Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb MP gaming enhancement
If you are more than an occasional multiplayer gamer, you need a headset. Why? Because you then have the edge over opponents who do not have a headset! Imagine not only hearing the approach of an enemy but being able to tell from which direction they are coming. Where are the shots in game coming from? Zero in on snipers more easily! Plus, if you wish to communicate...
Published on 23 April 2010 by Mr. David Spinks

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Manufacturing fault means right cup stops working soon after use
I've RMA'd two of these now. In both cases the right cup fails about 6 months after use. The cabling shows no obvious signs of wear. A brief search shows others have experienced the same issue.

The sound quality is good, and the overhead bracket/cup joints are study. This is all moot given that it stops working after limited use.
Published 19 months ago by blue


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb MP gaming enhancement, 23 April 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries Siberia V2 Full Size USB Headset - Black (PC) (Personal Computers)
If you are more than an occasional multiplayer gamer, you need a headset. Why? Because you then have the edge over opponents who do not have a headset! Imagine not only hearing the approach of an enemy but being able to tell from which direction they are coming. Where are the shots in game coming from? Zero in on snipers more easily! Plus, if you wish to communicate with other players in-game, how much easier is it to speak than to type?! Essential for team games, too.

So, how does the Steelseries Siberia V2 headset with USB soundcard measure up? Packaging is robust but leaves the product accessible - you won't be wrestling with sealed plastic bubbles that cut your fingers - open the box, undo the cable ties and you are in business. There are two things you won't find in the box: instructions and a driver for the soundcard. The first is a minus - surely a leaflet could have been inserted, saving much experimentation to get the headset working optimally (but read on and you should bypass any headaches). A sound driver for your particular operating system has to be downloaded from the Steelseries website (so best check the OS is supported before you purchase). Installation of the driver (before plugging anything in) was problem-free and, when connected, the soundcard was recognised and installed under Windows 7 32-bit Home Premium without any problems.

Now came the "interesting" bit. The soundcard has four buttons on it, labelled MUTE, MIC, + and -. Plus and minus are pretty self-explanatory, providing an element of volume control. MUTE mutes the headphones. MIC MUTES the microphone! The LED on the MIC button should be OFF when the mic is live and illuminated when it is muted. When the soundcard is in use, you'll see the green LED on the MUTE button flashing. Don't press it unless you wish to turn your phones off.

The headset is equipped with a very stylish and adaptable extending microphone that pulls out of the left speaker. It's made from a coil of steel and coated in plastic so you can position it exactly as you want. The headset sits comfortably over the head (wide skulls don't appear to be a problem) and one can play for several hours without suffering discomfort. The weight is distributed very well using a leather strap that goes over your head. The phones are well padded and block out external distractions without one having to turn up the volume excessively. The volume control is sited on the cable that runs from the left speaker and is a simple dial. The supplied extension cable is a must for most users, I'd say. It tends to tangle over time but any long cable does with use. Sound quality is excellent both in games and when listening to music. The microphone required some fine tuning. Output was too weak and it was necessary to both turn the volume up within Windows audio settings and enable microphone boost to achieve an acceptable output level. Once done, the problem was solved and I have not had to tinker with anything since (though this is a Windows issue rather than a hardware issue, one would expect a manufacturer to include some form of troubleshooting guide with their product which was not the case with this soundcard. Similarly I could find no useful information on the Steelseries website to help me through this. I have let them know my feelings on the subject so, by the time you read this, this documentation deficiency might have been looked after.)

At a penny under eighty quid, you may think this a little expensive. In this case, you do get what you pay for. Steelseries products are in use by pro gamers and one can see why. Build quality is excellent, comfort is excellent and, most importantly, audio is excellent. After a couple of hundred hours of play with these beauties installed, I couldn't do without them.

If you don't expect true plug-and-play straight out of the box, I'd recommend this product. If Steelseries fixed the instructions/help deficit, it'd be worthy of five stars indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Manufacturing fault means right cup stops working soon after use, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries Siberia V2 Full Size USB Headset - Black (PC) (Personal Computers)
I've RMA'd two of these now. In both cases the right cup fails about 6 months after use. The cabling shows no obvious signs of wear. A brief search shows others have experienced the same issue.

The sound quality is good, and the overhead bracket/cup joints are study. This is all moot given that it stops working after limited use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best headset on the market., 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries Siberia V2 Full Size USB Headset - Black (PC) (Personal Computers)
According to Amazon, I purchased these on the 23 April 2012. And they're still going strong. over 2 years later.
Sound quality is as good as it was on the day of purchase (that I can tell) mic quality is surprisingly good for the little diddy mic that pops out. and best of all. maximum comfort. At uni I used to sit on my ass n play dota2 all day. I mean 8 hour sessions. And very very very rarely did i think. "ah man, getting a bit uncomfortable now".

Great for gaming, great for music, great for comfort. 10/10 will buy again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy SteelSeries, 18 Jun 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SteelSeries Siberia V2 Full Size USB Headset - Black (PC) (Personal Computers)
I bought this headset about a year ago, everything worked fine for a few months, the build seemed good, if a little tight and then one day one of the cups just decided not to work. After searching fruitlessly for SteelSeries returns address in the United Kingdom, I e-mailed their support. Someone picked up the ticket and referred me to someone else; who referred me to someone else; who referred me to someone else. By the third person I still didn't have the address I'm meant to send them back under the warranty agreement so I complained that I was being passed from pillar to post without receiving the simple information I needed. Four days later, I still don't have a reply so I log on to SteelSeries website only to find my account has been suspended due to my issuing a complaint. Now I have to pursue this through the courts. So save yourselves a lot of trouble and do not buy from this company. Their customer service is the single worst I've ever experienced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as expected, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries Siberia V2 Full Size USB Headset - Black (PC) (Personal Computers)
This headset (Steelseries siberia V2) was not quite what I was expecting. The wire it comes with is too easy to damage and this can effect the headset itself (one side wasn't giving volume properly)

Also the middle volume controller is quite frankly awful - it's really hard to press down on some of the buttons and, due to the wiring design again, it can have many problems with sound.

However, it was incredibly comfortable to hear, quite possibly the most comfortable headset I've ever worn. Sadly this is my least of priorities when ordering a headset. 2/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only lasts a few months., 15 Jun 2012
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SteelSeries Siberia V2 Full Size USB Headset - Black (PC) (Personal Computers)
When I first got the product it was amazing, and in great condition, a few months passed and things started to go wrong, firstly, you cannot connect it directly to the headphones port, only through the usb adapter, however the wire which connects the adapter to the usb port is faulty and it doesnt connect properly all of a sudden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Buy At your own risk!!, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries Siberia V2 Full Size USB Headset - Black (PC) (Personal Computers)
I have bought this headset three years ago, and got my first replacement about a year after due to one of the sides stopping to work( with the first one i didnt threat it well so it might of been my cause), once i got the second headset ( steel series had no problem replacing it), this time i took care of the headset never had it been droped or cables pulled, but a about a year later almost same time as the first headset one of the sides died agian, so i got another replacement from steelseries(because its 3 year warranty) and i took even more care with this one by celetaping the cord to my desk(because i thought that it was the cord that kept causing the problem). BUT agian this time less then a year my right side headphone dies, this time i thought im gona check if its the cord if it were i would just replace it, so i opened up the headphones and checked the cord and everythings fine, but once i checked the right side speaker it was dead, so not the chords fault and also with these headphones the mic was terrible and it stoped working aswell. So if you are willing to go trought the hastle of constant replacement and not having the headset for weeks and its build quality isnt great, its confortable and soundquality pretty good but otherwise i would look at a diffrent headset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars First check who is selling this item, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries Siberia V2 Full Size USB Headset - Black (PC) (Personal Computers)
The item is OK, however after a few months it became faulty, Modern-Tech who sold the headset refused to repair it and said repair it too expensive. Then they started sending emails that they do not stock this item and they went as far as saying the manufacturer does not make this item anymore.

I telephoned Amazon for help and they refused to give me the address of the company under the pretext of Data Protection,! where the company is publicly registered and therefore I found the registered address via company house. Amazon was really unhelpful as instead of investigating the matter the operator on the phone was reading the small prints to me.

Modern=Tech then said they were going to deduct 10 months of depreciation from the refund and they said the life-cycle of this is two years so they have to deduct £33! I contacted US manufacturer and they confirmed the life cycle is 7 years.

How dishonest one can get?

The fault is an inherent manufacturing fault as the right cup failed after 10 months. If you see other reviews this is clearly evident. but whatever happens my advice is to avoid this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SteelSeries Siberia V2 Full Size USB Headset - Black (PC), 9 Jun 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries Siberia V2 Full Size USB Headset - Black (PC) (Personal Computers)
Before buying these headsets I had known the Steelseries headsets were just awesome sound quality for gaming and immense for music as i already own a pair of non USB ones, I was skeptical about the whole USB thing i didnt particularly know what it entailed but.... having tried it I can FULLY recommend it. All the forum posts about "if youve got a recent computer, you dont need a USB soundcard as additional" were wrong! I have a £1000 1 month old computer which yes i didnt pay anything extra for dedicated sound hardware but the sound quality offered up by the USB soundcard is far superior. I have also noticed that any slight (very slight) static noise which occurs normally in a 3.5mm jack is GONE completely. I have been listening to the highest bass songs all morning trying to test them to the max cant find a point where the sound quality distorts or reduces. I am officially a convert to the USB Headset. The only downside and it is minor considering the upsides is that the USB section adds 1M to the already nicely long cable which, can be shortened by removing the extender section so no biggie! The 1M cable between the computer and the Soundcard is a universal USB to mini USB which handily I had a 5" cable from my camera hanging around, EASY!!
SteelSeries Siberia V2 Full Size USB Headset - Black (PC)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Nice but...., 10 Feb 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SteelSeries Siberia V2 Full Size USB Headset - Black (PC) (Personal Computers)
It talks about having a sound card included, which it does but the cable connecting the soundcard to the PC is wrong. I believe it gives you a micro USB which does not fit with sound card connector which is an ordinary USB port. As long as you have a spare USB cable lying around, buy this headset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SteelSeries Siberia V2 Full Size USB Headset - Black (PC)
SteelSeries Siberia V2 Full Size USB Headset - Black (PC) by Steel Series (Windows 2000 / Vista / XP)
£79.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews