Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The music speaks for itself
Frankie Goes to Hollywood were a phenomenon - a phenomenon that went beyond the music into the image, the sleeve notes, the videos, the T-shirts, the hype.

But here, in very minimal and somewhat naff packaging, all that is stripped away. All you get is the music. And the music is still very, very good.

Don't buy the single disc edition with just the...
Published on 9 Feb. 2010 by david500eyes

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but could have been better
This is nearly the ideal FGTH compilation - it includes most of the single versions that differ from album versions (i.e the proper version of War with all the lyrics intact, the full-length Ferry..., the radio edit of Pleasure Dome). Happy Hi is back in circulation at last (and we should be happy about that). And then there's the odd bonus track Silver Turns To Gold...
Published on 25 Mar. 2010 by coca-ebola


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The music speaks for itself, 9 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Frankie Say Greatest [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
Frankie Goes to Hollywood were a phenomenon - a phenomenon that went beyond the music into the image, the sleeve notes, the videos, the T-shirts, the hype.

But here, in very minimal and somewhat naff packaging, all that is stripped away. All you get is the music. And the music is still very, very good.

Don't buy the single disc edition with just the 7-inch mixes. So much of the Frankie experience was in the inventive and often innovative remixes, so the second disc is pretty much essential. The meandering, thrusting 16 minute Relax that avoids any hint of the 7-inch mix, the apocalyptic Protect-and-Survive-sampling Two Tribes, the bizarre Nietzsche-quoting Welcome to the Pleasuredome. No one had ever done 12-inches like this before, and few would do with such impact again.

There are two previously-unheard tracks: a pleasant but rather sugary orchestral take on album-track-no-one-remembers Is There Anybody Out There, and a rejected album track Our Silver Turns to Gold, in which Frankie prove that they could have sounded like every other early 80s band if they'd wanted to.

But they didn't. They had a unique sound, and a unique energy. And while this is far from the ultimate Frankie compilation, if you don't have a Frankie CD on your shelf, or you want to relive the sheer force and imagination of those classic 12-inchers, this is essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great collection, 5 Nov. 2009
By 
dave (milton keynes) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frankie Say Greatest [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
got this album earlier this week, it's amazing!

I'm a huge FGTH fan but i didn't own a lot of these remixes before as I'd not been able to buy them on CD

you get a lot for your money as well with the new remixes of the classic tracks.

so glad frankie are back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Useful but could have been better, 25 Mar. 2010
By 
coca-ebola (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Frankie Say Greatest [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
This is nearly the ideal FGTH compilation - it includes most of the single versions that differ from album versions (i.e the proper version of War with all the lyrics intact, the full-length Ferry..., the radio edit of Pleasure Dome). Happy Hi is back in circulation at last (and we should be happy about that). And then there's the odd bonus track Silver Turns To Gold (which doesn't sound like a second album outtake - more like something from Johnson's solo career).

The only disappointment is that they forgot to rescue Disneyland - it may sound like a promising but unfinished song, but it obviously meant something to the band as it was on all the provisional tracklists for the first album.

But it fills in enough gaps to be worthwhile - and if it directs a few casual record buyers to the still-underrated Liverpool album, so much the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Frankie Say...Greatest Remix., 25 Feb. 2010
By 
DJ Control (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In the beginning there was Frankie..and Frankie only.

Then he was remixed and there was maximum rejoicing...

This review, for the double vinyl record set, is part of UMe's multi format release for the Frankie Goes To Hollywood compilation "Frankie Say Greatest". Other formats available are the standard cd Frankie Say Greatest, Two cd for the Hard core fans Frankie Say Greatest (Special Edition) and dvd Frankie Say Greatest [DVD] [2009] so all bases are covered.

Now onto the vinyl edition. Most importantly, it has a very different track listing to the cd editions. All selections appear in remixes, both old and new and it would have been a five star rating if the package was a bit more informative. The cover is a standard gate-fold sleeve with no booklet or liner notes. There is a small amount of info on the content of each record printed inside the gate-fold. The two records are inserted into plain white die cut paper sleeves which have no printing on them. Very cheap indeed. The records themselves are standard 33 1/3 rpm pressings, no heavy weight vinyl here.

Now onto the music. It's very nice to get some rare Frankie remixes on record and a few new ones too. They're all pretty good and come from a wide range of the Frankie catalogue. The oldest is the fantastic and rare Surrender mix of "Two Tribes" which was first released on one of the three 12" singles way back in 1984. Other highlights for me are the Brothers In Rhythm Rollercoaster Mix of "Welcome To The Pleasuredome" released in 1993 and the Club 69 remix of "Relax" released for the new millennium in 2000. The two new mixes of "Relax are also pretty good. There's even a couple of mixes I've not heard before which makes this collection a real treat for me.

Summing up, it's a great way to grab a platter or two of great Frankie remixes on vinyl. There is a remix disc included with the special edition cd set but it has a completely different track listing. Looks like I'll have to buy that edition too, after all, it is Frankie.
Frankie Say...no more....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better, 4 Dec. 2009
By 
Richard Roeton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frankie Say Greatest [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
There are a couple of tracks missing that would have been nice and some of the remixes could have been better picked

Overall though a good compilation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frankie Say Greatest, 22 Nov. 2009
By 
Mr. D. Mellalieu "Mr Mell" (England, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frankie Say Greatest (Audio CD)
The album is a compilation of Franlie Goes To Holliwood,s greatest hits many of them remixed. So if you enjoyed the group originally then you will enjoy this CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frankie say greatest? Absolutely!, 20 Feb. 2010
By 
K. Prowse "Katty" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frankie Say Greatest (Audio CD)
I bought this CD for my mum for christmas and boy was she happy! She has reported back to me (so I can review it online) that all the tracks are brill and she spends many happy hours dancing round the living room whilst dusting. If it works for her, then it must be good! No regrets on buying this at all and it makes a perfect present for you or anyone who is a Frankie fanatic or just a normal fan. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Frankie singles and 12 inch perfection!, 12 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankie Say Greatest [Special Edition] (Audio CD)
What more can you ask for from a 2cd compilation of Frankie classics! For me the second disc is worth the price on it's own,with the Annihilation mix of two tribes( the best mix ever),the 16 minute sex mix of relax (classic mix) and the fruitness mix of Pleasuredome(awesome mix).Another great cd to have on your Frankie shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Relax, 15 Feb. 2010
By 
This review is from: Frankie Say Greatest (Audio CD)
I remember watching their performance on The Tube - it was the beat that stood out, didn't even notice the lyrics. Now listen to it 7.00 o'clock in morning, on motorway on way to work, at near full volume if only to kick start the day.
Only downside to the album, does not include the 12" versions of both Relax and Tribes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BLAST FROM THE PAST, 18 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frankie Say Greatest (Audio CD)
Revisiting my past with this great album, It really brings back so many lovely memories of my youth
Great music !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frankie Say Greatest [Special Edition]
Frankie Say Greatest [Special Edition] by Frankie Goes To Hollywood (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews