Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars b.harrop
A good power unit for the price with dual 12v rails gives a steady output ,i would buy this make again 5 stars.
Published on 30 Mar 2010 by teamans

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better
I've had this install ed in my custom PC for almost 12 months, however in the last few weeks the fan has started to go erratic and noisy, more so when ambient temperature is lower.

Will have to replace before it fails. Will not be buying this model again.
Published 9 months ago by ex15


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars b.harrop, 30 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: CiT 480W Power Supply Unit with PSU and Dual 12V Rails - Black Edition (Electronics)
A good power unit for the price with dual 12v rails gives a steady output ,i would buy this make again 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not that quiet and build quality not the greatest, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CiT 480W Power Supply Unit with PSU and Dual 12V Rails - Black Edition (Electronics)
I bought this PSU on the strength of the previous reviews but i am not overly impressed with the PSU.
For starters the fan is quite clearly heard and not as quiet as i had hoped.
The power connectors for hard drives etc are not well made.
For the price it is a decent PSU with plenty of power requirements for all that you would want to put in a pc.
It has some idiot proof documentation letting you know what cables go where which is handy for a novice.
For the money it's a good buy but be prepared that it is not as quiet as some make out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 22 Mar 2014
This review is from: CiT 480W Power Supply Unit with PSU and Dual 12V Rails - Black Edition (Electronics)
I've had this install ed in my custom PC for almost 12 months, however in the last few weeks the fan has started to go erratic and noisy, more so when ambient temperature is lower.

Will have to replace before it fails. Will not be buying this model again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars PSU exploded after 9 months, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CiT 480W Power Supply Unit with PSU and Dual 12V Rails - Black Edition (Electronics)
This PSU has been running in my computer since October last year without any problems. Until tonight. That's when it went out with a massive bang, sparks flying all over the place, smoke, the stench of molten plastic and all the lights went off. Great for bonfire night and new year's eve, but I would not recommend powering your PC with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good PSU for the price, 19 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CiT 480W Power Supply Unit with PSU and Dual 12V Rails - Black Edition (Electronics)
This is powering a sandybridge i3 2120 system and has been faultless so far, so really pleased. Not had a gpu installed so very little power draw, suspect it would struggle with a mid-range card, hence dropped 1 star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Unit, 26 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CiT 480W Power Supply Unit with PSU and Dual 12V Rails - Black Edition (Electronics)
Good Unit, not to loud and good for the money. Yes you do need your own screws to fit it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Noisy., 5 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CiT 480W Power Supply Unit with PSU and Dual 12V Rails - Black Edition (Electronics)
Nice PSU, build quality looks OK, installation was a brezze and I've been running this PSU now for several months wihtout any problems...BUT...it's just too noisy. I think I'm gonna spend that extra bit more for a more silent PSU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheapish but working PSU, 19 Sep 2012
By 
Crumpy (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CiT 480W Power Supply Unit with PSU and Dual 12V Rails - Black Edition (Electronics)
I have used 2 of these now (3 if you include the 650w version i have in my main system) and all have worked flawlessly. You get all the connectors you will probably need for a budget/mid-range build or to replace a faulty PSU.
It comes well boxed with a power lead with a UK mains plug and some instructions. No screws are included but I had plenty lying about and wasn't expecting them with this item anyway.
It isn't one of those really lightweight PSUs, it has some weight to it. I've put one in a full-tower ATX case with bottom mount for the PSU and the other in a M-ATX case with the mounting at the top. Both seem totally fine. Although in the full-tower case the 4pin motherboard power cable was only just and so long enough to reach the socket near the top of the motherboard.

It seems there are mixed reviews for this product. If you receive a faulty item just send it back. All my returns have been quibble-free with Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quiet..so quiet.. :-), 11 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CiT 480W Power Supply Unit with PSU and Dual 12V Rails - Black Edition (Electronics)
Needed a quiet power supply to replace the standard one that came in a ZooStorm PC and sounded like a Jumbo Jet preparing for take off. After reading many reviews I thought this would be the economical option to go for and I have not been disappointed. Can't hear the fan at all now - the only thing I can hear is the hard drive cranking away - so I am very happy. Also comes with plenty of connectors which will allow for future expansion. From my perspective a great product and purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Looked nice, but ...., 29 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CiT 480W Power Supply Unit with PSU and Dual 12V Rails - Black Edition (Electronics)
This item looked very nice; plenty of leads of good length and simple fitting instructions. Unfortunately it made no difference to my failed computer. Fearing the worst, I took the machine to my local repairer. His first thought, as it was a new PSU, was a problem with the motherboard but to make sure he used a PSU of his own and voila!. My power supply had arrived faulty. Bought a power supply from him, (works fine and cheaper) and returned the PSU for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews