Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Avenging Angelo
Sylvester Stallone, Madeleine Stowe, Anthony Quinn, Raoul Bova, Lori Anne Alter, Billy Gardell
After his last film "D-Tox" died a very quick death at the box office, you'd think it would be a while before we'd see Sylvester Stallone again. Instead, he's starring in comedy clunker "Avenging Angelo", a significantly better film than the aforementioned action dud he...
Published on 5 July 2005 by thomassturgess

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A patchy but likeable action comedy
A little heavy on the 'wiseguys aren't so bad' message, Avenging Angelo is about Stallone's bodyguard trying to protect a mobster's daughter after the senior Capo father she never knew she had is killed in a hit.
Played as a neurotic with a bad husband and an upper-class schedule by Madeleine Stowe, she's a funny and sparky role, and the chemistry with Stallone is...
Published on 18 Nov. 2012 by Benminx


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A patchy but likeable action comedy, 18 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Avenging Angelo [DVD] (DVD)
A little heavy on the 'wiseguys aren't so bad' message, Avenging Angelo is about Stallone's bodyguard trying to protect a mobster's daughter after the senior Capo father she never knew she had is killed in a hit.
Played as a neurotic with a bad husband and an upper-class schedule by Madeleine Stowe, she's a funny and sparky role, and the chemistry with Stallone is sweet-natured, making for a film that's 50% saccharine love story, 30% comedy, 20% action and violence. The comedy and violence can be of slightly questionable taste (unlike Mr & Mrs Smith, this doesn't quite get the tone right), but it's lightweight fun throughout. The plot is nonsensical at all times, and two key killings are downright ludicrous. Also the climax relies on far too much absurdity and pure coincidence to even try to hang together, but by the end of the film you're left with a sweet taste in the mouth. It's rather like the pick n' mix at the cinema. It's fun, nutritionally empty calories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An unexpected comedy..., 24 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Avenging Angelo [DVD] (DVD)
This was an unexpected surprise - in a good way! Contrary to expectations of a gung-ho extravaganza, Sly and Stowe both give understated comedic performances to ensure quite a few laugh-out-loud moments! This would have gotten 4 stars if the script was better, but regardless, definitely a movie to add to the Sly-as-comedian side of the shelf. Makes you want to see him and Stowe in another (better scripted) comedy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars multi-themed film, 1 Oct. 2003
By 
mr je moore (halifax, west yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avenging Angelo [DVD] (DVD)
sly returns in a film which has it all,drama,action and comedy,with anthony quinn making an early appearance in the film.when the leader of a italian gang is gunned down sly has to go look after his daughter to prevent the same happening to her,with the added spice that he cant fall in love with her,the film is not like the rockys or rambos in anyway and it could be said that mid way through the film loses track slightly,however if your like me who loves anything by sly then this is well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Avenging Angelo, 5 July 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avenging Angelo [DVD] (DVD)
Sylvester Stallone, Madeleine Stowe, Anthony Quinn, Raoul Bova, Lori Anne Alter, Billy Gardell
After his last film "D-Tox" died a very quick death at the box office, you'd think it would be a while before we'd see Sylvester Stallone again. Instead, he's starring in comedy clunker "Avenging Angelo", a significantly better film than the aforementioned action dud he starred in earlier this year - but ultimately another waste of the green stuff, and even further proof that Stallone's career needs a definite revamp.
Stallone stars as Frankie Delano, right-hand man of mob boss Angelo Allighieri (Anthony Quinn). Unable to save his boss from being whacked by an old foe, Frankie flees to the home of Angelo's daughter, Jennifer (Madeleine Stowe), who he believed will be next. Problem is, she has no idea the late mobster was actually her father, having been adopted out at an early age.
Promising Angelo he would protect and keep his only daughter safe, Jennifer reluctantly agrees to Frankie's safeguard - but it isn't until a foiled hit in a department store that she starts to take her newly discovered heritage seriously. Now she's determined the only way she'll stay alive is to play her enemies at their own game - even if it means 'whacking' them first.
Sort of a middling clone of "The Bodyguard", "Avenging Angelo" blends drama, action, comedy, slapstick and romance, even if less successfully than the aforesaid. You see, Instead of sticking to its roots as an effervescent comedy, the film uneasily morphs into a love story, and then into your emblematic Sly action number. Had screenwriter Will Aldis stuck to his guns and decided on what he actually wanted to accomplish through "Avenging Angelo" we might have had a better-rounded picture.
As Frankie, Stallone is quite tolerable. It's actually good to see him kicking back for a change, playing a different type of character. And while his romantic scenes with Stowe lack palpable chemistry, it's an interesting move by the filmmakers to have them couple up. As Angelo, Anthony Quinn is in his element, and thankfully his moments in the film are quite memorable. It's a shame that his final film had to be something so middling.
The few good moments the film has, the interesting music used in the film, and a more engaging Stallone make "Avenging Angelo" better fare than Sly has served up for a while. But that's only like comparing "Rhinestone" to "Stop or My Mom Will Shoot" - so he's obviously going a long way to go before his fan-base kicks in again. Hopefully, someone will look at this film, realize that Stallone has the potential to headline a better movie again...and next time I'll be reviewing a film of his that isn't just 'endurable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sylvester and Madelaine what a combination!, 11 Aug. 2003
By 
Leanne King (Brisbane, Queensland Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Avenging Angelo [DVD] (DVD)
Thoroughly enjoyed this film. Nice to see Sylvester playing a less gungho character than usual and not packing "a piece" for a change. Madelaine Stowe was incredibly entertaining in her role turning what could have been a very annoying character into one that you can empathise with. The laughs will hit you out of blue and watch out for the truly side splitting moment when Sylvester and Madelaine finally meet.
All in all, I'd recommend this to anyone, even those who say they can't stand Sylvester and have never forgiven him for Rambo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No good dispite 2 phone calls to amazon I could not ..., 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No good dispite 2 phone calls to amazon I could not watch it they seemed to fob me off. Did not help with the error. Waste of money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars avenging angelo, 10 Feb. 2011
By 
aj Leonard (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avenging Angelo [DVD] (DVD)
avenging angelo, not a great movie and i am a huge stallone fan, that's why it's got 2 stars instead of 1. first off it begins ok, stallone is a bodyguard who fails to protect angelo's ( the late anthony quinn) life, feeling awful about this he swears to protect the life of his daughter ( madeline stowe), which gives a few funny scenes but after a while just feels really silly. this movie doesn't really know how to take itself, it tries to be a romantic action comedy but fails on all of the above, and the dream scenes when madeline is hugging stallone is what just ruined it even more, in my opinion this is sylvester stallone's worst film, the title is avenging angelo but this is no revenge flick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avenging Angelo [DVD] (DVD)
Great. Quick delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'd recommend this film to all Sly fans!, 11 May 2010
By 
S. Harris - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Avenging Angelo [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed watching this movie. Im a 13 year old girl, i thought it was great! It's got a great storyline to it, i think the leading actors make a very good job in this film. Its a perefect formula for a film it has a bit of comedy, action and romance. I'd buy this film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Missed This one, 20 May 2013
By 
M. Crow "signed4uautographs" (Lincoln UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Avenging Angelo [DVD] (DVD)
A not so well known Sly movie.
It is worth a watch so give it a whirl.
Cannot be bad for tis price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Avenging Angelo [DVD]
Avenging Angelo [DVD] by Martyn Burke (DVD)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews