Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality window film
This is a great product which does the job required of it. The important thing is to follow the instructions carefully *, use plenty of the soapy liquid, and you won't go wrong.

*Rather than having an overlap round the sides, I prefer to cut the film with scissors to a fraction less than the exact measurements of the glass. This gives a nice finish and saves...
Published 12 months ago by Dave

versus
37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The end of the goldfish bowl
The Silver Reflective Window Film is a little tricky to install. You need to be very methodical and have the hands of a surgeon. Once on the window it works well, that is, during daylight hours no one can see in.

The big disadvantage from my point of view is that it does reduce considerably the light entering the room and prevent my full appreciation of the...
Published on 21 Sep 2010 by Stuart Crawshaw


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The end of the goldfish bowl, 21 Sep 2010
This review is from: Silver Reflective Window Film (Solar Control & Privacy Tint - One Way Mirror / Mirrored Glass) (76cm x 2 metres)
The Silver Reflective Window Film is a little tricky to install. You need to be very methodical and have the hands of a surgeon. Once on the window it works well, that is, during daylight hours no one can see in.

The big disadvantage from my point of view is that it does reduce considerably the light entering the room and prevent my full appreciation of the trees and flowering shrubs in the garden below. It is a little like looking through a stretched net curtain. For some situations, such as an uninspiring outlook and too much sunlight entering the room, this aspect could be an advantage. I have decided not to put the film on the adjacent window.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Almost impossible !, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver Reflective Window Film (Solar Control & Privacy Tint - One Way Mirror / Mirrored Glass) (76cm x 2 metres)
I've used mirror film several times in the past, and always with good results.
Sadly, this product was the worst I've ever encountered.
Firstly - and very significantly, it did not come with any instructions.
However, as I said, I've done this job before and did have some idea of how to do it.
This film was really, really difficult to work with.
It was almost impossible to separate the two films (to expose the adhesive), and once separated, the foil was so flimsy that it just kept doubling on to itself and immediately sticking together, meaning that piece was no longer of use.
I have now tried until I've used all the roll, and unfortunately I don't have a single window mirrored. It's all gone into the bin.
An absolute waste of time and money - and the worst buy I've ever made on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality window film, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver Reflective Window Film (Solar Control & Privacy Tint - One Way Mirror / Mirrored Glass) (76cm x 2 metres)
This is a great product which does the job required of it. The important thing is to follow the instructions carefully *, use plenty of the soapy liquid, and you won't go wrong.

*Rather than having an overlap round the sides, I prefer to cut the film with scissors to a fraction less than the exact measurements of the glass. This gives a nice finish and saves having to trim the edges later with a stanley knife which can be tricky.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ON REFLECTION....., 19 Sep 2013
By 
LandlubberDave "Dave D." (Clacton on Sea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver Reflective Window Film (Solar Control & Privacy Tint - One Way Mirror / Mirrored Glass) (76cm x 2 metres)
Our conservatory, which the previous owners had installed, is a smallish 10ft X 8ft and faces due south, consequently it felt more like a greenhouse! A few years ago I replaced the plastic roof with an insulated boarded roof which has helped, but during the summer months we have the top windows permanently open allowing our wall mounted fan to expel much of the hot rising air, but in doing so I have noticed that the front windows being opened at an angle of 45 degrees or more, are also acting as magnifying glasses and intensifying the sun/heat that comes in. This is the reason that I have used this film, which does seem to be helping reduce it.

I had read the other reviews and agree with most of them. Its not a hard, but tricky job that you need to be in the mood for. I only had four small windows to do, but this can be more difficult getting tight corners clean and dust free. After reading the instructions which I thought were well explanatory I rightly or wrongly decided to remove the interior "black" rubber glazing strips that secure the d/g units by inserting the rounded end of a kitchen knife in to release the ends and simply pulling them out, this barely took a few minutes. I then found it really easy to clean the glass and make it dust free, I used some solvent soaked, lint free cloth and then window cleaner, as being in a hot conservatory there was trapped dust and dirt. As I had just the four windows, measuring approx 28ins X 15ins i decided to cut the film to the exact sizes before offering them up to the windows. In the instructions they tell you to use plenty of weak soapy water, which I did on the glass and adhering side of the film, then when it was roughly in position I sprayed the face side of the film to ensure that the squezee never damaged it. I then replaced the rubber glazing strips (no tool needed) which apart from making my job easier completely covers the edges of the newly installed film giving a neat professional finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One way privacy, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver Reflective Window Film (Solar Control & Privacy Tint - One Way Mirror / Mirrored Glass) (76cm x 2 metres)
Great film.
Really easy to apply and does exactly what's stated.
You can see outside but no one can see inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what a difference!, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver Reflective Window Film (Solar Control & Privacy Tint - One Way Mirror / Mirrored Glass) (76cm x 2 metres)
Living along a busy road with a very low garden wall, we had to keep the venetian blinds down all day. Having put this film on the windows has opened up the room to natural light and opened up the space. Unfortunately it becomes transparent when the room is brighter than the exterior, and this is often the case in winter.

However I do feel that the product is well work the expense and recommend it to anyone having the same privacy problem as we do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for!, 8 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver Reflective Window Film (Solar Control & Privacy Tint - One Way Mirror / Mirrored Glass) (76cm x 2 metres)
I purchased this (and other sizes) to make my conservatory usable. Although it is a bit of an art to put it up, once you get into the swing of it with lots of washing up water sprayed, an able assistant and a window squidgy used, it goes up really well. A word of warning.. once the backing is off, if you are using a large length, make sure that the sticky side does not stick to itself... it is impossible to get apart and will have to be chucked. I have now done every window and my conservatory is now a lovely temperature and I can use it again and it gives me a little more privacy as my neighbors can no longer see my washing drying on the airers! The conservatory is, however a little darker, but I really don't mind that at all, makes it more cosy. As far as I'm concerned this is money well spent... I have use of my conservatory in the hottest weather!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works just fine., 26 Sep 2011
By 
John Farrow "Sparrow" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silver Reflective Window Film (Solar Control & Privacy Tint - One Way Mirror / Mirrored Glass) (76cm x 2 metres)
Arrived on time so good service. Functions as it supposed to, so good quality. A bit fiddly to install, getting all the air bubbles out took some patience. But providing you follow the instruction properly, it's just time. Overall, very pleased. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No privacy, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver Reflective Window Film (Solar Control & Privacy Tint - One Way Mirror / Mirrored Glass) (76cm x 2 metres)
Does not stick to glass easily and a ll bubbles do not disappear. Not very private can still easily see through the window
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy If You Are Not All Thumbs, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Silver Reflective Window Film (Solar Control & Privacy Tint - One Way Mirror / Mirrored Glass) (76cm x 2 metres)
The product is easy to use and with good result, so long as you do not rush it and it is far much easier with a second person to help. Instructions are easy to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews