Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry, The Real Deal
Over the past few years it has become fashionable for rock singers, pop singers and even country singers to dip into the Great American Songbook with varying degrees of success. Here, Harry Connick Jr shows himself to be the real deal adding some newer songs to the concept and four classic songs penned by Brits.

One great advantage that this CD enjoys is in the...
Published on 12 Nov 2009 by Angel Delta

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Vaguely disappointing
I was expecting more from this. Mr. Connick has been around for so many years, and it's a polished smooth performance, no doubt. But I really want to hear this guy let go and actually enjoy himself.
Published on 13 April 2011 by malteser


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry, The Real Deal, 12 Nov 2009
By 
Angel Delta (Southsea Hants) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Your Songs (Audio CD)
Over the past few years it has become fashionable for rock singers, pop singers and even country singers to dip into the Great American Songbook with varying degrees of success. Here, Harry Connick Jr shows himself to be the real deal adding some newer songs to the concept and four classic songs penned by Brits.

One great advantage that this CD enjoys is in the strength of the fifteen selections, there is not an ounce of filler on the entire album. There are the perfectly delivered standards: "All The Way", "Some Enchanted Evening", "Mona Lisa", and "Besame Mucho". Then, tipping his hat to more rock oriented songs we find subtly reworked versions of Taupin & John's "Your Song", Don McLean's "And I Love You So" and Lennon & McCartney's "And I Love Her" plus an alternate version of this number where he duets with Carla Bruni,

The simple beauty of the classics "The Way You Look Tonight", "Can't Help Falling In Love With You" and Ewan McColl's "The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face" are handled with restraint and sophistication.

As singer, piano player, arranger, conductor and producer Connick has wrought one of the albums of the year. Everything about the orchestra and the arrangements smacks of class and, as Harry's voice caresses the lyrics and glides over the melodies, you feel a sense that when he sings the world can't be all bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An album for a late night glass of wine, 19 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Songs (Audio CD)
I've always liked Harry Connick Jr's singing, and always resented the accusation that he was aping Frank Sinatra. He is ten times the musician that Sinatra was, even if his voice is not so instantly memorable. He proves it on this album by taking songs that have been done to death (I groaned when I saw the track list) and producing new and innovative takes on all of them. Yet you never feel like an old favourite has been destroyed in the process. One interesting moment is hearing Connick sing Mona Lisa (a song that Sinatra turned down). He sounds warmer in voice as he is getting older, and it's interesting to speculate whether Sinatra would have done it any better than the beautiful version that Connick turns in.

Another surprise is the presence of Carla Bruni, who has a sweet voice that reminds me of Astrud Gilberto, on the Beatles track "And I Love Her". It's typical of the album, taken at a slow and relaxed pace, with a little bit of a funky feel to the rhythm.

All in all, if you listen to it carefully, there is layer upon layer of musical sophistication to enjoy. Yet it's also perfectly pleasant to listen to it late at night, curled up on the sofa with a glass of wine. It's perfect chilling out music in that way. My only gripe is that there's no "wow" moment, but then Connick has always been above that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars HARRY IS BACK!!!!, 4 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Your Songs (Audio CD)
GOOD SELECTION OF SONGS WITH AN INTERESTING ORCHESTRADET MUSICIANS ARRANGED BY HARRY. MICHAEL BUBLÉ IS FANTASTIC BUT HARRY CONNICK JR. OPENED FIRST THESE STYLE IN A MODERN TIMES, AND NOW IS BACK AND WE CAN TO ENJOY IT AGAIN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely my songs, 6 Jan 2010
By 
J. Page "Book worm" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Songs (MP3 Download)
This was my first experience of Harry Connick Jnr singing and I really enjoyed it. Lovely tone and expression to his voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Drift away cd, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Songs (Audio CD)
Yes it did a nice and easy listen just the thing to wind down and relax to a good pick me up cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great., 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Songs (Audio CD)
This is a great CD, a pity his others i have bought off the back of this havent been. Not a bad song on this and shows he can sing, he does a great job of disproving that though on his first 2 CDs though in my view. 8 out of 10 from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A super singer, 13 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Songs (Audio CD)
Harry Connick was always regarded as the new Sinartra and he lives up to that on this CD.
A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must listen to., 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Songs (Audio CD)
Highly recommend this CD, loved listening to it. A great compilation of songs to chill out to with a glass of wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Your Songs, 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Songs (Audio CD)
It is playing right now and has been each day since I unwrapped it. I will be ordering another of his CD' s very soon.
Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Your Songs: My Songs, 17 April 2012
By 
Mr. Robert W. Bleach (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Your Songs (Audio CD)
As expected, Mr. Connick did not fail to deliver. This is a very nice set of recodings, and helps make for a calm drive to work, rather than listening to the tripe some radio stations spew out.
Your Songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Your Songs
Your Songs by Harry Connick Jr. (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews