Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars28
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 February 2010
Frankie Goes to Hollywood were a phenomenon - a phenomenon that went beyond the music into the image, the sleeve notes, the videos, the T-shirts, the hype.

But here, in very minimal and somewhat naff packaging, all that is stripped away. All you get is the music. And the music is still very, very good.

Don't buy the single disc edition with just the 7-inch mixes. So much of the Frankie experience was in the inventive and often innovative remixes, so the second disc is pretty much essential. The meandering, thrusting 16 minute Relax that avoids any hint of the 7-inch mix, the apocalyptic Protect-and-Survive-sampling Two Tribes, the bizarre Nietzsche-quoting Welcome to the Pleasuredome. No one had ever done 12-inches like this before, and few would do with such impact again.

There are two previously-unheard tracks: a pleasant but rather sugary orchestral take on album-track-no-one-remembers Is There Anybody Out There, and a rejected album track Our Silver Turns to Gold, in which Frankie prove that they could have sounded like every other early 80s band if they'd wanted to.

But they didn't. They had a unique sound, and a unique energy. And while this is far from the ultimate Frankie compilation, if you don't have a Frankie CD on your shelf, or you want to relive the sheer force and imagination of those classic 12-inchers, this is essential.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2010
This is nearly the ideal FGTH compilation - it includes most of the single versions that differ from album versions (i.e the proper version of War with all the lyrics intact, the full-length Ferry..., the radio edit of Pleasure Dome). Happy Hi is back in circulation at last (and we should be happy about that). And then there's the odd bonus track Silver Turns To Gold (which doesn't sound like a second album outtake - more like something from Johnson's solo career).

The only disappointment is that they forgot to rescue Disneyland - it may sound like a promising but unfinished song, but it obviously meant something to the band as it was on all the provisional tracklists for the first album.

But it fills in enough gaps to be worthwhile - and if it directs a few casual record buyers to the still-underrated Liverpool album, so much the better.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 25 February 2010
In the beginning there was Frankie..and Frankie only.

Then he was remixed and there was maximum rejoicing...

This review, for the double vinyl record set, is part of UMe's multi format release for the Frankie Goes To Hollywood compilation "Frankie Say Greatest". Other formats available are the standard cd Frankie Say Greatest, Two cd for the Hard core fans Frankie Say Greatest (Special Edition) and dvd Frankie Say Greatest [DVD] [2009] so all bases are covered.

Now onto the vinyl edition. Most importantly, it has a very different track listing to the cd editions. All selections appear in remixes, both old and new and it would have been a five star rating if the package was a bit more informative. The cover is a standard gate-fold sleeve with no booklet or liner notes. There is a small amount of info on the content of each record printed inside the gate-fold. The two records are inserted into plain white die cut paper sleeves which have no printing on them. Very cheap indeed. The records themselves are standard 33 1/3 rpm pressings, no heavy weight vinyl here.

Now onto the music. It's very nice to get some rare Frankie remixes on record and a few new ones too. They're all pretty good and come from a wide range of the Frankie catalogue. The oldest is the fantastic and rare Surrender mix of "Two Tribes" which was first released on one of the three 12" singles way back in 1984. Other highlights for me are the Brothers In Rhythm Rollercoaster Mix of "Welcome To The Pleasuredome" released in 1993 and the Club 69 remix of "Relax" released for the new millennium in 2000. The two new mixes of "Relax are also pretty good. There's even a couple of mixes I've not heard before which makes this collection a real treat for me.

Summing up, it's a great way to grab a platter or two of great Frankie remixes on vinyl. There is a remix disc included with the special edition cd set but it has a completely different track listing. Looks like I'll have to buy that edition too, after all, it is Frankie.
Frankie Say...no more....
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2010
I remember watching their performance on The Tube - it was the beat that stood out, didn't even notice the lyrics. Now listen to it 7.00 o'clock in morning, on motorway on way to work, at near full volume if only to kick start the day.
Only downside to the album, does not include the 12" versions of both Relax and Tribes.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2009
got this album earlier this week, it's amazing!

I'm a huge FGTH fan but i didn't own a lot of these remixes before as I'd not been able to buy them on CD

you get a lot for your money as well with the new remixes of the classic tracks.

so glad frankie are back!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
cracking album
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2012
Well it is almost the greatest except for - dooesnt have The world is my oyster and it does'nt have the version of Two Tribes from the 12 inch ep with the penny whistle , at best it could have picked up the price charles speech cover form welcome to the pleasuredome that has the penny whistle two tribes backing track. but no.. endless two tribes and relax 12 inch remixes and no penny whistle..dissapointing you listen to it ans say wow thats cool but humm what about the penny whistle...actually its so winding mw up i am going to sell my copy ..............
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2010
I bought this CD for my mum for christmas and boy was she happy! She has reported back to me (so I can review it online) that all the tracks are brill and she spends many happy hours dancing round the living room whilst dusting. If it works for her, then it must be good! No regrets on buying this at all and it makes a perfect present for you or anyone who is a Frankie fanatic or just a normal fan. :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2009
Amazon always delivers great service and value.

I'm a huge FGTH fan but I didn't own a lot of these remixes before on one CD.

You get a lot for your money as well with the new remixes of the classic tracks.

so glad frankie are back and a 80's Revival !!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2009
The album is a compilation of Franlie Goes To Holliwood,s greatest hits many of them remixed. So if you enjoyed the group originally then you will enjoy this CD
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.09

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)