Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars39
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 November 2013
i thought i would get a powerful 950w or larger belt sander, opted for this model purely as it was very good value, although it is 950w my old bosch 700w seems so much more powerful with much more bite less belt slipping, this silverline feels a little gutless, not sure if i was unlucky with my example or this is the normal, however it gets the job done in the end,
i also found silverline belts stretched far too easy so i ended up with so much belt slip on this model.i dont know why belt sanders cant have a better way of managing belt stretch as good belts quickly become useless as they are too big.

i would like to point out the belt alighnment is also not that great when the belt bites it can pull it off alighnment far too easy with this model when my gmc replacement sander is rock solid also part of silverline.

yes i would recommend it for the basic odd diy tasks and its ok for anyone on a tight budget but if you are after something with a bit of grunt which will get the job done quickly then NO i would not pick this machine sorry silverline i do like many of your tools but this is very weak belt sander.

dont be put off too much as this will do the job for round the house but it was not good enough for my use in the workshop on more demanding tasks
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
This was bought as a quick replacement for a venerable sander which died part way through a project. The sander is typical Silverline. A good basic item, but you have to be careful of erratic quality.
I have sanded quite a number of boards with this now and it has done the job well. The motor can run hot after a while, but doesn't seem to affect it. Tracking seems fine and has never caused problems after several belt changes. It seems to have more of a tendency to 'dig' than my previous sanders, but no problem as long as you are aware and keep it under control. The wire supports in the dust bag have broken so the dust bag flops about and can get under the belt if you are not careful, but the dust bag does stop a lot of fine dust. It can be a nuisance to empty as the wood dust gets rammed into corners that are hard to get to. The sanding frame is badly made and fitted so is useless.
All in all not a bad sander and I will certainly keep it as my secondline sander. This was a warehouse deal as I wouldn't have paid full price for it.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2014
Needed it for one job-sanding a section of proud plaster. Would have taken ages by hand & cost substantialy more to pay someone. If you need a sander to take a lot of heavy use then don't buy this. Of course its not up to the sort of workload a more expensive model would provide.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2013
In common with the other reviews I was pretty happy with this machine when I first got it.

When it works it performs well. However the build is what you pay for. I haven't used the machine excessively but neither have I put it on the mantel piece as an ornament.

For starters you get an extra drive belt. Chances are you'll need this and more. I would guess the machine takes up strain when the sanding belt hits resistance with the drive belt. Hence they will break sooner or later. Silverline don't appear to sell replacements; so you need to pay up to £8 for a third party supplied one each time you need one.

I had one machine chew up whatever gear box it has internally and spit out a collection of ball bearings.

The warranty replacement hasn't fared much better. The assembly around which the belt runs gets very hot with use (not surprising; the belts use friction to sand the material which generates a lot of heat). 'Cleverly' Silverline have used plastic for the release handle for the belt. This handle works against a heavy spring, so is subject to a reasonable load. Over time the heat and use fatigued the plastic until the plastic snapped. This has to be a major design fault.

Instructions are amusing in the sense the machine doesn't like dust; but running it is the biggest creator of dust I have. You just need to clear up regularly as the dust collector isn't brilliant.

In summary, forgot about whatever warranty Silverline offer, spent more money and buy something that is better built and avoid the hassle. It's cheap for a reason.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
Needed to sand up some 8 foot lengths of 4x2, being a bench hand joiner and used to the heavy weights of the likes of makita, this sander proved an excellent 'diy' piece of kit. I was surprised by the power of this smaller entry but it made quick work of the job in hand, nice to the touch and easy to use. Spare bushs and even a replacement belt for the drive and enough sanding belts to get me going although I did order 5 80 grit spares. The only down side is that the sander is quite light in weight not really a problem though and may prove a good point with other peoples views.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2015
Good value product (bought locally for a couple of pounds more). The base frame is very good protection from accidentally grinding the side of the belt into the workpiece, although it does prevent you from getting into corners. The dust collector bag is useless. Not only did the zip not work, the dust is blown out the side of the tool in preference to the bag anyway. I connected my Miele vacuum cleaner which sucks away nearly all of the dust but makes it all a bit cumbersome. The fit of the vacuum cleaner nozzle to the sander is not very compatible as it splits the nozzle.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
Great Sander, good value, guard is a big help, well worth the money, enough power for most DIY jobs, bargain with the belts thrown in too
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2011
was well chuffed with sander. could have spent hundreds on another that does the same job. good allround buy
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2011
Not a bad sander at all does the trick.. Well pleased...They even give ya a spare drive belt and brushes...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2015
A wonderful machine don't know how I existed without it!! Only slight drawback is it's not easily mounted upside down which is how I use it but can be done with slight modification which no doubt renders the guarantee void. However it's built to last and very good value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)