Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
3
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 February 2010
A nice record by street singer Grandpa Elliot (Elliot Small) from New Orleans, who also plays simple but effective harmonica. Elliot sounds like Ted Hawkins, another former street musician, with a rich warm voice and a similar repertoire of old soul, gospel and blues. He has good backing from a very competent band and everything rolls along nicely until we get to a live version of Buster Brown's blues "Fannie Mae" which I didn't think worked at all. My favourite tracks were the medley "This little light of mine" and his version of Little Milton's "We're going to make it".
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
An amazing voice that tough the soul. I've discovered him and others artists by listening at the playing for change youtube channel. Give it a look!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2011
I was expecting the style of music to be more in the vein of the "Playing for Change" videos on YouTube - more of a raw, bluesy feel. This album is quite "produced" with a sweet, full sound. It's not plain and simple blues, but it has a nice feel and is a good listen. I recommend it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
Grandpa Elliott has been singing for years on the streets of New Orleans but is now a major performer in the Playing for Change movement. He has become one of their star attractions with his melifluous tone and his brilliant harmonica playing. Seeing him performing is a large part of the attraction, he sings soul with a deep conviction. His album is good and makes very pleasant listening, but I think I prefer watching him performing live on the Playing for Change videos where his true depths and talent become more evident.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
I brought this for a friend but loved it myself what a great voice Grandpa has got I could not believe it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2015
What a lovely voice and a good choice of songs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
As advertised + swift dispatch - many thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
Impeccable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
alright
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)