Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars45
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 November 2001
Joe Walsh made a huge impact when replacing Bertie Leadon in the Eagles, on the back of the hugely successful 'Hotel California' album in 1976. This solo album produced two years later shows Walsh at his best, featuring the superb hit single 'Life's Been Good,' a song which acurately described his lifestyle at the time. Other gems include 'Over And Over' - a song that would fit in perfectly with the 'Rumours era' of Fleetwood Mac - and the gorgeous 'Indian Summer,' though arguably the highlight of the album is the instumental passage of 'Inner Tube' coupled with 'Theme From Boat Weirdos.' Walsh's guitar playing is electrifying and his style so beautifully laid back that it conjures up a calming paradise. Above all, it shows that he could cut it as a solo artist; this release only adds to his immense repitoire.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2007
I love rock music. the standard four piece group Led Zep for instance. when I expanded my musical horizons I bought a few records by Joe Walsh after seeing a song on the beebs Old grey whistle test. and over the years I have almost all his output.I still keep coming back to 'But seriously folks.' Joe writes songs about every day problems and pours his heart out in a way a hell of a lotta writers cant. for example Tomorrow track five, We all have a times found there is so much to do that you just cant organize your self to fit it all in!as Joe puts it sit yourself down and make a list of all the things to do, then worry about it tomorrow! third song Indian summer, clever lyrics again.( we never needed bait where we use to go, just a safety pin hook on a bamboo pole, take the big ones home let the little ones go). What I mean is there are no songs about what he's gunner do to his woman when he gets her home or how much he misses his (baby) type stuff just intelligent well written songs and really great music. imagine when recording the basic tracks with guitar bass drums and keyboards, then adding little sections of flute, vocal harmonies and layered guitar parts it is an incredible album and I hope I have explained why!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2007
Every track's a gem but my particular favorite is 'Tomorrow'. I remember hearing this in a friends house, it was one of a small number of albums we listened to constantly for a whole sunny 70's summer, I bought it on tape, then I bought it on LP and now I listen to it on CD and my MP3 player. Thanks Joe.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
Steve Hoffman has worked his magic yet again !!
This is a masterful Audio fidelity recording and makes the normal cd seem flat by comparison.
check out Joes "The smoker you drink" on the same label which is also excellent.
Contary to belief this version rips/burns without an issue.
ENJOY
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2013
In 1978, the Eagles were lost. With the release of their landmark "Hotel California" album, Messrs Henley, Frey, Meisner, Felder and Walsh had considerably upped the ante and set themselves up with a mission impossible to top it. During what should have been their triumphant tour, they lost Randy Meisner and whilst Timothy Schmidt might have helped to keep them focused as a live unit, the powerful songwriting partnership of Henley and Frey had come to a complete stop. Two years were spent trying to record an ambitious follow-up. When it belatedly emerged in 1979, "The Long Run" was a disappointment. Despite some fine songs, for the first time an Eagles album had filler on it.

What they should have done is gone with Joe Walsh and recorded "But Seriously Folks" as an Eagles album and perhaps supplemented it with some of the superior material from "The Long Run". It's clear that Walsh's involvement in the Eagles had rubbed off on him. Even if they hadn't appeared on the album, "But Seriously Folks" sounds like it could have been an Eagles album. To my mind, it's a worthier follow-up to "Hotel California" than "The Long Run".

We'll never know, of course, what would have happened to the Eagles had they recorded this album as a unit instead of "The Long Run" so all we can do is simply enjoy this classic for what it is: Joe Walsh's triumph. During his career up to this point, he had recorded some fantastic albums with the James Gang, Barnstorm, himself and, of course, a certain country-rock band who ruled 70s radio. This is my favourite album because it's so subtle and fragile at points. "Second Hand Store" is beautifully reflective and you can feel the weight of a bad hangover slowly lifting as Walsh surveys the remnants of another hotel room trashed Keith Moon style. "Indian Summer" is gorgeous. Walsh's gentler work is so under-rated because of his axe-man reputation. His vocals occasionally veer dangerously towards parody but just before he teeters over the edge, he pulls back to safety.

There isn't a bad song on this album. Each track is a gem. But of course, standing head and shoulders above all this, is the classic "Life's Been Good", Walsh at his satiric best.

I bought the 24 KT + Gold Audio Fidelity version, which was mastered by Steve Hoffman. Sound wise, it's warm and full-bodied, more organic in feel than the regular CD version. However, I was a bit disappointed with the packaging. For a limited numbered edition, the slipcase and jewel case are very cheap. I paid about £20 including postage. It was sealed and brand new. I don't think it's a fake or an imitation, but it's a real shame that the packaging lacked the solidity of other limited, numbered editions. On the other hand, it was a good price and the album is fantastic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
This review is of the Audio Fidelity label AFZ 079 (ASIN: B009Q6ADL0) limited numbered edition Gold CD and NOT the standard Warner Bros/Electra release.

This Audio Fidelity remastered version of this classic album is outstanding. Even with my budget hifi, comparing this to the "standard" CD version is as if I have had earplugs removed. Everything is just so much clearer and crisp. I'm sure others will be better able to describe the sonic improvements but I am more than happy to have paid the extra for this gem. Rest assured that is it has only been remastered with no other "improvements" other than the addition of CD-Text.

Unlike the "standard" Warner Bros/Electra version (which I also have) you can rip this CD without a problem.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2002
All of this album is outstanding, but special mention must go for his hit 'Life's Been Good'. This song includes a fantastic mix of different pianos, guitars, synthesisers and other funky instruments, not to mention the stunning voice of Joe Walsh, singing about a very rich pop star, who goes out to late partys, rides around too fast in his Maserati, owning a huge masnion that he has never boon to, and talking about fans writing him letters telling him how great he is and some calling him crazy, and basically doing exactaly what he wants to do. This is a great song, that no body can fail to enjoy. Keep it up Joe!!
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2008
Theme from A Boat Load of Weirdos is trippy and hauntingly addictive....
probably my favourite of all Joe's work ..but certainly not exclusive....
Indian Summer gives the idyll of a simpler life unattainable to most folk these days....Second Hand store and such compliment the cd pefectly...If you like genius you'll love Joe.....!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
Probably Joe Walsh's most sucessful solo album. The hit Life's been good has become a staple of Eagles concerts and compilation albums but the album is full of good songs like over and over, second hand store and standing at the station. Joe is singing well (thanks to coaching from Glenn Frey and Don Henley) playing well and writing great lyrics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2012
First bought this album back in 1978 and replaced with a CD when it came out. For any guitar fan this is a great album. Always seems better when played in Summer with its laid back style. Joe shows that he''s not only an excellent guitarist but also a highly creditable vocalist. This album is worth every penny!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)