Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer musical enjoyment!
I bought this on the strength of reviews and the excellent price for this package - can't go wrong if it's "cr*p but cheap"! Anyway, I won't go over the song list or the band line up or suchlike, but only say that I watched this on receipt in anticipation of nothing. As the DVD progressed I became more and more involved in the concert experience, thrilled at the selection...
Published on 11 Jan 2010 by Iain Mackenzie

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MACCA IN THE USA
There comes a time when you think "Whats the point" when an artist of the calibre of Paul McCartney,issues another live album.
The mix is all encompassing featuring songs that span the whole of his Beatles/Wings/Fireman canon
You will have heard all of the tracks before,McCarney knows his audience well,although the embarrasing "A day in the life/Give peace a...
Published on 6 Jun 2010 by Finbar the looney


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Evening Paul McCartney, 27 Feb 2010
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
I managed to get to see Paul McCartney at the O2 Arena in London in December during the promotion for this dvd release.
He has toured heavily since 2002 and this is the fourth live dvd from the noughties following on from Back In the US, Live in Red Square & the Space Within Us.
The fact that we get the whole concert without interruptions makes this the best yet, and Paul and his brilliant band are on top form.
The packaging is superb and I'd urge everybody to invest a few extra pounds to buy the deluxe edition with the extra dvd.
Here's to the next tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On really good form ... and some new concert material as well., 11 Feb 2010
By 
Alan P. Thatcher "Alan T." (Chelmsford, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
Having seen Macca a few times in concert and got a number of live albums / dvds in my collection already I initially asked myself 'what's new here?'. In fact there are quite a few songs that are recent additions to his live show - Sing The Changes, Mrs. Vanderbilt, Day Tripper are examples and really are very well peformed, so worth it from that point alone.

He's having a good time in this concert as well, realaxed and pretty chatty in places (the running bit of fun with the women in the audience screaming a la Shea Stadium Beatles' shows is great fun). The two tributes to his mates, Here Today (John) and Something (George) are beautifully done - particularly Something.

Take a look at the footage of the Beatles' Shea shows and you'll see that he's the one running towards the stage - he loves being up there and doing what he does best. A reviewer of his London show at the end of 2009 said "he'd be worth 20 quid of anyone's money if he simply turned up and played washboard for 45 minutes". At the price the 2 x CD and DVD package from Amazon you'll not need to spend half that amount and you can enjoy a master craftsman at work in a really fine show. Thumbs up indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Live in New York, 21 Jan 2010
By 
I. H. C. Mellor "mihcm" (Milton Keynes) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
I have been a fan of Paul McCartney since I was at school and have seen him live with Wings and solo. This is really an excellent album and DVD and so reasonably priced as well. The band are excellent, loads of old favourites and some new numbers as well from the 'Fireman' and more recent PM albums. Watching the DVD it was obviously a very sentimental return to what was once a venue for the Beatles, before they rebuilt 'Citi Field' stadium. Paul mentions this a lot to the audience, reminiscing on his days with the Beatles and also very poiniently singing songs remebering three of the biggest people in his life, Linda, John & Paul, which I think is very emotional, as he admits. Considering how long Paul McCartney has been in the business, it would be hard for him to have bettered this recording/concert. The only thing that I would have liked to see would have been a real brass section rather than all the brass sounds being played on a keyboard. In the past PM has played with a small orchestra and/or brass section. However, that is a minor gripe and does not detract from the album at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recording of a magical evening, 13 Jan 2010
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
I am very fortunate to have be able to attend the Saturday night concert in New York and so bought this as a memento and to bring back memories of that magical night. I wasn't disappointed with the DVD (apart from one or two of the crowd shots which, as commented elsewhere, could have been edited out). I had a great seat on the floor at the concert but couldn't see the detail of the performance as you can on the DVD. The songs are all great and the performance blew me away. The highlight for me was 'Live and Let Die' where the pyrotechnics were fantastic. I was pleased that this came over in the DVD - although not as good as being there. All-in-all a great collection which I will enjoy for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is it!, 1 Jan 2010
By 
R. S. Gil Salinas "rgsalin" (Espaņa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
Forget about all the previous McCartney live DVDs and go for this one. I have been a McCartney fan all of my life and, finally, at the age of 40, I have discovered a concert film which is worth being watched over and over again. Wings Over America is another one which makes me feel proud of being a McCartney supporter, but it still hans't been released on DVD/Bluray (or whatever the name of the system may be in a not too distant future). Let me tell you something: the two CDs, to me, are more of the same. They don't contribute anything. I bought this set just for the DVD, and I don't regret it. The sound quality is amazing, as you can distinguish all the instruments with just a few audience intrusions from time to time. The filming is good: not too much camera movement, so that you can focus your attention on performance and performers (anybody interested in watching fans & families crying, annoying editing, irritating camera movement, or busty girls, go for the previous McCartney live DVDs). You get the feeling of being there. You can feel McCartney bass vibrate. Only one thing: if it was shot in HD, why haven't they released on Blu Ray? Maybe, they will do it, but just after all of us have bought the DVD version... Maybe, I'm not so amazed. All in all, an excellent DVD (as you can see I am not mentioning the CDs), which could perfectly be used as an introduction to McCartney's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 17 Dec 2009
By 
Kevan John Kite (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a fantastic show, highlights of the dvd. "Sing the changes" from the Fireman album OUTSTANDING performance with a great light show behind. Paul's tribute to John, "Here Today", filled with emotion Paul nearly breaks down two or three times, this is followed by a very uplifting "Dance Tonight" Paul really needed that song to get back into things. There wasn't a person who didn't enjoy listening to "Mrs Vanderbilt" and you can see the band really enjoyed playing it!

A great surprise is when during "I'm Down" we flick back and forth to the Beatles at Shea Stadium, perfectly edited, and boy is John enjoying himself!

A great tribute to George with "Something", the best performance of it by Paul I've heard, as is "I've Got A Feeling" which kicks into an extended upbeat ending with Paul playing lead guitar .

"Paperback Writer" certainly gets the treatment with an extended guitar solo, excellent!

Paul chats between the tracks and looks comfortable and is clearly enjoying himself, the band are very tight and Abe plays a blinder on the kit.

The big spoiler is the girl with the big red head that talks over a really rocking "Only Mama Knows" and who again pops up during "Back in the USSR" how did she get past the editing stage!! That said, the package is great value for money 5 out of 5 Macca!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ageless and Boundlessly Talented MACCA, 22 Oct 2009
By 
Brien Comerford (Glenview, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
The New York Times, The New York Post, The New York Daily News and Rolling Stone Magazine gave rave reviews, plaudits, praise and accolades for MACCA's series of concerts in The BIG Apple. At age 67 this brilliant vocalist and musician is still a vintage and supreme live performer. He rocks on this CD/Dvd with "I'm Down," "Helter Skelter," Got To Get You Into My Life,"" Only Mamma Knows" "Jet", "Live And Let Die" and a scorching "Day Tripper". "Highway" and "Sing The Changes" are wonderful "Electric Arguments" songs that were expertly performed to an enraptured New York crowd. The inclusion of " A Day In The Life', "I've Got A Feeling", "Sgt. Peppers" and many of Paul's eternal Beatles' classics(Let It Be, Hey Jude, Yesterday) verified the reality that Macca is iconic on stage as well as he is in the studio. The man's energy, vocal range and musicianship are beyond incredible.

It's also imperative to have the Fireman-"Electric Arguments" CD. It's arguably MACCA'S greatest solo CD(One That Lennon Would Probably Love).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Evening Watching..., 28 Jun 2014
By 
maygirl "maygirl" (Mansfield Woodhouse, Notts) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
I have never seen Paul live but this was a great concert to watch. Beatles Classics with a mix of Wings classics & plenty of his solo work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul McCartney, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
Paul McCartney is one of my faves and this is a good live albu. makes you feel that you are there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
The live performance sounds great on the audio but then theres the concert DVD too!Great set from Macca,a great mix of his new and old.He still got it all these years on!Then Billy Joel rocks up too-great touch!Two legends for the price of one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD]
Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews