...
Published on 23 Jan. 2012 by abre Ios ojos

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heavy duty chain
The chain is great and very strong. The green nylon cover breaks down and disintegrates after a little time. This will damage the inside of your wheels, more so if they are alloyed type. So far I have not been able to a source replacement to cover this chain.
Published 13 months ago by Christine


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money well spent!!!, 23 Jan. 2012
This review is from: MOTORCYCLE MAMMOTH THATCHAM SQUARE CHAIN 12MM X 1.8M WITH SHACKLE LOCK
I am so pleased with this product, I really can't think of anything negative to say! This thing is HEAVY DUTY right down to the lock. Firstly its nice and bright, it locks and unlocks nice and easy. If a would be theif was eyeing your bike up and it had this thing on he would need some very heavy duty kit to even attempt to break it of not to mention the time they would need and the noise they would have to make. But nothing is imposible to bypass so I also got the Mammoth security shackle disc lock, so saying both cost way less than £100 is excelent considering they are both such high quality products.

I would recommend this and any other lock from Mammoth to anyone that is looking for very high quality security equipment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mammoth Thacham 12mmx180m Lock & Chain, 20 April 2010
This review is from: MOTORCYCLE MAMMOTH THATCHAM SQUARE CHAIN 12MM X 1.8M WITH SHACKLE LOCK
Item arrived two days after order was placed. A very good price and was exactly as described. Bright green colour so will help as a deterrent.

The only criticism I have is that the advert should have display the Thatcham Anti-theft category...which is a 3 for this item.

However still five stars and will def buy from this seller again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This thing weighs a tonne!, 18 Jan. 2010
By 
R. Canfield "ruggarob" (Letchworth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MOTORCYCLE MAMMOTH THATCHAM SQUARE CHAIN 12MM X 1.8M WITH SHACKLE LOCK
This bit of kit is pretty cool! It is very heavy and rubust as any manufacturers blurb will tell you. It's bright green obviously, which is good as it stands out.

The main issue I had is I needed to see a photo of the lock with the chain interwoven to establish how to actually lock the flipping thing! It's so easy to lock, but it might take quite a while without looking at the picture close up!

A worthwhile purchase! Don't forget with any lock make sure the padlock is in a difficult place to get to with a sledge hammer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Duty Chain, 19 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MOTORCYCLE MAMMOTH THATCHAM SQUARE CHAIN 12MM X 1.8M WITH SHACKLE LOCK
This is really quite a heavy chain not something I'd want to be carrying around with me all the time. I use when occasionally parking overnight in public places together with a mamouth disk lock. The chain is long enough to loop through the rear wheel, frame and shaftdrive and come together on the seat of my '06 BMW R1200GS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars monster chain & lock, 16 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MOTORCYCLE MAMMOTH THATCHAM SQUARE CHAIN 12MM X 1.8M WITH SHACKLE LOCK
Delivery was brilliant, arrived before I expected it to. It looks like it will do a 'proper job' but hope I don't need it to and looks strong enough to deter most bike thieves. Very pleased with it. Like the fact that it is insurance recommended. Hopefully it will save some money on my insurance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good value but can be tricky to use lock, 18 Aug. 2011
This review is from: MOTORCYCLE MAMMOTH THATCHAM SQUARE CHAIN 12MM X 1.8M WITH SHACKLE LOCK
This is a very goood lock and chain combo. The only negative thing I have found is that the lock can be a little tricky to lock and unlock as you have to make sure that the ring shaped shackle is fully pushed in before the key is turned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy and solid chain, 2 May 2011
By 
Mr. Dl Simcoe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MOTORCYCLE MAMMOTH THATCHAM SQUARE CHAIN 12MM X 1.8M WITH SHACKLE LOCK
I have yet to use this chain as I'm between bikes but, it seems of good quality and is very weighty. The lock is covered in a plastic sheath as you can see but, feels solid enough. I have not encountered any problems with the keys as mentioned in other reviews but, I have no reason to doubt that could be a problem due to the plastic cover. Just a point to note the lock does not have a sliding pin like some locks, the loop through the chain is fully removed.
On the whole this looks like a good qulaity product for a very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secure purchase, 6 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. R. Hall "Birdman56" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MOTORCYCLE MAMMOTH THATCHAM SQUARE CHAIN 12MM X 1.8M WITH SHACKLE LOCK
This chain and lock is totally secure. Put one end of the chain through the other end chain link, add the lock, and you have a high visibility and secure locking system. Add a floor/wall anchor component ( I bought the whole lot from pjb security ) and you have the ultimate deterrent that is insurance approved. Cuts down those premiums! Ideal for motorcycles, ATV's, caravans etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very high quality, 9 Jun. 2012
By 
C Harris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: MOTORCYCLE MAMMOTH THATCHAM SQUARE CHAIN 12MM X 1.8M WITH SHACKLE LOCK
I use this for securing a mountain bike as it's both cheaper and stronger than the "bicycle specific" locks available.
High quality, thick heavy chain, good lock, the green cover is pinned in place so it doesn't slide off.
Only thing I wasn't expecting is the black part on top of lock is nylon not steel, but the lock is solid underneath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thatcham Aproved at a great price, 4 Jun. 2013
This review is from: MOTORCYCLE MAMMOTH THATCHAM SQUARE CHAIN 12MM X 1.8M WITH SHACKLE LOCK
I ordered this chain and lock late afternoon and it arrived the next day! I received the exact same product as shown in the photo listed on the Amazon website.
So we have established that the seller ships fast and without hassle, so what about the actual product?
Well, it's a class 3 Thatcham approved lock and chain so you know it will take a while for a potential thief to hack,cut and saw through this product.
The chain is nearly 2 metres long and feels really chunky (it's quite heavy too)
The lock is a bit fiddly at times, but that's because the metal hook sinks almost all the way into the main body of the lock to prevent the hook being cut tools such as bolt croppers.
So all in all this is a quality product at a very reasonable price and thanks to this seller it was superfast free delivery as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews