Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky!
Greatdouble CD for the car. Lots of 'quirky' versions of hits over the last twelve months, by artists you mightn't expect to cover the tracks. A few tracks are performed by the artists that released them as singles, but they are mainly covers. These albums ALWAYS seem fairly good compilations. I have all of them, so far. Don't pay loads for it though - shop around! I got...
Published on 10 Feb 2010 by K. D. Hallam

versus
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag
The live lounge albums usually have some really good songs but the albums as a whole are spoiled by the less worthy tracks that always seem to make it on, and this one is no exception.

There are some great songs like Lady Gaga's "Poker Face", Lenka's "Jump In The Pool" cover, Little Boot's cover of "Beat Again" and i was pleased to see Biffy's fantastic cover...
Published on 11 Nov 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, 11 Nov 2009
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge - Volume 4 (Audio CD)
The live lounge albums usually have some really good songs but the albums as a whole are spoiled by the less worthy tracks that always seem to make it on, and this one is no exception.

There are some great songs like Lady Gaga's "Poker Face", Lenka's "Jump In The Pool" cover, Little Boot's cover of "Beat Again" and i was pleased to see Biffy's fantastic cover of "Love Sex Magic" (i wasnt a fan of the original versions of the latter 3, the covers are great though). N-Dubz's "Papa Can You Hear Me?" might've been good if it wasnt ruined by the other guys inappropriate outbursts between the lyrics (this problem comes up on a few other tracks)

But there are a few great songs that seemed to be overlooked (Paramore's "Use Somebody", Fightstars "Battlefield"??) and this is made worse by that fact that they are replaced by some frankly terrible ones (Metro Station's blood curdling acoustic version of "Shake It" literally makes me feel a little sick...) which is a shame.

It's an average album which isn't worth the money I paid for it, it couldve been so much better. Sort that out Radio 1...purty please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hummmmmmpfff, 30 Oct 2009
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge - Volume 4 (Audio CD)
Quite frankly, this doesn't live up to the standard set by Vol 3, which in my personal option was the best of the lot so far. There seems to be more people playing their own songs than other people's. Artists such as the BEP's have quite literally stuck to the format of the recorded version, and haven't pulled out the stops for a live audience. Their live stuff is very lacking anyway. I'm dissapointed that there aren't more covers on this album, as that's what always makes live lounge unique.

CD 2 is better than the downbeat boring CD1, but only marginally. I'm dissapointed. I've loved the last few albums, and look forward to this, the only good thing to come out of radio one, and I'm quite sure there have been a lot better live lounge performances than what's on this CD. Sorry to say it, it just aint that good in comparrison to the others....!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars What a let down, 17 Nov 2009
By 
C. Wilkes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge - Volume 4 (Audio CD)
Very dissapointing. Loved the first 3 volumes but this one did not live up to expectations at all. It seems as if it was cobbled together and thrown on the shelves at the first possible opportunity without any regard to the quality of the output. Lady Gaga's version of Poker Face was a surprising highlight for me, but the rest left me very dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just dull and not as good as previously, 31 Oct 2009
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge - Volume 4 (Audio CD)
There have been some fantastic and surprising covers in this series - Lily Allen doing the Kooks, Orson doing Push the Button, Arctic Monkeys doing Amy Winehouse - but this new selection is just dull and safe - it's all too slick - there just doesn't seem to be imagination or humour in it. What interested me was always the cover versions - and frankly, these are disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Radio 1 got it wrong this time, 26 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. R. Mallett "Russ" (Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge - Volume 4 (Audio CD)
One of the best songs done in the live lounge in fact the best song is...the paramores cover of the kings of leon use somebody.It's not on the cd so don't buy it it's a waste of time there is only a handfull of artists on the cd that can sing what a dissapointment radio 1 got it wrong this time.If u would like to hear the paramores version you can check it out on you tube it's well worth a listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some tracks only worth a single listen, 1 Nov 2009
By 
MartinRG "martinrg" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge - Volume 4 (Audio CD)
I loved the first 3 albums and was impressed with the line up for number 4.

Part of the charm is sticking it on and trying to guess the song and/or artist. Poker Face is so mellow that you find yourself instantly recognising the track but struggling to think of the song as it is miles apart from the original.

Half the songs are superb, such as Kasabian's version of Gwen Stefani's The Sweet Escape, some are odd but engaging (Sex on Fire by Alesha Dixon), some are comical (Bonkers with a hillbilly twist) and some are deadly dull or virtually the same as the orginal.

All in all enough here to thin you've got good value but a bit disappointing after the rest of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Compared to previous ones.... weak, 7 Dec 2009
By 
D. Pearce (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge - Volume 4 (Audio CD)
I am inclined to agree with a number of previous reviewers, this is just not as good as previous live lounges. What made them good was bands doing leftfield covers, but this time everything is a little safe and boring. Probably the last one I will buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Enough to buy, but not a match for the rest., 7 Dec 2009
By 
M. B. Jones "city ben 100" (Stockport, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge - Volume 4 (Audio CD)
the positives of the cd are that they bring together some well known artists and some great covers, such as florence and the machine's cover of "Halo" by beyoncé, however the overall content and quality of the songs are not as good as previous live lounge releases.
i'd still reccomend the cd to any music fans keen on hearing their favourite artists from a different perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing 4th outing, 27 Jan 2010
By 
J. O'Malley (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge - Volume 4 (Audio CD)
The key to success is often knowing when you should stop, Volume 3 was the point in this collection, I loved the first three volumes, but this one was disappointing, it all feels very samey and for me the worst part of the album is Lilly Allens its not fair, which isnt even live, its the radio edit! Can't believe she mimed in the live lounge!

However for those complaining about certain tracks not being included, they do have to get permission from both the singing and original artists before they can put the songs on a compilation album so some songs where never going to be allowed to make it (if the original artist doesn't like the cover version for example)

Overall a disappointing album, I advise you buy the tracks you like as a download and leave the rest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but unexceptional., 5 Nov 2014
By 
S. Broadbent "cyberspaceexpress" (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Radio 1's Live Lounge - Volume 4 (Audio CD)
Okay, but unexceptional.
I like the "Live Lounge Series" but this is the weakest of the first 4.
Hopefully the next album will be better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Radio 1's Live Lounge - Volume 4
Radio 1's Live Lounge - Volume 4 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews