Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - does the job perfectly!
Bought this along with a DIY Dish & Cable kit from a different seller on amazon.

Once I had installed the dish & lined up the dish in a similar direction to the neighbour's dish, I used this sat finder to make minor horizontal & vertical adjustments to improve the reception.

Simply attach the small lead that comes with the sat finder to the dish,...
Published on 29 Mar 2012 by smartyPants

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Satellite Finder Signal Meter With Patch Lead BN!
In the process of trying to return item as it is faulty.

No stars deserved really!

The threading on the meter connectors does not correspond with the threading on the patch lead's screw-on connectors, the latter are of a standard type, i.e. you could make up your own patch lead in 5mins. The lead just falls off and will not thread on. I have a packet...
Published 8 months ago by LWN


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - does the job perfectly!, 29 Mar 2012
By 
smartyPants "Smartypants" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satellite Finder Signal Meter With Patch Lead BN! (Electronics)
Bought this along with a DIY Dish & Cable kit from a different seller on amazon.

Once I had installed the dish & lined up the dish in a similar direction to the neighbour's dish, I used this sat finder to make minor horizontal & vertical adjustments to improve the reception.

Simply attach the small lead that comes with the sat finder to the dish, then switch on your freeview receiver & connect the sat finder to the receiver. Make sure that the display is lit up (it should be as it draws power from your free sat receiver), Turn the dial fully up to 6, slowly move the dish horizontal, backwards & forwards until you get a strong signal - once you hit 10 on the needle, turn down the dial to 4 & move again until finally you cannot improve on strength. Then repeat the process, moving the dish vertically & when you hit 10 again on the needle, turn the dial down to 2 to fine tune the signal even further. Once you have a really strong signal that you are happy with, tighten up the bolts & check your TV screen for a picture & also signal strength. It really is that easy with a satfinder!

If you are installing a dish yourself, I would recommend you get one of these. Sure its not as good as the professionals use - those tell you exactly which satellite you are pointed at but cost 80+ Thats the only drawback with this sat finder - it is possible to pick up another satellite as there is one pretty close to the Astra satellite. So just bear that in mind if you find you are only picking up german channels - you are pointed at the wrong satellite!!!

When you consider to get a professional to fit a free to air satellite system will cost you 200+ it is worth considering doing it yourself.

For me it cost 31 to install it myself:

6 for sat finder,
25 for a satellite dish, cables & clips for around 25
0 for the free to air receiver - used my old sky digital receiver, but you can buy one on Amazon for 29
5 for a 10mm thick drill bit - 600mm long (to drill hole through the wall for the cable - 10mm thickness is enough for the "shotgun" double barrel cable)

Well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It isn't KONIG, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satellite Finder Signal Meter With Patch Lead BN! (Electronics)
My main complaint is that the manufacturer isn't KONIG, but some unknown Chinese maker.
I think most people expect the goods to match the claim and like me would be persuaded to buy a known German label. However it does seem to work OK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple tool that does a simple job brilliantly., 29 Dec 2012
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satellite Finder Signal Meter With Patch Lead BN! (Electronics)
The Konig satfinder is nothing more than a signal strength meter with a sensitivity adjustment. It needs to borrow power from the LNB feed to be able to work. That being said, the instructions on how to use it are clear and simple, and easy to follow. The meter works as one might expect and the tone changes pitch according to signal strength. A light (almost invisible in sunlight) illuminating the dial shows that it is getting power from the receiver.

I bought a Satgear dish to watch Freesat on my Freesat TV, and the very clear dish set-up instructions allowed a precise initial alignment by using a website generated overhead view of the street to check on satellite position, possible obstructions and suitable landmarks for the first aiming point (azimuth).

Having got the dish in about the right position, even before the TV was prepared to have a look, the Konig enabled me to make the final azimuth, altitude and rotation adjustments in only a couple of minutes. It turned out that the azimuth was spot on and the Konig showed that no change needed for that, and setting the altitude was where it was most useful with not much physical change but a big increase in signal. The rotation was already correct as preset by the dish manufacturer for my zone.

The other very useful point to using it was that it allowed me to verify that each one of the four outputs from the LNB was producing about the same signal strength as the others.

Even if I never need to use it again, the time it has saved me is well worth the inexpensive purchase price.

Addendum. 5th March 2014.

I've just helped a neighbour reset his dish after it had been knocked by a flying something during the last lot of high winds. And I noticed that the Db control has become very erratic after lying unused for the last year. It seems to have developed a bad connection in just the position where the sensitivity adjustment is needed the most. It still works, but this makes it much more fiddly. Grrr.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Satellite Finder Signal Meter With Patch Lead BN!, 22 Nov 2013
By 
LWN "Alibongo" (Weston super Mare, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satellite Finder Signal Meter With Patch Lead BN! (Electronics)
In the process of trying to return item as it is faulty.

No stars deserved really!

The threading on the meter connectors does not correspond with the threading on the patch lead's screw-on connectors, the latter are of a standard type, i.e. you could make up your own patch lead in 5mins. The lead just falls off and will not thread on. I have a packet of the standard connectors and tried threading one of these on to meter to verify the threading fault; just the same.

So beware there are obviously faulty units out there in spite of many 5* reviews. A bit more Chinese tat? serves me right for being so thrifty., I will perhaps be best advised to buy a 'better' one.

I have no idea if the meter actually works, nor if my dish, LNB and gubbins is working properly; I bought the meter to find this out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars patience, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satellite Finder Signal Meter With Patch Lead BN! (Electronics)
item arrived earlier than stated and was well packaged first attempt to find satellite was hindered by tree but once dish sited in suitable place had no problem finding satellite would recommend just be patient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheap but effective, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satellite Finder Signal Meter With Patch Lead BN! (Electronics)
Did as described able to lined up satellite dish with ease. Connection lead supplied as described. Light indicated connection was working. As well as seeing the needle move could hear higher pitch noise when signal good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 4 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satellite Finder Signal Meter With Patch Lead BN! (Electronics)
I have just replaced my FreeSat dish, and needed a cheap way of getting the dish pointing in the right direction. While it still helps to have someone inside the house shouting when the signal gets better or worse, it certainly helps get the dish in the right area.
Came complete with flylead and English instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second attempt..THATS better.., 19 Feb 2010
By 
K. Geddes (Herts. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Satellite Finder Signal Meter With Patch Lead BN! (Electronics)
I left a comment on a different page before but this IS the right meter.
I was amazed at speed of delivery.. first attempt at siting dish after it had been moved away from previous placement due to maintenance.. thought I`d done it but must have found a eutelsat, from different angle obviously too high.. SO.. went out again this afternoon to try again.. moved further away from building on flat roof.. and with meter connected it sounded off straight away.. so.. tweaked for 100% noise and meter reading, back in.. box on and straight away.. up it comes. SO easy.. provided one remembers.. DONT aim too high.. if its to tweak an already mounted dish.. VERY easy. I`ve nothing but praise, shame its a one off, unless the dish is shifted by anything in the future.
NOW.. maybe a four out lnb for a freesat box. OH.. check coax centre lead length.. had to cut mine to lnb preferred length. I wish everything was as easy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satellite Finder Signal Meter With Patch Lead BN! (Electronics)
serves purpose
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you follow the instructions it works, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Satellite Finder Signal Meter With Patch Lead BN! (Electronics)
The instructions are simple enough. If you follow them it works. at least it did for me. I had the approximate location of the Sky Astra satellite but it needed fine tuning. This did the job .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews