Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as it shoud be
Recieved this grinder a few days ago and first impressions are very good.The actual grinder was extremely well packed with proper shaped postyrene end supports and plenty of plastic bags. Some self assembly was needed, well described in the small but adequate instruction book.
I ran the grinder up and sharpened an old chisel, it ran very smoothly, the wheels were...
Published on 16 Feb. 2011 by D J Wiles

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not powerful enough
Very disappointing in this purchase and in fact returned it to Amazon who refunded without quibble. I purchased to do some medium wight grinding and polishing using Silverlines 150mm mop and pig tail.

The good points were of course the cost and speed of delivery and the fact the unit is relativity quiet, and looks cute on the bench.

The bad points...
Published 20 months ago by AJC


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as it shoud be, 16 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline Silverstorm 263524 Bench Grinder 200W 150mm (DIY & Tools)
Recieved this grinder a few days ago and first impressions are very good.The actual grinder was extremely well packed with proper shaped postyrene end supports and plenty of plastic bags. Some self assembly was needed, well described in the small but adequate instruction book.
I ran the grinder up and sharpened an old chisel, it ran very smoothly, the wheels were true and much quieter than I expected.
In conclusion a good buy which looks as if it will give good service for nonmal household and probably light industrial tasks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ready for winter sharpening, 25 Nov. 2011
By 
Mr. S. Holmes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline Silverstorm 263524 Bench Grinder 200W 150mm (DIY & Tools)
I purchased my bench grinder in preperation for sharpening my wood axes
I am certain this grinder will meet my simple requirements
My only slight criticism is that the instructions could be a little clearer
In terms of price I have no complaints at all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silverline Bench Grinder 150mm, 16 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline Silverstorm 263524 Bench Grinder 200W 150mm (DIY & Tools)
Good value for money and pleased with the grinder. It performs well, runs quietly and operates smoothly with little or no vibration. The product is spoiled only by poor instructions. You can more or less work out how to assemble the tool rests and plastic shields, looking at the photos in the instructions and using a bit of common sense. But if you want to remove the left hand wheel (as you looking at the grinder from the front) it has a left hand thread and you need to turn the nut clockwise to loosen it and not in the normal anti-clockwise direction. Nowhere does it say this in the instructions!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars grinder, 22 April 2011
This review is from: Silverline Silverstorm 263524 Bench Grinder 200W 150mm (DIY & Tools)
I am very pleased with the grinder runs quitely and performs the tasks very well mainley used for drills and tool shapening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brillant, 7 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline Silverstorm 263524 Bench Grinder 200W 150mm (DIY & Tools)
The grinder arrived early so that was a bonus.I brought this bench grinder as my husband was always complaining of blunt DIY tools. WOW! I wish i had brought the grinder earilier it is great he as sharpened knives,scissors,chiscals,shears and now our neighbours have brought there tools to be sharpened.Many Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid workbench, 5 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline Silverstorm 263524 Bench Grinder 200W 150mm (DIY & Tools)
I needed something to sharpen hatchets and the like and at around £25 you can't expect a perfect unit and as a result I'd rate it on that basis.

First the negatives:

- the packaging mine came in wasn't strong enough to protect the grinder and both the brackets the tool rests attach to were bent on arrival. I managed to straighten out with a pair of pliers and attach the rests rather than the hassle of returning the unit and works fine for my light use. Shouldn't have been necessary though

- the two grinding wheels are quite close together with no guard between them so when you're trying to sharpen a longer tool (even a hatchet), you have to be careful not to catch your hand on the other wheel (worthwhile wearing gloves)

And the positives:

+ the wheels are incredibly powerful and sharpen thick metal easily, so much so I'm not sure I'll use it for more delicate tasks (eg. a penknife) as if you're not really careful, simply blink wrongly and you'll have a nice notch in the blade. I'll probably give one a go after more practice on less delicate jobs

+ It's a solid unit so whilst you can secure to a workbench, I haven't needed to as it's stable and solid enough to use free standing. This makes it easier to move out of the way in tight space when not in use

Overall the key negative (packaging) seems unique to me (based on the other reviews) and the other is just a be careful. As a result, it does the job I need and was good value for money, but I can't "love it" enough to give it a five star review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silverline bench grinder, 14 Feb. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline Silverstorm 263524 Bench Grinder 200W 150mm (DIY & Tools)
Very good value, Smooth and quiet opperation. For the money you cant beat it. Perfect for the home mechanic, sharpening drills and general amateur engineering work around the garage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bench Grinder, 7 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline Silverstorm 263524 Bench Grinder 200W 150mm (DIY & Tools)
Early Days, I have had it a week and no problems easy to to fit the gaurdes and fasten down you can screw it down but its not easy to get the screws straight.Bolting it to your desk is a better option. its quiet and ideal for the DIY and handyman/women.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delighted., 10 Aug. 2012
By 
M. Anderson (Gravesend, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silverline Silverstorm 263524 Bench Grinder 200W 150mm (DIY & Tools)
As good as I expected it to be. Does the job efficiently. Sharpened all garden shears hoe's and flymo blades. Should have got one years ago, and saved some money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent purchase., 5 Aug. 2011
This review is from: Silverline Silverstorm 263524 Bench Grinder 200W 150mm (DIY & Tools)
Sturdy, powerful and quiet, I am continually finding more uses for this grinder.Not very clear assembly instructions, but common sense and careful study of the photographs solved it.

Well packed and prompt delivery as usual Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silverline Silverstorm 263524 Bench Grinder 200W 150mm
£35.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews