Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile Improvements to a "mature" design
Firstly, most prospective purchasers should also consider other similar models such as the many versions of eTrex or the GPS60, because this is rather a "specialist" device. That one of its main features is that "it floats" is a clue that it's particularly intended for boating. This also explains the retention of a RS232 "COM" serial port, compatible with the NMEA...
Published on 30 May 2010 by AllyCat

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars basic gps
You can if you look carefully get this item substantially cheaper from a chandlery shed. Yes it is basic because people are going back to basics and working off of charts and maps, and using compasses. Why? Because through use people have discovered that te GPS signal is prone to getting distorted by large electrical fields and all those bells and whistles consumes...
Published on 14 July 2010 by B. Zabavnik


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile Improvements to a "mature" design, 30 May 2010
Firstly, most prospective purchasers should also consider other similar models such as the many versions of eTrex or the GPS60, because this is rather a "specialist" device. That one of its main features is that "it floats" is a clue that it's particularly intended for boating. This also explains the retention of a RS232 "COM" serial port, compatible with the NMEA interface used by marine devices.

The original GPS72 design is at least 7 years old and the user interface has hardly changed from my first GPS purchased more than 15 years ago. However, the high sensitivity receiver and addition of a USB connector are very worthwhile improvements in this new "H" model. Other positive features are the relatively large screen and the number of front-panel buttons (well-labelled and most backlit at night) giving a generally easy user-interface. It's "transreflective" monochrome screen remains clear in the brightest sunlight, with an adjustable white backlight at night.

For data entry, with most modern Garmins (like the GPS60) you "pick" characters from a two-dimensional tabular array using the joystick/pad. However, this model employs a continuous "ring" of alphanumeric characters and symbols, which I personally prefer. It does take longer to enter characters from the latter part of the alphabet, but number-only fields actually can be quicker and it's possible to enter characters purely by "counting" button-presses without my need to put on spectacles !

On the negative side, the memory size (for recording tracks) is very small for a modern device and the "support" from Garmin currently rather limited. The CD in the box carries only user manuals, there is no software like Mapsource, as (normally) included with the GPS60. You have to go to the Garmin website to download USB drivers and find/buy some software to manage the GPS data. Some areas of the website even deny the existence of the GPS72H, but generic USB drivers are available there and work well.

A fault that I've found is that the Trip Computer Odometer under-reads on slower walks. It's possible to find the true trip distance by "saving" the track and reading its properties, but this must be done immediately after a walk because this model doesn't have as much flexibility as the GPS60 in selecting sections of track. A (rather delayed) response from Garmin Support to "Update the firmware (to 2.30) and factory reset" may have improved the accuracy, but the odometer still appears less accurate than my previous handheld GPSs.

For me, this was the best choice of GPS because of the "plus" points above and particularly because I can connect it (via the serial interface) to my Pocket PCs running Memory-Map. This gives almost all the Desktop/Laptop features of M-M in a completely portable package, e.g. on holidays. But serial ports (and even PPCs themselves) are almost obsolete now; BlueTooth might be used with a Smartphone but a BT adapter and the proprietary Garmin cable will generally cost at least £50.

In rating the GPS72H I considered withholding two stars because of the limited memory, inaccurate trip odometer and unusually poor support from Garmin, but decided to dock just one star to compensate for the (IMHO) rather harsh rating of the other current review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used the 72 to sail twice solo around UK, 7 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. Roger Oliver (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have used the 72 as a backup to my fixed set on my Sadler 25 which I have sailed twice solo around the UK including west and east of Ireland, it has never let me down the softeware is easy to work through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal stopgap for yachting navigation, 21 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We bought this to take on a sailing holiday and it was ideal for providing an easy lat and long. Does not replace proper map reading and navigation skills but for just over £100 gave tremendous peace of mind. When I graduate to a permanant boat with a built in chart plotter then the 72H will make an ideal back up and will go in my emergency grab-bag. Easy to use, although entering way-points is fiddly. It does not come with a charger (which I think you can buy separately) and heavy on battery use, so make sure you have plenty of spares. Of note a friend had an entirley more user friendly experience with a chart plotter app on his iPad. Not sure an iPad floats though...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like having an old friend rejuvenated., 21 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My 20 year old Garmin died recently and this is a superb replacement at a reasonable cost. Better shape but probably not as "bomb-proof" as the old model. Easy to operate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars basic gps, 14 July 2010
By 
B. Zabavnik (down town shepherds bush beneath the BBC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
You can if you look carefully get this item substantially cheaper from a chandlery shed. Yes it is basic because people are going back to basics and working off of charts and maps, and using compasses. Why? Because through use people have discovered that te GPS signal is prone to getting distorted by large electrical fields and all those bells and whistles consumes batteries very fast. As most people will tell you this model is for sailors. So what could it do with? A world wide navigation buoyage list and the timings of high tide at places like Dover and Cherbourg for ten years or any other chart datum tide port, it already has sunrise and sunset. The next would be an upload of a tabulated list of waypoints from imray or admiralty electronic charts with the ability to download this list into a garmin 152 fixed gps or any other garmin plotter. At the moment nothing does these simple requirements but this beast could. Where Garmin fall down is inter operability and they do not make it easy for you to enter vast numbers of waypoints which iswhat you need on a coastal hop when you are dodging mud banks on the east coast or rocks off the channel islands.
So why only three stars? Because it could be so much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT SYSTEM AND FANTASTIC PRICE, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin 72H GPS Worldwide (Bundle) (Electronics)
FANTASTIC GPS WITH THE MARINE PACK AT THIS PRICE CANNOT BE BEATEN NO ONE ELSE CAME CLOSE TO THIS PRICE EVEN WITHOUT THE MARINE PACK. I BOUGHT THIS AS A BACK UP FOR MY GPS CHART PLOTTER BUT THIS IS NO MY PREFERENCE OVER THE PLOTTER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Garmin 72H., 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin 72H GPS Worldwide (Bundle) (Electronics)
I bought this for a relative who lives abroad and enjoys fishing. As far as I know, he likes it and has been using it regularly. He has not complained of anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 20 July 2013
By 
M. B. Perkin (norwich UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought to check speed on boat very easy to set up and excellent value for money recommend for inland waterways travel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Garmin 72H, 29 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Garmin 72H GPS Worldwide (Bundle) (Electronics)
Early days yet, I have been reading the instructions a few times and button pressing to see what it does, looks good, I will only know how good it is when I make a return trip up the Ribble in the dark without going out the deep water channel and missing all the sandbars. Ha Ha my mattes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good BUT.........., 29 April 2010
By 
S. Fellows "simonwf" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There's nothing wrong with all the functionality, it tells you where you are (Long/Lat) BUT what is the point of a USB connector slot if there is no easy way to connect to a PC and download/upload. You simply cannot enter multiple waypoints using the buttons on the device without spending literally hours using the big up/down button to get descriptions and co-ordinates.

I've looked at the Garmin support Website - I've called and emailed Garmin - all to no effect. There are NO drivers for this device on the Garmin Website. There is NO way of using POI from Garmin as it does not support this device - in spite of the website stating that it does. Going to the Garmin 72H software update site on Garmin states the 72H doesn't even exist!

Frankly this is just not good enough. I've now installed Garmin BaseCamp and setup several waypoints. But all this does is allow you to create a .GPX which has to be imported into the 72H BUT THERE IS NO WAY TO DO THIS! or if there is it is well hidden!

I would rate this experience a BIG FAT ZERO and, after a fantastic experience with my iPhone will put me of Garmin Products of a more sophisticated and expensive (several hundred if not thousands of dollars).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Garmin 72H GPS Worldwide (Bundle)
£147.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews