Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 26 Jun. 2011
This review is from: Universal Migrator 1+2 (Special Edition) (Audio CD)
I've recently 'discovered' Ayreon and purchased all the albums including the 2 excellent Star One projects.

It's been a fantastic journey supplied by a musical genious who finds excellent vocalists and musicians to compliment his albums.

Universial Migrator is the best of the lot, especially disc 1. As usual with Ayreon there is a theme to the album and it is very refreshing to hear high quality music with lyrics not all about love and heartbreak. Far from it in fact.

I cannot recommend this album highly enough. Part 2 is great and features outstanding vocalists such as Bruce Dickinson and Andi Deris (Helloween), and is heavier than part 1 and more suited to my general usual music taste.

However the mellower part 1 is absolutely mindblowing. Songs such as One Small Step, And The Druids Turn To Stone, Dragon On The Sea, to name just 3 highlights, take you through a journey of historical events in time which you will want to revisit again and again.

Fantastic album. Buy it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic album., 14 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Migrator 1+2 (Special Edition) (Audio CD)
This album was bought for a friend, and so I have only been able to listen to a couple of tracks, but judging from those, I can safely say that this is yet another brilliant album from Arjen Anthony Lucassen which is outstanding and progressive. The songs are all well composed and performed, and the recording and effects are of an extremely high standard. Although similar in style to most of the other Ayreon albums, it is definately not 'samey'. The distinct Ayreon sound is kept, whilst Arjen manages to create a whole new and imaginative work at the same time. The story of 'The Universal Migrator' is full of creativity and grasps hold of the listener, dragging them right to the heart of the tales of the last human and their adventures using the dream sequencer. Personally, from what I have heard, I can find no fault with these albums whatsoever, and I would not think twice before recommending them to anybody else who may be considering buying them.
Universal Migrator: Vol.1 & 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unique Concept Album, 1 Aug. 2009
By 
Pensioner (Christchurch) - See all my reviews
Originally released as two single CDs, and now available as a double-disc package, this one was one of Ayreon's best projects.

I particularly like the music on the first CD (The Dream Sequencer) which is distinctly softer than the second, and is a real candidate (along with the Electric Castle) as being one of the best progressive albums of all time.

Ayreon has mustered a stellar supporting cast to help produce this project - Neal Morse to name just one.

Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work of Genius, 10 Jan. 2012
By 
R. Heath "welsh man" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Universal Migrator 1+2 (Special Edition) (Audio CD)
Arjen Anthony Lucassen is one of the most gifted musicians I have ever heard, The ensemble of musicians and vocalists on this double album is second to none, Bruce Dickinson singing Into the Black Hole is worth the price alone but you also have Edward Reekers, Floor Jansen, Lana Lane, Neal Morse, Damian Wilson, Andy Deris. Russell Allen and many many more all of whom fit their respective songs perfectly.

The music is truly magnificent the solos are stunning, the tunes lavish and majestic, My House On Mars, One Small Step, The Shooting Company of Captain Frans B. Cocq, Dragon On the Sea, And the Druids Turn to Stone, The First Man on Earth are all spine tingling and that's just disc one. Disc two begins with a track called Chaos and when Arjen starts to tear it up on guitar the title will suddenly dawn on you, it's frenetic and rip roaring. The album is absolutely outstanding I originally bought the two discs seperately over ten years ago and I have listened to it time and time again it's up there with Jeff Waynes War of the Worlds as a stunning work of genius, It really is that good.

For anyone who appreciates great music just buy it, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic European prog and metal!, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Migrator 1+2 (Special Edition) (Audio CD)
When you get over the fact that Arjen is writing in a language that is not his natiuve tongue, and that the subject matter concepts are a bit schoolboyish, this is actually very enjoyable.

There are echoes of all sorts of infulences everywhere but all very well played and in many circumstances the construction of the music and sound outstrip the originators of the musical styles that are followed. Chord progressions and surprise turns in melody are very strong here. The variation in vocalists through the album is refreshing and if any vocal autotuning is used it is subtle and unintrusive.

Enjoy it for what it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality prog rock, 2 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Migrator 1+2 (Special Edition) (Audio CD)
This is a better value package now re-released as a double CD. Of a similar vintage to The Final Experiment and Into The Electric Castle, which I slighly prefer, and even better the more recent The Human Equation. You can hear the various 70's influences e.g. Beatles, Led Zep , but the blend is original. Top quality vocals, concept story line songs, nice compositions. If you enjoy the samples you can't go wrong, and you'll want the lot! Recommended .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a fabulous progressive rock album, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Migrator 1+2 (Special Edition) (Audio CD)
This is a 2CD offering, telling the story of the last human alive in the universe, trapped on Mars, after all life has been destroyed on Earth. The first is very melodic - the second much heavier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is my second purchase of an Ayreon album and although good, I think it lacks a little in some places but still a great album if you like Prog rock/rock opera music. Well worth a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing cd, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Universal Migrator 1+2 (Special Edition) (Audio CD)
Bought this CD for my husband as he is a fan off prog rock. Any one that likes prog rock.Will love this !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid Concept Album, 17 May 2008
By 
AJ "Alan" (Joburg, South Africa) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This album is very good.Have a few concept type albums and this one is a pleasure to listen to.The sound quality is excellent and the tracks superb.Music is futuristic,spacey,loud.heavy,and rocky in nature.I have quite a large collection of cds and this one is just great.Musicians on album are superb.I think if you like good quality music in concept fashion you will enjoy this album.You could always try and listen to first to make sure this album is appealing to you.Its a double CD so long in nature.
Hope review is of help to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Universal Migrator 1+2 (Special Edition)
Universal Migrator 1+2 (Special Edition) by Ayreon (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews