Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely worth the wait!
I finally had mine delivered today after a 2 month pre-order wait direct from Nokia. I have to say this phone is like no other I have ever used (and I've had many phones from all manufacturers over the years). Firstly it is stunning to look at and the pictures do not do it justice. It is extremely well made, feels solid with all aspects of the hardware feeling very...
Published on 28 Nov 2009 by Andreas Iacovou

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nokia has lost it!
The N900 had a potential of being a great smartphone. However, its bulky size, lack of applications, and an OS which Nokia had abandoned has left this phone dead in the water. I had this phone for 7 months after which one day I did an update of the software to P.R 1.3 .After this the phone was normal for a short while, The screen went black and there was no display. Since...
Published on 13 Aug 2011 by ken


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely worth the wait!, 28 Nov 2009
By 
Andreas Iacovou (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nokia N900 Sim Free Mobile Computer with Maemo 5 Software (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I finally had mine delivered today after a 2 month pre-order wait direct from Nokia. I have to say this phone is like no other I have ever used (and I've had many phones from all manufacturers over the years). Firstly it is stunning to look at and the pictures do not do it justice. It is extremely well made, feels solid with all aspects of the hardware feeling very impressive. The keypad is one of the best I've used (miles better than any HTC attempt). Its reactive and intuitive and this coming from someone with big hands. Excellent camera also which is a bonus.

I haven't even got to the software yet, the new Maemo 5 operating system. All I can say is wow. It gives you an unprecedented amount of flexibility (even more than Windows Mobile) It also looks good and in my humble opinion finally we have a genuine advancement over the current iphone which seems to have been leading the way....until now.

I could go on for pages about this phone mainly with positives but would like to quickly address some of the negatives that have been touted around. Firstly the touch screen is very impressive whether you use your finger, nail or stylus. I find it just works as it should and do not feel there is any problem here. Secondly, battery life. I got a full day from the first charge, and that was with heavy usage while I customised it with all my info and with the WIFI on.

If I have to pick one negative it is that at the time of writing the app store 'Ovi' is not up and running. However bare in mind Nokia have delayed the launch date for bricks and mortar shops until 3 December so I expect it will be live by then.

In summary this is without doubt the smartest Smartphone now available with the 'key' feature in my opinion being the 'computer' like web browsing, which is about as close to a full browsing experience as I've come across. The potential for this phone and more importantly the OS, Maemo is high and I think Nokia may have finally found their way again after a few 'flops'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent pocket computer and phone, 10 Jan 2010
This review is from: Nokia N900 Sim Free Mobile Computer with Maemo 5 Software (Wireless Phone Accessory)
This Maemo powered Nokia N900 is excellent. The web browser is superb, a proper web browser that does flash, so you can watch youtube. The browser works well on the screen with gestures to zoom in, like double tap. The camera is cool, 5 megapixels and it geotags the location you took your photo using the builtin GPS. Video is good quality too, I've since download Qik and can send videos live to the web. Mediaplayer is good, very good quality watching films, the builtin in speakers are loud and it has TV out to watch on a larger screen. Neat thing is that it has a built in FM transmitter, so listening to music in the car is easy using FM, the N900 even makes your car radio say Nokia on the radio!

It is has an application manager to download more apps, with Ovi shop to follow soon. All applications can be run at the same time, with proper multitasking. Plus as it is a computer, it comes with the x-terminal, so you can do geeky stuff. And of course it is a phone so not only can your get connected over WiFi, you can use 3g and make phone calls. The contact manager groups contacts for phone calls, Skype calls, SMS, instant messages, with a conversations application to view all conversations by contact, making it easy to track conversations, or start new ones.

In all in all, I highly recommend this smart phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Open-source Nokia N900, 3 Jun 2010
This review is from: Nokia N900 Sim Free Mobile Computer with Maemo 5 Software (Wireless Phone Accessory)
The Nokia N900 smartphone runs Maemo 5 (Linux) operating system. Nokia have released a phone for the open-source community and which hasn't been locked down by either the service provider (T-mobile, Vodafone) or Nokia themselves. This is great news for developers as well as hackers who want to customise their phones as much as possible.

Out of the box, the phone is sim-unlocked and I could insert another sim card without needing to get it unlocked by the service provider or some corner-shop.
This is true of the contract models as well as the sim-free ones. There are tools available for easy flashing of the firmware, so you could change to a non-standard firmware and back again if you want.

Maemo Linux is very similar to desktop Debian or Ubuntu Linux. It uses the apt package tool for easy installing or removing of applications from repositories on the internet. You specify which repositories you wish to use, and then select the free applications you wish to install. Nokia's Ovi Store has more applications available (free and commercial ones) on top of that. I recently counted the applications available in the main repositories (standard, testing, devel) and the total exceeded 7500. Note that Linux software ports really easily to the N900 (It has a Qt based GUI running on an ARM processor).

Although not as intuitive as the iPhone, the Maemo interface on the N900 is still great. I really like it. It has one of the best resistive screens available. There is a tendency for smartphones (e.g. iPhone, HTC Desire) to use capacitive screens. Capacitive are excellent for light touching, skimming the surface, but are poor for high accuracy where resistive excel. The N900 performs very well when skimming with the fingers as well as very accurately when used with fingernail or stylus ("The best of both worlds"). This makes the N900 ideal for full web-browsing and for sketching pictures or notes.

The graphic interface has a number of sections. The main view allows you to select from a number of home screens, and place app short-cuts, notes, web-links, contacts on each home screen. Click on the corner and you bring up the application menu, and then scroll through the icons to select an app to run (very similar to iPhone or Android touch-screen smartphones). Click the corner again, and you get a group of running application boxes. Select a box to make that application run full screen, click the corner to come out of it and then select another running application.

The multi-tasking on the N900 is superb. Run a load of apps, and switch between them easily. Open address book, calendar, calculator, web browser, media player all at the same time and flick between them. One more point against the iPhone.

The web experience includes Flash. I have played a number of Flash games on websites, as well as browsing Youtube and even playing iPlayer (BBC) television from within the browser. You have a choice of multiple browsers to choose from. The default Maemo-browser, Firefox (including plugins), Chromium, Opera, and probably more by the time you read this. In comparison, the iPhone has been restricted by Apple so that it cannot play Flash in its browser.

The latest PR 1.2 Maemo firmware brings Skype video calling to the N900. It has a small VGA camera in the front of the phone and a larger 5 megapixel camera with dual LED flash in the rear. I've used Skype Video calling from my N900 to a friend's N900. Also Google Chat and Skype are integrated into the Phone Contacts so you can make Skype calls just as easily as a standard phone call. (At the point of calling you just select what type of call you are making.)

The N900 comes with 32Gb of flash memory built-in, for storing movies, music, documents, photos, and so on. It also has a micro-sd slot (which will take 16Gb micro-sdhc cards) to expand the capacious memory even further. I really like the built-in Media Player which does a great job of handling playback of multiple files types (including OGG and FLAC). The quality of audio through the 3.5mm standard stereo socket is very good too. The Media Player can stream internet radio, as well as streaming videos/music from Windows Media Player, MediaTomb media streaming server.

The N900 has many and varied features. I really appreciated the N900's TV-out capability when on holiday. I was able to plug it into the hotel's TV and play back movies in standard definition (no need to carry around a laptop or portable dvd player). Also it has FM radio receiver and transmitter built-in.
I prefer a real hardware keyboard, and that's another thing the N900 has. You can use the N900 with a full-size bluetooth keyboard (if you want). It will play to stereo bluetooth headphones quite happily too. I've even used a Sony PS3 six-axis console controller to play games on the N900 (Quake, Duke3D ports).

Nokia and Intel have joined forces to co-develop MeeGo (Linux) operating system from now and into the future. This will also be (mostly) open-source and eventually take over from Maemo. It is already possible to boot up the N900 to basic MeeGo version 1.0 via usb flasher program and a suitably formatted 2Gb micro-sd, without over-writing your current Maemo install. There isn't a lot of difference between Maemo and MeeGo so all the apps should translate between the two nicely.

I find the battery lasts very well, when the phone is mostly idle and connected to wifi rather than 3G. Mobile 3G data does drain it a bit, but you should still get a day out of it from standard use. Taking it off mobile data, and with light use it'll last 3 days-ish.

Browsing Google Maps with a PR1.2 Maemo N900, and its GPS turned on, makes geolocation data available to Google (if you want), which can be handy when you want to know where is the closest ATM, bar, petrol station in your vicinity.

The screen has a resolution of 800 x 480 pixels, which is more than twice as many pixels as the iPhone 3GS (480x320). This is excellent for reading documents, watching movies, viewing photos, reading text, and web-browsing.

For developers and hackers: Set up the N900 as a web-server with PHP support. Run Python and PyQT script-based GUI applications directly on the N900. The N900 is good as SSH client and SSH server (remote connect to it from your PC over Wifi). It runs fairly standard Linux (bash scripting, cron jobs, etc). Rsync your data to or from the N900. Build apps and then release to Maemo repositories or to Nokia OVI store without draconian app policing.

The N900 is a fantastic device and I'm really happy with it. There are issues to criticise but then every device has compromises.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant phone, 29 Dec 2011
By 
Damaskcat (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nokia N900 Sim Free Mobile Computer with Maemo 5 Software (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Nokia N900 is an iPhone killer - made 3 years too early yet it still beats it.
* 3G Mobile Phone & computer all in one
* Free VoIP to VoIP calls worldwide with or without video
* VoIP calls (sip) Free or cheap rate
* Web
* e-mail
* Office
* Camera
* Satnav
Two things let it down - the original battery is only rated at 1320mAh. It is possible to buy a 2430mAh battery which should give you 30-40% more life between charging. The second is - you need to be very careful when you buy a second hand refurbished N900 or one in a box that does not have its Nokia seal intact. You could find battery life runs out within 12 hours on stand-by from a full charge. There's a problem with the charging circuit and it cannot be replaced or fixed. I sent mine in to Nokia and was told it was uneconomic to repair and Nokia UK has very low stock left because the phone is no longer produced. I was very lucky to get a replacement as my old phone was still under warranty. Before buying ask the seller for its warranty status. A quick check on its IMEI number should tell you if it's covered.

I use my Nokia N900 as a VoIP (sip) phone to make free VoIP calls all over the world. This is the last Nokia phone that has this capability. It is great if friends live abroad as you can call them free using VoIP free if they are on the same VoIP provider as you with/without video. It's great to take on holiday - no large mobile phone bill months later due to roaming charges you don't even need to insert the sim for VoIP calls to be made or received. Use it at home for a free extra landline (STD) of your choice from various companies without landline charges every month.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good so far!, 18 Jan 2010
By 
J. M. Hill "Hilly" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nokia N900 Sim Free Mobile Computer with Maemo 5 Software (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Well i've just taken delivery of my n900 and although i'm still getting used to it, so far i'm impressed. Its slightly bulky but who cares! It looks smart and works like a dream and i live in the middle of nowhere! Fair enough its not got access to the quantity of applications that the apple "rival" has to offer but i'm sure nokia and OVI are going to improve this as soon as they can. The touch screen is the best i've ever had the opportunity to use and the operating system (maemo) is fast and sturdy with no problems from my point of view so far! The camera is good, the phone is good(when you get used to it). One of the few niggles i have with it is the lack of options network wise, Vodafone only in the uk. But i'm sure other networks will get their hands on it as soon as the exclusive contract runs out. It merges nicely with email and social networks (facebook, twitter etc)so all in all it seems a good all rounder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fast and impressive., 31 Dec 2009
By 
P. White (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nokia N900 Sim Free Mobile Computer with Maemo 5 Software (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Having finally obtained an N900 direct from NOKIA and having cancelled my 3 month old Amazon order (thanks guys, nice work) I have to report that I'm very impressed with the device.
Setup is easy and I had my GMail and NTLWorld email accounts running quite quickly just by using the automatic configuration application. The browser is stunning and very quick, it's easy to browse any site and even small links can be clicked on using a finger rather than the stylus so the resistive screen is really not an issue. I particularly like the way that SMTP servers can be set up as connection dependant, so I can use a different SMTP server depending on what data access point I've got (3G, WiFi routers etc) and the device automatically sends through the correct one. It also gets a data connection from whatever is available automatically so here in my friends house it's prioritising her WiFi and not the GSM connection. It was always a nuisance using my N95 to have to manually tell the phone what connection to use, the N900 just does it all for me, great!
The UI takes a few minutes to become intuitive (do read the manual) but really is very simple. The contacts are marvellous. Set up a contact and they populate throughout the relevant apps on the device. Include a mobile number and there's an automatic SMS button on the contact entry (etc).
The phone app works well and I've had no problems but be aware that the microphone mute button has a permanent red line through it. I was pressing it to remove the line and unmute the mic but that's not what happens. The mike mutes/unmutes but there's no graphical change so be warned. If you think your mic is not working then try pressing the unmute button!
The hard keyboard is really good and reviews claiming that there's not enough space above the top row of keys are incorrect in my opinion. I can type quite easily. It's possible to lock the number keys into number mode by pressing the blue fn key twice and that helps a lot.
The display resolution and general clarity is excellent and I can read all the text of the top half of the BBC News website on one page (for example).
Battery life is 'interesting' but not catastrophic. It's no worse than my N95 and there's a lot more going on.
It's a slightly chunky paperweight kinda thing too but that's exacerbated by having to hold it horizontally, it's really not that bad.
I've downloaded 'Bounce', a demo game that uses the accelerometer to control a rolling ball across a beautiful landscape. The stereo audio and graphical quality is amazing and this has the potential to be a good gaming device.
What really impressed me is the option for internet radio. 30 or so internet radio stations are pre-configured and sound really good. Now I can listen to the World Service anywhere I choose, Rock & Roll eh guys!
So, it's a fine device and I'm impressed. I've only had it a day so I'll be more impressed still when I've got thoroughly used to it and the firmware has been updated to improve the (already good) experience. Recommended despite NOKIA's release incompetence!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really smart smart phone., 7 May 2010
By 
T. Wainwright - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nokia N900 Sim Free Mobile Computer with Maemo 5 Software (Wireless Phone Accessory)
More like a small mobile computer than a phone.
Fast, with plenty of memory.
The development tools are also available, so unlike many other phones anyone can develop for the N900.
Surfing the Internet using the N900 is also excellent, far better than any other mobile I have used.
It also looks good.

It does have its downsides.
One is battery life. In areas with poor 3G connection having the phone repeatedly search for the network drains the battery considerably.
Disabling 3G and WiFi if not needed does help there.

The other is applications, currently there are not a lot of them. But with open development tools and a dedicated community of programmers that should change.

Also the screen while excellent absolutely requires a screen protector otherwise it is incredibly easy to scratch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best phone I have ever owned, 15 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nokia N900 Sim Free Mobile Computer with Maemo 5 Software (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Sadly my N900 died last year after an unexpected trip down the toilet. I 'upgraded' to a Sony Xperia s and I was so sad that I did. This phone is completely customisable. You can alter colours, fonts, carrier names (Mine was called 'Al's Own Network' - which used to draw confused looks from friends. It also very easy to change things like bootscreens, Etc. You can install a wide range of software from a community of real enthusiasts. It had the best Facebook integration ever. It plays music superbly. It has an FM transmitter so you can listen to your music tracks without a bluetooth stereo. It has great emulators and an attachment called Gamegripper (google it) which slides over the keyboard to play SNES, Megadrive, GBA games, etc, perfectly. The browser supported flash. Oh it can multi-task like crazy (10 apps easily).
It has a bold, utilitarian design, a kickstand for watching videos and the keyboard is absolutely superb!

A hackable, programmable, customisable, unique phone that is so different from every other phone out there. A piece of phone history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars never loved a device like this before, 15 Oct 2010
This review is from: Nokia N900 Sim Free Mobile Computer with Maemo 5 Software (Wireless Phone Accessory)
ok lets start, this is a Internet tablet with phone capabilities,I considered the I Phone and Android, but they cant do the following
1 multitask
2 n900 lets you view web pages that you see on a pc
3 Built in skype
4 All IM & text are all in one place so no need to switch applications
5 The best internet browser
6 Slide out keypad or touch screen keypad
7 32 gigs of onboard memory
and so much more and soon you will be able to switch to a new os if you want,yes it may be a brick but this device offers so much more, if your looking for apps galore then get the Iphone or android but this has to be the best purchase i have made. Plus all my mates who have the Iphone they are jealous of my GAWjus n900
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Phone, 20 July 2010
This review is from: Nokia N900 Sim Free Mobile Computer with Maemo 5 Software (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Got this phone just over two weeks ago, and absolutely loving it! Only two complaints: the comments on the battery are correct, it's not amazing, but it's got a day's charge in it so as long as you don't mind charging it every night then you should be fine. The other extremely minor complaint I have is the fact that the screen is an absolute fingerprint magnet, but that isn't a really big thing.

That aside, it is an amazing phone. Once you've enabled the extra and extra-devel repositories then there are loads of apps to install, and many more that you can install from the web. The 'conversations' app (pre-installed, one of Nokia's) is genius, and your contacts work nicely and integrate with the conversations app beautifully. Multi-tasking works like a dream. And, saving the best until last, the terminal. I still haven't got over how useful this is, especially now that I've installed emacs on it (I've never been a vi fan, I'm afraid...), and it has meant that I can really easily sort out little bugbears (mostly through a couple of 'ln -s' :P), change some config files, and access the parts of the phone that the 'file viewer' app doesn't dare tread ;)

All in all, the best phone I have ever used, worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews