Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer musical enjoyment!
I bought this on the strength of reviews and the excellent price for this package - can't go wrong if it's "cr*p but cheap"! Anyway, I won't go over the song list or the band line up or suchlike, but only say that I watched this on receipt in anticipation of nothing. As the DVD progressed I became more and more involved in the concert experience, thrilled at the selection...
Published on 11 Jan 2010 by Iain Mackenzie

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars MACCA IN THE USA
There comes a time when you think "Whats the point" when an artist of the calibre of Paul McCartney,issues another live album.
The mix is all encompassing featuring songs that span the whole of his Beatles/Wings/Fireman canon
You will have heard all of the tracks before,McCarney knows his audience well,although the embarrasing "A day in the life/Give peace a...
Published on 6 Jun 2010 by Finbar the looney


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer musical enjoyment!, 11 Jan 2010
By 
Iain Mackenzie "Ted" (Glasgow, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
I bought this on the strength of reviews and the excellent price for this package - can't go wrong if it's "cr*p but cheap"! Anyway, I won't go over the song list or the band line up or suchlike, but only say that I watched this on receipt in anticipation of nothing. As the DVD progressed I became more and more involved in the concert experience, thrilled at the selection of songs chosen from Paul's extensive repetoir, smiled in sympathetic joy at he and the band's obvious enjoyment in performing these songs to that huge audience, and felt deep satisfaction over the direction and sound quality of the recorded show.
A few days later I showed this DVD to some of my mates (after playing some of the audio tracks in the background, and being asked what was the concert soundtrack from), who ended up glued to the performance, and highly positive in their appreciation, and believe me they are a discening lot (all musicians themselves, too)!
Great fun no nonsense rock performed by top musicians, from a songlist second to none, at a great venue, for a good price, and Paul singing 'A Day In The Life' to boot. A worthwhile purchase... go for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Spectacular, 5 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
The great thing about a joint CD/DVD music release is that you can watch the show, then if you still haven't had enough, listen to it in your car, on your stereo system or on your iPod. It works better with some releases but for Good Evening New York City, it's impeccable, with each of the 30+ songs being performed to perfection by Paul and his exceptional band. You can expect a great collection of performances on any live show by Sir Paul, but this one in particular is truly spectacular. All the songs are in there that you'll need; a great mix of Beatles classics along with solo work, Wings and The Fireman material.

The show begins with "Drive My Car", immediately getting you hooked, followed by the Band On The Run classic "Jet", and it's on from there. Though the first half is mostly of non-Beatles songs and arguably lesser known songs to certain fans, they are all still great songs performed brilliantly that keep you watching in awe regardless. An outstanding revival of "Got To Get You Into My Life", showing how the man can still sing just as great years on, followed by "Let Me Roll It" confirms you're in for a great show. At the end of the first CD and towards the middle of the show on the DVD, "Band On The Run" is played before Paul delves into his Beatles classics, including "Back In The U.S.S.R.", "Paperback Writer" and "Hey Jude", as well as Paul's tribute to his former bandmate George Harrison with "Something", and his tribute to John Lennon with "A Day In The Life"/"Give Peace A Chance".

Along with clips from the 1965 Shea Stadium performance during one song, a special guest performing with Paul and the band in another and astonishing pyrotechnic effects for "Live And Let Die", it is the perfect opening concert for New York's new Citi Field stadium that you just don't want to end. Who else should open this new stadium other than the man who was here with The Beatles on the site 40 years before, for that memorable performance at the former Shea Stadium? An unforgettable classic and the perfect live album for Paul McCartney and Beatles fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul's best live album ever? Probably!, 25 Nov 2009
By 
A. Sweeney "I don't care what you call me" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
"Good Evening New York City" documents Paul's three phenomenally successful live shows at New York's Citi Field in July 2009 on two CDs and one DVD. Now, I'm going to lay my cards on the table. I'm a huge Paul McCartney fan and own pretty much everything he has officially released, so I'm looking at this release from the eyes of someone who is very familiar with past live albums and also someone who has issues with the lack of variety in Macca's set-lists. However, for someone like me, there are live versions of "Highway" and "Sing The Changes" from his recent "Fireman" album, plus never released live tracks such as "Mrs. Vandebilt", "A Day In The Life/Give Peace A Chance", "I'm Down" and "Daytripper", enough to make me want to buy this, regardless of whether I would have bought it for my collection anyway.

Here's the good news - it's good. Very good, in fact. Paul's current live band is arguably the best he has ever worked with. Although they always bring their top game to the stage, they don't treat the Beatles material like a sacred cow. Abe isn't afraid to use some different drum fills or improvised beats during the songs and Rusty doesn't shy away from varying the guitar solos either - and this is a very good thing, it removes the predictability from the songs most of us all know and love and breathes new life into them. Paul is also in fine voice throughout and you'd struggle to believe that the man was approaching 70, given some of the notes he hits (check out the end of "My Love"). The charisma of the man just glows from the speakers and, although this may surprise the casual fans, it is the more recent material which particularly shines during this set, as opposed to the tried and tested Beatles songs... not that they don't sound great - they really do!

When all is said and done, this is probably Paul's best live album to date. The sound is so alive and vibrant, it's almost like you're there - and I wish that I had have been. My only real gripe stems from the set-list. How many more live versions of "Hey Jude", "Band On The Run", "The Long And Winding Road", "Let Me Roll It" or "Live & Let Die" does your average Macca fan need? I guess my secondary whine is that many of these wonderful songs deserve live, 'real' instruments, such as trumpets, sax and strings instead of the synthesized versions from Wix's keyboards. Sometimes, in the case of "A Day In The Life", they work brilliantly. During other songs, however, such as the almost painful "sax" solo in "Lady Madonna" or the tinny, fake brass on "Got To Get You Into My Life", they all but ruin the song. Perhaps it's not as noticeable when you're at the concert, enjoying the live music, but you definitely pine for the real thing when you hear a recording of the show.

Still, these really are minor niggles. For fans who don't own a Paul McCartney live album, it's essential. For huge Paul McCartney fans (completists), it's also essential. For those who already own a couple of Paul's live albums, it's far from something you must own - more like a "nice to have", but I can't see many people being disappointed with this particular purchase. As for me, I'll be there at the O2 on December 22nd - and this package has whetted my appetite nicely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His best ever Live DVD, 3 Jan 2010
By 
Andy O'Boogie (Widnes, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
Strange they didn't sell this as a DVD but packaged it in with the Live CD. Makes this package an absolute bargain at the moment. Anyway its his best yet. His previous live shows have all been a bit of a disappointment. Either due to too much editing or too much behind the scenes footage getting in the way of the great music. This is simply the concert, no messing about. They may have taken the best bits from a few concerts but you wouldn't know. He has a back catalogue that goes back 48 years. All original material penned by himself and his mate. His voice is a bit deeper but he still sounds like a Beatle when he does the Beatle songs. He still sounds fantastic, you wouldn't believe he is a pensioner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab............................but beware, Amazon lack of descriptions strikes again., 15 Dec 2009
By 
Alan Mitchell (Elderslie, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This set is every bit as good as the 5 previous reviews tell you, and then some.
I have been a Beatles fan and a Macca fan since My Bonnie.
I was there on the Saturday night at Citifield. I waited almost 50 years to see him and it was worth every penny, and more.
My caveat is that despite this fab set being issued with a DVD region code of 0, and being sold by Amazon EU, the DVD's are in NTSC format. Luckily my DVD player is convertible so I could watch the great man again tonight but I am so angry at Amazon for doing this and frutrated that I cannot find anywhere to complain to on the site.
Don't let this put you off, watch a man still at the top of his game, he is in his prime, and in better voice than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 14 Dec 2009
By 
S. W. Ladd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
This is the live Macca release I've been waiting for since 1976's 'Wings Over America'. A superb and comprehensive tracklisting on both the 2 CDs and DVD.

The quality of the picture and sound on the DVD is noteworthy. Stunning. A whole Macca concert without irrelevant scenes of American fans becoming overly 'emotional'.

In the patchy history of live double albums this ranks amongst the very, very best. Combined with the truly outstanding DVD of concert footage this is a package that few, if any, other artists will ever be able to match.

Simply the best from the very best and all at a price that seems unbelievably low. The bargain of this and every other year!

Buy it. Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last a great Paul McCartney concert on DVD., 3 Dec 2009
I've managed to watch quite a bit of this dvd and all i can say is WOW! I own all McCartney's other music dvd's and i hate watching them,mainly because of all the interuptions in between the songs.This time we get the whole concert without all the rubbish in between ruining it,a straight forward show at last.I'd have prefered a few more of Macca's solo work to be included as the set is a little Beatle's heavy(even though i love the beatles)i have a lot of the songs on previous releases.But it doesn't really matter this is a great music dvd to watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatles Songs Live will have to be remixed again!, 11 Dec 2009
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
Well my homemade two CD "Macca sings Beatles Songs Live" will have to be remixed again or even become a 3 CD mix (Record company please note this is the one big potential album idea / marketing opportunity you have not covered on the various Beatles releases!)

Although there are the usual old live favourites (Yesterday, Hey Jude, Sgt Pepper, John & George tributes etc)here the bonus / surprise is several new ones for the first time such as Day Tripper, Helter Skelter (bout time!), I'm Down, I've Got a Feeling and A Day In The Life / Give Peace A Chance Medley and all are very well performed. In fact quite a rocky edge to the Beatles song choices.

A good nod is also made to his recent return to superb songwriting form with his last 3 albums which I have called Macca's 3rd Golden Period (The first being obvious and the second from McCartney 1 through to Wings at The Speed of Sound).
In fact Highway from the recent "Fireman" album "Electric Arguments" transfers as brilliantly to live performance as I hoped it would and sounds perfectly at home in the Company of Get Back and Drive My Car etc. Sing The Changes equally does OK and Only Mama Knows another stonking rocker from "Memory Almost Full" also sounds great live. Pity no "Dance Till Were High" if I must have a moan as it is an awesome song and should have been a Christmas single!

Wings heyday "Band On The Run" album also gets a good representation with a great cover of MRS Vanbebilt for the first time (Ho Hey Ho!).

The album possibly has the hardest rock edge of the several Macca live albums not least because of the new Beatles songs chosen above and also the rock songs chosen from his recent albums.

What else can you say? - a great voice, good music live sound, great production and the songs are just that little bit magical! Here She Comes - She's Coming Down, Coming Down, Coming Down Fast, Fast. Fast - Yes She Is!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive latter-day live Macca, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
There are several Maccas (he's been around for several rock lifetimes, from the Beatle via the Rammer and the Winger to the amazing chameleon career of his later solo albums) but if you want to see the modern one, live in all his pomp, summing up the reasons why he is still by a very long way the greatest popular artist of his and several other ages, this is the dvd for you. The set list is terrific, ranging widely over his entire back-catalogue (of course, barely even scratching the surface even in 2 1/2 hours). Macca and his superb band are clearly having a great time. We all know that Macca's voice is not what it was, and here it may be aided with a dab of autotune, but it's not obtrusive and why shouldn't he use the techniques that here-today-gone-tomorrow performers 50 years his junior take for granted as part of their toolkit every day in sessions half as long and half as punishing? He has earned the right, and the result is great (although in Here Today he wisely opts to keep it raw - and raw it is, with his voice completely breaking down - at least partly, one suspects, simply due to laryngeal collapse! but partly due to emotion - and Macca gracefully invites us to accept the latter reason). There are plenty of Lennon-McCartney and McCartney-Lennon classics given terrific energy and managing to sound faithfully authentic yet simultaneously revitalised, highly polished but not to such a sheen that it's autopilot stuff. Sometimes old classics are done with thrilling energy - appreciate the guts of I've Got a Feeling and the matchless riff-power that propels Paperback Writer. And newer material sits well with the old, more than holding its head up in distinguished company (the version here of Sing the Changes knocks spots off the recording and is truly exhilarating and inspiring). The sound quality is perfect and personally I was quite happy with the video editing, although some people have criticised the rapidity of intercutting as being hyperactive. To my not-unjaded 61-yr-old eye, it seems fine. I have no problem with it at all.
In summary, a terrific package with everything on 2 CDs as well as the DVD and essential legacy material on the man George Martin called "the greatest hit-maker of them all"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sir Paul keeps it up, 27 Mar 2010
By 
Linder Arne (Uppsala, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] (Audio CD)
Paul McCartney has put together a generous package for the spectators at Citi Fields as well as for the recorded version. The set consists of a 33 song marathon, which is included on the DVD as well as the double CD. The core of the concert is formed by Paul's Beatle numbers, but they are spiced up with songs from the recent albums and from the Wings period in between. The fellow musicians Paul Wickens, Rusty Anderson, Abe Laboriel Jr and Brian Ray know how to reproduce the original hit sounds but also to add a little more rock flavor from time to time. So if you're into the nostalgia and like a few pleasant surprises, this one's for you. And last but not least, the sound is so good it has a studio feeling...has someone overdubbed a few parts in the post-production?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD]
Good Evening New York City [2CDs + DVD] by Paul McCartney (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews