Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars15
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2010
With a disc for each of the 70s, 80s and 90s, this is a fine collection of Disco and Dance classics, each in its original extended form. So faithful are the transfers to CD that you can even hear the vinyl crackle as the needle beds-in for Chaka Khan's belter 'I'm Every Woman', while The Sugarhill Gang's seminal 'Rappers delight' took me straight back to the birth of commercial rap music. Donna Summer's disco leviathan 'I Feel Love' provides several minutes of unadulterated pleasure, and Chic's 'Good Times' is a reminder of why the producers were the kings of late 70s/early 80s dance music.
80s highlights include 'Blue Monday', and 'Love Can't Turn Around' by Farley Jackmaster Funk, while the 1990s are represented by such luminaries as Adamski, Dee-Lite and DNA featuring Suzanne Vega.
Overall this is majestic selection of danceable chart hits from the halcyon decades of dance music, and with a track listing that eschews some over-familiar tracks for lesser known gems, this is a thoroughly essential purchase for all lovers of great pop music.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2010
12"dance 3 cd box set ,best box set ive ever bought in a long time best value for monie,could not find in hmv localy till i came on amazon for them would highly recommoend for the music lover ,raver ,club goer who likes this type of music,.its a must would make ideal gift for anybody .
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2009
In one form or other (mainly ol' vinyl 12-inchers), I have bought 20 of the tracks spread on these 3 CDs. And I've heard/taped/danced to pretty much all the rest (even Sheila. But, in France, it is deemed to be, at best, a "guilty pleasure"). It is indeed a valuable comp of historic dance tracks for a neat price. First instance of seeing 'Good Times' and 'Rapper's Delight' back-to-back on an album. Teen and 20-something crate-diggers should buy it!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2011
GREAT 3 IN ONE 70s 80s 90s.
Cannot fault this collection.sure i have heard most of these before but never on the same compilation
CLEVER! CLEVER! music for all the family.Value is outstanding .
i can hear families fighting over what disc to play first.nineties disc for me.
loved "killer" by Seal,made me remember how great this track is.
Utah Saints "something good" describes this collection.
It is probably my favourite featuring vocal by the talented ,underated Kate Bush.
we love you Kate ,please play live for all your fans.
got to go,must play it again.....well done.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2009
There are a loads of original extended mixes on this album which I've been trying to get my hands on for ages. All the classics are on here - a really well thought out track list and a genuine education in the progression of dance.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2009
I saw the advert for this on TV and after a quick look at the track listings went ahead and ordered it. I was a little disappointed as the advert seemed to play all the best bits but on the whole this CD is quite good.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2010
Purchased for a party, and how great it was to boogie to some of those 12"/ long play classics spanning 3 decades!! Party continued well past the Witching hour! Great to find them in this collection.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2009
Very good collection, my only complaint is there are not enough tracks from late 70's. Hopefully therte will be a volume 2!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
I love this album, it has a great selection.I would definitely buy more like this one again.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2009
This tracklist looks AWESOME!!!
Some of the biggest dance anthems from my lifetime and before are on here- Inner City, Sister Sledge, New Order, Beats International, Sugar Hill Gang, S Express, Tom's Diner, Donna Summer, Chaka Khan, Everything But The Girl, Adamski (!!)- I tried to get some of these on 12" when I got my 1st turn tables and they were dis-continued, so to have the chance to buy the full original 12" mixes of so many of the biggest anthems in history is excellent news.
Will be buying this on lunch!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)