Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 June 2006
If you thought classic rock and brilliant musicianship died out in 1977, prepare to be spending a lot of cash! Having been introduced to the American progressive rock revival through Spock's Beard SNOW, I have been busy trawling through the Spock's Beard back catalogue - as well as exploring the elaborate family tree of Transatlantic, the Flower Kings and Neal Morse. Catching up with all I've been missing has burnt a hole in my pocket, but it's fantastic to see there are still bands out there that that rival the greats of the 70s. The Transatlantic albums stand out as the very best examples of modern prog. Mighty Mike Portnoy on drums is a major plus, of course - having someone rated world's best drummer for three consecutive years must do a lot for a band! If you can handle the themes, Morse's Christian work with Portnoy has continued the sheer inspiration and musical brilliance. I rather envy prospective fans who still have such an amazing journey of discovery ahead of them!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2005
This album is a great mixture of prog rock, AOB and foot tapping tunes. It has only 4 songs but the longer titles have many different parts. If you like Yes,ELP,Rush you will like this. An album you will be pleased to spend hours listening to
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2004
I,ve been waiting for Transatlantic for 30 years. I,m a big YES fan and was browsing in Amazon looking for some undiscovered YES music when i noticed a band called Transatlantic, which YES listeners were buying. So i bought this album and WOW i was back amongst Tales from Tobographic Oceans. Duel with the Devil blew my mind. 23 minutes of sheer brilliance. The next track, Suite Charlotte Pike is slightly dissapionting but only because it follows such a powerfull track. The title track is a real beauty. The words really are significant. But Stranger in your Soul is another track of 23 minutes which takes the opening track to even greater hights.
You cannot beat playing this album from start to finish in your car.Blasting it at high volume. A must for old YES lovers
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2016
Brilliant record! I missed the vinyl release first time around so I was delighted when I heard the news that it was being repressed once more. Love it from the first note to the last; it comes with a copy of the album on CD too. Highly recommended to fans of Genesis, Yes and Emerson Lake & & Palmer. Strangely, however, the lyrics for the title track are not included on the inner sleeve but that doesn't detract from what is an awesome listening experience. Get it before it sells out again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2004
I,ve been waiting for Transatlantic for 30 years. I,m a big YES fan and was browsing in Amazon looking for some undiscovered YES music when i noticed a band called Transatlantic, which YES listeners were buying. So i bought this album and WOW i was back amongst Tales from Tobographic Oceans. Duel with the Devil blew my mind. 23 minutes of sheer brilliance. The next track, Suite Charlotte Pike is slightly dissapionting but only because it follows such a powerfull track. The title track is a real beauty. The words really are significant. But Stranger in your Soul is another track of 23 minutes which takes the opening track to even greater hights.
You cannot beat playing this album from start to finish in your car.Blasting it at high volume. A must for old YES lovers
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2004
Recently bought this album and I haven't been able to take this album out of my CD player since.
Don't be put off by the long and seemingly few tracks. Each track is like a classical suite with various movements acting like individual songs, but that are intertwined with the preceding and succeeding song. Common musical themes surface from time to time that keep the track ultimately as one coherent whole.
Perhaps the Charlotte Pike suite with it's similarities to side 'B' from the Beatles Abbey Road LP is the most inspiring track. The harmonies are really great.
Special mention should also go to Roine Stolt's guitar playing on parts of Duel with the Devil. Sweetness to touch the heart. Playing from all concerned is excellent throughout and the overall impression is guys who enjoy what they play and love it.
I can only suggest you buy it and then you can see for yourself.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2012
Being a fan of both Marillion and Dream Theater, I came to this not knowing quite what to expect. I need not have worried. This is prog like it was back in the 70's - echoes of Genesis throughout, and a touch of the Beatles in there as well. This is quality considering that this is everyone's second job. The long track lengths shouldn't put you off, just wallow in the musicianship and imagine that punk rock and the X-Factor haven't happened.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2001
The music is fabulous, it has influence of such great artists like Gentle Giant,ELP,Kansas.Although their first release is great, there is some improvement from first one,the use of Sax,Choir,violin and more jazz influence.
Duel With Devil - great more then 25 minute epic art rock song with influence of Gentle Giant in the begining of the song , great Sax solo in the middle and female choir in the end of the track.
Suite Charlotte Pike is 15 minute song with more jazz.Great jaming session in the middle of song.
Bridges Across Forever is all Neal Morse song,featuring piano only .it's very soft and melancholic song with great lyrics.
Stranger In Your Soul - is most rocking track in this album. Superb.
it's amazing that classical art rock didn't go out of style, and we can see successfull attempt
to reveal the soul of seventies.In otherwords ,if you like progressive rock andlike Transatlantic first release, buy this CD.you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2002
I think the title of this review says it all, really. Great stuff, but nothing that quite touches the exalted heights of "SMPTe". Still fantastic, though. I defy anybody to listen to the last part of "Duel With the Devil" and not feel a chill travel up and down their spine....
Having said that, I'm not convinced the world needed "Suite Charlotte Pike". Too much Roine Stolt "Sergeant Pepper", or "Abbey Road" fixation for my taste. I like both albums, but this doesn't quite make it. Never mind, the best is yet to come, hence:
Neil Morse's title track: truly beautiful- brings a tear to my eye every time (ahhh...).
"Stranger in Your Soul" also does the business- and interestingly features a rare moment of Pete Trewavas lead vocals. Whether it's worth the wait is purely a matter of taste- YOU decide...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2009
Hugely entertaining old style prog from some of the masters of modern prog !

Tracks are gargantuumly long (some of the longest tracks in Prog-dom), but so well structured they fly along.

Sometimes it's a case of "spot the band" as there are so many styles on offer.

All in all a lot of fun and the miraculous thing is that this is really just a side project for all concerned.

New album out later this year, can't wait.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.15
£17.36
£10.92

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)