Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interactive and fun screensaver
This screensaver allows you to have your very own aquarium without the fuss. It may be a simple screensaver but it does so much more and allows you control over what it looks like. You can customise the number of fish in your aquarium which in a geeky way I found really fun! There's even a list of all the different types of fish so if you're a real fishy person then you...
Published on 12 Aug 2010 by josie82

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated and quite limited.
I used to LOVE this Aquarium type screensaver. Years ago. Indeed I was really pleased to get this because I love the aquarium look on my pc.... however... this software really gives very little more than the original did many years ago. The fish all look similar and the interface all looks a bit DOS-based rather than 21st century Vista or Windows 7.

The ONE...
Published on 8 Jun 2010 by uncle barbar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interactive and fun screensaver, 12 Aug 2010
By 
josie82 (Fife, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Marine Aquarium Deluxe 3.0 Screensaver (PC/MAC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This screensaver allows you to have your very own aquarium without the fuss. It may be a simple screensaver but it does so much more and allows you control over what it looks like. You can customise the number of fish in your aquarium which in a geeky way I found really fun! There's even a list of all the different types of fish so if you're a real fishy person then you can identify them. There's also a bit of blurb about each fish in your options menu and you can rate each fish which is a little weird but what the hey!

The aquarium comes with one standard piece of music but only for Windows (as far as I can see). With a Mac, you can choose either the bubble sounds or you can have your itunes playing either the entire playlist or songs of your choice. This is fine but it's a bit jarring when you've got a lovely, peaceful aquarium and then some pounding rock music comes on. I would have liked to be able to have the nice, soothing music as standard on both Mac and PC.

You can have a wee rock in the bottom of the tank which you can have as a clock or a picture. Again, you're able to customise with a picture of your own but as with the music, it's a bit bizarre to see pictures of your family on a rock in a fish tank.

Other changes you can make include lighting, bubbles and sounds.

You're asked, as with most software to register which gives you tech support, discounts and upgrades. It's not essential but it takes only a minute.

To install this you need Windows 7, Vista, XP or Mac OS X or later. You'll also need 1GB or RAM and 15MB of disk space (despite the user guide and box saying only 6MB).
I installed this on both my Mac and on my Windows machine at work and both were really simple to install. Having had a read through of the User Guide (which is neither long or overly boring!) it also looks pretty simple to uninstall although I haven't done so myself.

The pictures were excellent quality and the whole thing was nice and relaxing to see. The fish swim realistically too which is a bonus! Just make sure you're not desperate before you put the bubble sounds on though! All in all, I really liked this product - it's interesting to use, fun to look at and the graphics quality is really good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very realistic and soothing but nothing new in this release, 22 Jun 2010
By 
Ralph Bacon "Aresby" (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Marine Aquarium Deluxe 3.0 Screensaver (PC/MAC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I was looking forward to the most recent fish screen-saver and I am, without reservation, impressed with the quality and realism of the aquarium.

Even better is that multiple monitors are properly supported with seamless swimming from one to the other.

There are a huge number of fish and fish-like creatures to select (or have them randomly appear).

All-in-all a very good product, even if it doesn't appear to have introduced any new features in the last few years. For example, I would have like to have seen options to include items normally found in a *home* aquarium: water filter, a heater, plastic novelty treasure-chests that open with the air pump and so on.

However, this product concentrates on realism "in the wild", so to speak so I shall have to make to with that!

For newcomers to the world of aquarium screen savers, this is the best. For seasoned owners check that there is enough here compared to your existing product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun - overpackaged, 24 May 2010
By 
gerryg - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Marine Aquarium Deluxe 3.0 Screensaver (PC/MAC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a fun piece of software, producing very pretty aquarium simulations. It is far more effective than "minesweeper" as being a productivity killer...

I don't think it sets out to have any purpose beyond entertainment and it is entertaining. (But then, I didn't pay for it)

From a save the planet perspective (y'know: real fish and stuff) the single CD-ROM is packaged in an amazing quantity of material, which is a bit of a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are looking for a virtual aquarium, this one is the catfish's whiskers (sorry), 23 May 2010
By 
Peter Bennett "Pete" (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Marine Aquarium Deluxe 3.0 Screensaver (PC/MAC) (CD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It has been a long time since I have had virtual fish as a screensaver (almost two decades by my reckoning) so I was keen to see what was the state of the art in modern times.

The Marine Aquarium program comes in a DVD sized cardboard box which contains further plastic and cardboard bracing but in the end just a single DVD in a paper sleeve with the product key printed on it which seemed like quite an excessive amount of packaging, especially once you factor in the additional sleeve which Amazon add to ship it in - perhaps fair enough if it needs to stand out on a shelf in a physical store but surely could be reduced to just a robust cardboard sleeve big enough to carry the DVD such as companies like lovefilm use.

There is no printed manual or instructions, but inserting the DVD into my modern Windows 7 laptop and clicking on the default "run setup" option led me to a smooth and fast installation process.

Following installation you need to be aware of the fact that the program does not automatically run. Nor will you find it as an application in your start menu. Rather, it appears in the screen saver control panel applet (on Windows 7 click on the Windows icon button, type "screen saver" in the search box and chose "Change Screen Saver") as an entry in the drop-down screen saver selection box.

Now you have the ability to "preview" the aquarium or to set up your "settings..." with the appropriate options.

The virtual aquarium is truly *stunning* with a gorgeous background of gravel, coral and a large clam gently opening and shutting in front of which swim a variety of amazingly rendered exotic fish. If you have accelerated 3D graphics (which is almost certain in any vaguely modern PC) then the program automatically detects and uses this - displaying itself at 64bit 1920x1200 resolution on my 17 inch screen flawlessly. Even the dappled light which plays across the scene is gorgeous and, with the very realistic water effects, you can almost believe you are looking at a real aquarium. I was not able to turn off the accelerated graphics so I can not comment on how well things are rendered in this scenario. The video of the product on this page gives an accurate preview of what you get in the product although not how good it looks on a full screen.

The settings screen itself is far less beautiful - rendered with a non-standard set of widgets which would not have looked out of place in the products from those two decades ago but it does the job, allowing you to select which fish you would like to include in your aquarium and various other settings such as turning off the (rather tinny) default background music or replacing the company's logo on a rock with an analogue clock or your own choice of image. In addition here is where you will find the option that means moving the mouse wakes the computer back up (otherwise you need to realise you press the "esc" key to do so).

So, in terms of its primary function this is pretty flawless, but here are a couple of thoughts to consider:

- Amazon rules do not allow me to specify the cost of items so you need to judge for yourself if this is a price you would pay for virtual fish, if is then you won't regret your purchase
- of course, this is not a "screen saver" in the original sense of a program which stops image burn-in on a CRT screen as large amounts of the screen are a constant bright blue which would have fried my Iiyama monitor from the 90's in days. This is not a big issue with a modern LCD screen but bear in mind that it does use 10-20% of my CPU to render those lovely fish so you may want to change your "power options" so that the screen actually blanks itself after a suitable period of time to save these cycles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Has One Flaw, 11 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marine Aquarium Deluxe 3.0 Screensaver (PC/MAC) (CD-ROM)
The light rippling over the rocks and fish is just a little to frenetic for me, plus the fish are swimming a tad too fast as well, it should be a restful peaceful experience looking at the aquarium, this is not realy the case as it is now for me, there are controls for everything else, why not for those? Wonderfully lifelike though. I have a Windows 7 64 bit system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Animated Desktop, 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marine Aquarium Deluxe 3.0 Screensaver (PC/MAC) (CD-ROM)
I was very pleased with this aquarium desktop because it is beautifully designed. The background is a mixture of fixed and moving corals and there are a large range of tropical fish to choose from. There are some settings to play with including a range of coloured lighting and the sound effect of bubbles streaming but this sound can be turned off. If the star fish moved it would be a bonus, and I believe Serene Screens are working on this, along with an 'eel' for the little 'cave'.
Unlike other desktop wallpaper I never get bored looking at it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to relax,and gather your thoughts, 3 Oct 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marine Aquarium Deluxe 3.0 Screensaver (PC/MAC) (CD-ROM)
Item well worth the money.If you are looking for something to help you escape from the many problems we all experience during a typical stressful day,five minutes spent watching this marine aquarium would certainly help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for any computer user, 15 July 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marine Aquarium Deluxe 3.0 Screensaver (PC/MAC) (CD-ROM)
This is fantastic. Choose your fish and sit back and relax. Just like a proper fish tank but with no feeding or cleaning required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 19 Jun 2011
By 
Mrs. S. J. Tidy (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Marine Aquarium Deluxe 3.0 Screensaver (PC/MAC) (CD-ROM)
This is lovely to watch with all the different fish. It is so realistic. There's no cleaning out the tank, no feeding and no having to buy more fish and definitely no fish diseases. It's great and fun to watch. Keeps my grandson entertained anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb fish, 25 Mar 2011
This review is from: Marine Aquarium Deluxe 3.0 Screensaver (PC/MAC) (CD-ROM)
Worked well up to now on my Windows 7 64 bit laptop. Fish very realistic and relaxing. Good delivery - happy customer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Marine Aquarium Deluxe 3.0 Screensaver (PC/MAC)
Marine Aquarium Deluxe 3.0 Screensaver (PC/MAC) by Avanquest Software (Mac OS X, Windows 7 / 8 / Vista / XP)
20.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews