Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jeff Hardy finally becomes the new World Heavyweight Champion
For me, the third annual Night of Champions pay-per-view was really enjoyable to watch, and much preferred this event to the Bash, which I thought could have been better.

We have a great triple threat match for the WWE Championship, which for me stole the show. The match itself involved John Cena, Triple H and Randy Orton. The match had a lot of fast paced,...
Published on 18 Aug 2011 by Mr. Alan M. Foster

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average night for the Champions
Night of Champions 2009 is yet another average show from WWE. Not too dire, yet nothing whatsoever to make this absolutely spectacular. There are some excellent matches on the card, coupled with some strong performances. Yet there's an equal amount of dull, abysmal offerings and match-ups that we've seen before. It's no wonder that a lot of WWE at the time was so stale...
Published on 28 Aug 2011 by R. Wood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An average night for the Champions, 28 Aug 2011
By 
R. Wood "ryecroftwood2" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WWE - Night Of Champions 2009 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Night of Champions 2009 is yet another average show from WWE. Not too dire, yet nothing whatsoever to make this absolutely spectacular. There are some excellent matches on the card, coupled with some strong performances. Yet there's an equal amount of dull, abysmal offerings and match-ups that we've seen before. It's no wonder that a lot of WWE at the time was so stale and repetitive.

Two things about this show that WILL appeal to die-hard fans and completists, though. And they are Rey Mysterio as the Intercontinental Champion and this chapter of the refreshing and magnificent rivalry between Jeff Hardy and CM Punk over SmackDown's World Heavyweight Championship. Both these angles are what made SmackDown the best wrestling show in 2009, so if you want to discover what happened here, then this Night of Champions is worth having.

Unified Tag Team Championship Match
Chris Jericho (Champion) & Mystery Partner vs. Ted DiBiase & Cody Rhodes
Edge's torn Achilles tendon put him on the shelf, leaving Jericho in need for a new partner to hold the titles. His choice was without doubt the least likely candidate imaginable, but surprisingly, the new pairing turned out hugely successful. But on this night, the heels vs. heels match-up felt difficult and awkward. And although the result could've been much worse, the action and finish are so unimpressive that you're left wondering how the winners could've been a long-term success. Not exactly a great way to kick things off. (5/10)

ECW Championship Match
Tommy Dreamer (Champion) vs. Christian
The moment the Innovator of Violence captured his second ECW title after over a decade was an emotionally satisfying one, and his championship run made for brilliant nostalgia. Alas, you knew Tommy's reign couldn't last forever, and that Christian was better suited to be the face of the `new' ECW for the remainder of its life. Despite being out of his hardcore element, Tommy turns in a fine performance against Captain Charisma in a good match. Not special, but still satisfactory. (7/10)

Six-Pack Challenge United States Championship Match
Kofi Kingston (Champion) vs. Primo vs. MVP vs. Carlito vs. Jack Swagger vs. The Miz
Frenetic, fast-paced and utterly action-filled melee. All the talent in this match made this a spectacular rumble. Whoever came out with the U.S. title, I would've lauded, because they ALL delivered. Thrilling moves and exciting spots galore in this one! Match of the night. (9/10)

WWE Women's Championship Match
Michelle McCool (Champion) vs. Melina
This was easily the best bout of Michelle McCool's career. She silenced her critics here by wrestling a highly aggressive and physical match, easily the best women's bout WWE's had in ages. The timing and chemistry flowed perfectly and Melina deserves praise as always. Correct outcome and some fab spots, most notably Michelle's SICK DDT on Melina...ON THE RINGSIDE BARRIER! (7/10)

Triple-Threat WWE Championship Match
Randy Orton (Champion) vs. Triple H vs. John Cena
A rematch from WrestleMania 24. And the result is exactly the same. A great match with great opponents...but not the classic it could've been. This feels stale and repetitive at times (because we've seen all three match up with one another before), and the ending is just typical. But because the action was so good (liked the double-submission!), I'll let them off. (8/10)

Divas Championship Match
Maryse (Champion) vs. Mickie James
I love Mickie. And I love Maryse. And I was expecting them both to put on a very good women's bout. Instead, this is the complete opposite of the Women's Championship match earlier. And it REALLY makes me wonder all the more why THAT championship is now defunct, and this silly Divas version is still active! The timing of both ladies is well off, the action is sloppy, and the bout runs on for far too long. Not even the winner can justify having to sit through this. I expected better, especially after the previous Divas match. (2/10)

Intercontinental Championship Match
Rey Mysterio (Champion) vs. Dolph Ziggler (w/Maria)
After the awesome programme with Chris Jericho, Rey continued his unforgettable Intercontinental title run by moving onto the former Spirit Squad member, now rechristened as the vastly superior Dolph Ziggler. Mysterio again proved his excellence as IC Champ, wrestling a strong bout with the `newcomer'. Unfortunately, no one could really identify with Ziggler yet, so this feels more like an experiment to see if he's worthy of being champion. In spite of this, Ziggler continues to impress, and the rematch at SummerSlam would be the classic THIS was meant to be. (7/10)

World Heavyweight Championship Match
CM Punk (Champion) vs. Jeff Hardy
The refreshing, legendary Hardy/Punk feud got better and better as it went on. Punk's staggeringly good promo earlier on in the evening really got the crowd fired up for this, and he and Hardy just continued to solidify their main-event credentials. Superior to their match at The Bash, the two finally found their in-ring chemistry, wrestling an excellent match. The outcome is very surprising indeed, continuing a classic storyline in perfect fashion. And there was still more to come! (8/10)

Following the pitiful trend of pay-per-view DVDs today, only one extra. Another interview, with the loser of the World Title match, no less. The fact that it's part of 2009's hottest angle is terrific. The fact that Silver Vision & WWE Home Video don't put enough extras on these discs (like they USED to!) is inexcusable.

Still, the show is what matters I suppose, and while the less said about the Divas and Tag Title Matches the better, Night of Champions 2009 has content to make it worth your while. Yes, it's another average show from WWE (one of too many recently!) but the World Heavyweight, U.S., WWE and Women's Championship matches are the high-points. Not essential at all, but if you want to own Night of Champions 2009, you won't be sorry you bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jeff Hardy finally becomes the new World Heavyweight Champion, 18 Aug 2011
By 
This review is from: WWE - Night Of Champions 2009 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
For me, the third annual Night of Champions pay-per-view was really enjoyable to watch, and much preferred this event to the Bash, which I thought could have been better.

We have a great triple threat match for the WWE Championship, which for me stole the show. The match itself involved John Cena, Triple H and Randy Orton. The match had a lot of fast paced, back and forth action.

A great WWE Intercontinental Championship between Dolph Ziggler and Rey Mysterio. The match itself was excellent and Dolph Ziggler proved a lot on why he wanted to be the WWE Intercontinental Champion.

A very decent main event for the World Heavyweight Championship, where Jeff Hardy finally lives the dream of being the World Heavyweight Champion, after defeating former World Heavyweight Champion, CM Punk.

Overall this was a good pay-per-view and would say it was better than the previous 2009 pay-per-view The Bash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK Show, 8 Aug 2011
This review is from: WWE - Night Of Champions 2009 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
Tag Titles: Chris Jericho & Big Show (C) vs. Ted Dibiase & Cody Rhodes - Pretty boring opener, the surprise partner for Jericho was also a tad disappoiting. I hoped for a better opener based on the people involved but just never got out of second gear. Rating: 1.5/5

ECW Championship: Tommy Dreamer (C) vs. Christian - This was a step up from the previous match, solid effort from both guys based on the time given but its nothing special. Rating 2.5/5

US Championship Six-Pack Challenge - Kofi Kingston (C) vs. Carlito vs. Primo vs. Jack Swagger vs. MVP vs. The Miz - Six pack challenges are always fun although I felt that they should have had more time. Again it was a fun and lively match without being spectacular, probably should have been the first match. Rating 2.5/5

Women's Championship - Michelle McCool (C) vs. Melina - This was good considering it was the divas, they had to two top workers involved in the WWE at the time, this should be a basis for any other diva match on PPV. Rating 2/5

WWE's Title - Randy Orton (C) vs. Triple H vs. John Cena - This was a really good match and it was probably for match of the night. The main problem is that we've seen these guys so many time that it is too repeptitive and showed WWE's lack of faith in any of the younger talent.Rating: 3.5/5

Maryse (C) vs. Mickie James - Boring Diva's match, disappointing considering that it had Mickie James in it. Rating 1/5

Rey Mysterio (C) vs. Dolph Ziggler - A good match from these two, which is hardly suprising when the match involves the vastly underrated Rey Mysterio. They were given a good amount of time and they delivered aswell. Rating: 3/5

CM Punk (C) vs. Jeff Hardy - Another good match which was a good way to end the show, a enjoyable match throughout and the twos guys worked hard. There next match however is a match of a year candidate. Rating:3/5

Overall Rating: 6/10. A OK PPV which would lead to a better Summerslam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars night of mixed fortunes for the wwe, 22 Dec 2009
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: WWE - Night Of Champions 2009 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
The night of champions,a night when all the gold is on the line,a night when wwe can pat itself on the back with the proclamation that we are the best company and these are our champions and yours and they will defend them tonight.
chris jericho and a mystery partner,who we came to learn was the big show defended the unified tag titles against legacy in our opening match ,the match wasnt great ,two heel teams going up against each other brought little or no reaction from the crowd and people have said that vince was upset with this match feeling it was a real stinker,maybe that isnt true but it wasnt that great,poor opening.
The ECW championship was contested between the champ christian and thomas dreamer next,this was nothing special ,i know that christian had to work hard to make tommy look credible who with a couple of nice looking,low impact moves has little to offer and i hear that he is looking to leave the wwe very shortly,boo hoo,anyway,this isnt a great match but was better than the ECW mess up that took place at summerslam of this year.
A classic match took place next for the united states championship,a six pack match,snappy name for a match involving 6 men,first pin wins,the champ was kofi and he had much to do to retain the gold against primo,carlito,mvp,jackie swagger, and the miz.This match was electric,there were multiple spots of brilliance and at the same time as you would need the eyes of a fly to see all that was going on,an underrated match for sure and the first diamond of the night.
michelle mccool and melina had a decent encounter for the womans title next.
A triple threat for the wwe championship was up next as the champ randy orton went up against cena and triple h.This match was good,confusing at times as we had both trips and cena throwing on submission moves to orton at same time and orton tapping out and no one knew what to do ,i think this was a source of embarrassment for the wwe as it opened them up to much criticism but in the end when i look back it was a good match for the most part.
a divas match was up next,our 2nd ladies match of the night as champ maryse went up against mickie james in a dour affair.
the intercontiental champ rey rey went up against dolp ziggler next in a very good match,dolph was afforded little respect from a crowd who didnt know alot about him at this stage but they would when it was over as both men fought like lions and gave everything they could.
The main event was next as the world heavyweight champ cm punk went up against jeff hardy,punks heelish behaviour was set to kick off big time here as he fought with all he had against a faster,most determined than ever hardy and while this wasnt the best in their feud which was one of the best of 2009 it was a fitting way to end a mixed bag of a ppv,2.5 stars out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WWE - Night Of Champions 2009 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BAD, 1 April 2010
This review is from: WWE - Night Of Champions 2009 [DVD] [2009] (DVD)
HERE WE GO

Unified Tag Team Championship Match
Chris Jericho & Big Show vs. Ted DiBiase & Cody Rhodes 2.5/5

ECW Championship Match
Tommy Dreamer vs. Christian 3.5/5

United States Championship Match
Kofi Kingston vs. Primo vs. MVP vs. Carlito vs. Jack Swagger vs. The Miz 3/5

WWE Women's Championship Match
Michelle McCool vs. Melina 2.5/5

WWE Championship Match
Randy Orton vs. Triple H vs. John Cena 3/5

Divas Championship Match
Maryse vs. Mickie James 2/5

Intercontinental Championship Match
Rey Mysterio vs. Dolph Ziggler 2.5/5

World Heavyweight Championship Match
CM Punk vs. Jeff Hardy 2.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WWE - Night Of Champions 2009 [DVD] [2009]
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews