Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of 2009
Other reviews have been quite thorough so no need to waffle. A really wonderful album, this. Vocal melodies are sweet and harmonies are spot on. Instrumentation is faultless and the album is simultaneously playful, heartbreaking and uplifting. Reminiscent of The Arcade Fire, Beach Boys Grizzly Bear and Fleet Foxes if you're looking for a reference point. A really superb...
Published on 7 Nov 2010 by James Mcwilliam Woods

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too noisy
I heard the music when I went to scool - I was working with clay that day and the music sound very nice.
But now when I listen to the cd, I remembered it different.
It's too noisy.
But maybe I will turn more happy by listening to it. I hope so.
Published 9 months ago by Berit Bekker- berit bekker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums of 2009, 7 Nov 2010
By 
James Mcwilliam Woods "Wimsť Jaboe" (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
Other reviews have been quite thorough so no need to waffle. A really wonderful album, this. Vocal melodies are sweet and harmonies are spot on. Instrumentation is faultless and the album is simultaneously playful, heartbreaking and uplifting. Reminiscent of The Arcade Fire, Beach Boys Grizzly Bear and Fleet Foxes if you're looking for a reference point. A really superb album, standout tracks (for me) are: 'Who Knows Who Cares'(The video for which pretty much sums up their whole sound), 'Sun Hands' and 'Wide Eyes.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Local Natives - The lords of the manor?, 3 April 2010
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
4.5 stars

Do you ever find yourself putting put on an album listening to it only once and yet knowing that it is good and going to get better? A rare occurrence admittedly but one which you will experience with the wonderful "Gorilla Manor". The Wolf has comprehensively captured in his excellent review the various elements of what makes this album special. Clearly there are references to the Fleet Foxes, indeed the warm cover version of Talking Heads "Warning Sign" displays the wonderful harmonies so beloved of our bearded Seattle chums. Local Natives are nevertheless not the "Fleet Foxes lite" an accusation which has been bandied around in some reviews. In fact there is so much diversity in this album that in large parts it is a genuinely intriguing and uncategorisable affair. Check out the joyous single "Camera Talk" which owes as much to the Beach Boys, Bens Fold five and even Vampire Weekend. "Shapeshiter" one of the albums highlights with its searing harmonies and its gradually building force packs a huge punch. A key feature of this song is the hyperactive drumming of Matt Frazier and (I don't believe I'm about to say this) the excellent lead vocalist Taylor Rice does sometimes sound like a much rockier version of Jon Anderson of Yes which is the strangest compliment I have ever paid.

Throughout the album has a feel of summer and the sort of effervescence in songs which end up swimming around the listener's head for weeks at a time and make you constantly revisit the album. The two most guilty culprits in this regard are "Wide Eyes" with its great guitar backdrop making it probably the most rock based song on the album but all the time those harmonies are a tight as Alastair Darlings recent budget. "Sun Hands" is the albums ultimate highlight. Its worth checking out on the net the reviews of this band at this years SXSW 2010 festival where for the second year in a row they again stole the show and it is with "Sun Hands" that they encore. It has that quality common to great songs of the duality of complexity and simplicity at the same time. Listen to it on headphones and the layers reveal themselves and Taylor Rice's vocal absolutely nail the song from the opening where he sings -

"I climbed to the top of a hill
But I had just missed the sun
And although the descending arc was gone
Left behind were the traces that always follow along"

For the other songs read the reviews by Wolf and Mr Chinaski where they capture the all round quality of this album. Its probably not perfect and both "Sticky Thread" and "Cubism Dream" don't really push many buttons for me. A small point not be dwelled upon since quite rightly this East L.A. quintet are generating huge interest and it is a credit to the UK listeners that the album was taken up here where they signed to Infectious and released Gorilla Manor a good four months before it appeared in their homeland. All in all "Gorilla Manor" is an album which will repay repeated listens with a series of rich songs and three part harmonies to die for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious Gorillas In Our Midst, 20 Nov 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
Abso-blinkin-lutely loving this every-which-way.
You're going to love it too. Promise.

As incandescent a bunch of songs as I've heard this year and
there are a whole healthy dozen of them to be getting on with.

Local Natives hail from Silverlake, California, U.S.A.

They are Taylor Rice (guitar/vocals), Kelcey Ayer (keyboards/vocals),
Ryan Hahn (guitar/vocals), Andy Hamm (bass) and Matt Frazier (drums)
and together they make a distinctive and beautiful sound.

This is tricky stuff to pin-down so I'll leave it for someone more
gifted in the realms of genre sub-divisions to fix this for us later.

What I found here transcends genre in so many ways.

It is BIG music. Heart-warming music. Enveloping and uplifting music.
The melodies are complex and absorbing; the singing fresh and vividly alive.
These young gentlemen are creating sounds of true substance!

You could plunge in anywhere really and be lifted up by the pure
energy and enthusiasm of their committed performances.

Let me tell you about a few of these wonderful compositions.

'Camera Talk' manages to combine a viscerally raw rhythm,
under-produced and untainted in the best possible way, with
an intoxicating melody and delicious vocal harmonies.
The high-flying violin lifts the energy straight through the roof.

The spirit of CSN&Y lives on in 'Cards and Quarters'.
Mr Frazier's drums hold down a strong but simple beat
around which the song unfolds in evermore complex layers.
The last chiming chord hangs in the air like the aftertaste
of a half-remembered dream.

There is a dream-like quality running through much of this album.

'Airplanes' is unquestionably one of the project's finest compositions.
Good-humoured and uplifting in equal measure, I found myself completely
(and willingly) swept away by the ensemble's prodigious musicality.

'Sun Hands' has so much passion it is at risk of spontaneously combusting
and 'World News' is chock-full of a jolly kind of goodness rarely captured
by any band in any time you might care to imagine. Joyful, rapturous stuff!

I'll shut up now !
It's good. It's very, very good ! It's the kind of music to make all of our
lives just a little bit richer and more bearable.

(Oh Heck! Sorry I just can't help it.....'Shape Shifter' made just about
every hair on my body - from nose to tail - stand to attention!)

I stumbled upon this truly inspiring little band entirely by accident.

Trust me on this one - it's glorious stuff !

Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gorilla Manor....Love It, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
Absolutely brilliant first album. Its a real grower that i still count as one of my favourites of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Band - Go see live too, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Rj Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
Came across these guys for the first time live at Greenman Festival 2013. Gutted it's taken me a few years to get on to listening to this. It's very original, quirky writing, and I had bought the newer album first, but I think this one is my favorite of the two. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great First Album., 29 Sep 2013
By 
Kevin Williams "Kev" (Newport, S.Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
Heard these guys first on Radio 6 Music, loved their sound straight away, quirky vocals, great harmonies.
Buy immediately. Get 'Hummingbird' too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good album, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
I bought Hummingbird first and so was slightly disappointed with this album since Hummingbird is such a fantastic album....but I'm getting used to this album. Looking forward to next album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding debut record, 12 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorilla Manor [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I discovered the band by way of their second record Hummingbird, and I really love this record. 2009's Gorilla Manor took a second listen before I got it, as I was expecting another Hummingbird.

It is however an outstanding debut record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album!, 10 May 2013
By 
A. Ballantyne (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
Such a great 'play it over and over and over again' album! Need extra copies for the office, the car and your friends!! Buy at least two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Local Natives Album, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gorilla Manor (Audio CD)
I love this album and very happy with my purchase :) I love all the songs and there is also a video of live jamming sessions. Even better (:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa33b8444)

This product

Gorilla Manor
Gorilla Manor by Local Natives (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews