Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (75)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should have one
Very good quality, great product.
Comes in protective case.
Very easy to use....attach to tyre, display shows tyre pressure, press +/- to set pressure you want, switch on, pump turns off when correct pressure is reached.
Job done !
Published on 15 Feb 2011 by rfuk

versus
64 of 77 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ring Automotive RAC640 12V Automatic Digital Air Compressor
Fast Delivery well packaged, Very well made compressor plastic body good length of hose to connect to tyre valve with screw thread much better than the clip type,digital readout 1st reading when connected to valve is the pressure in the tyre before any inflation you can then by useing the + button set your tyre pressure as required pressing a second time starts the...
Published on 11 Feb 2011 by B. C. R. Renowden


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should have one, 15 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 12V Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light (Automotive)
Very good quality, great product.
Comes in protective case.
Very easy to use....attach to tyre, display shows tyre pressure, press +/- to set pressure you want, switch on, pump turns off when correct pressure is reached.
Job done !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have .. not only for motorists, 4 Feb 2014
By 
A. Camilleri - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 12V Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light (Automotive)
I bought this Ring compressor a couple of years ago, so my review is based on a tried and tested product.

Having owned numerous compressors, I find that this is by far the easiest and most reliable to use. The compressor is relatively silent, and strong enough to handle normal tyre pressure with ease, unlike on my previous compressors where the motor used to struggle once over around 20 psi.

I really like the high quality metal thread connector which screws onto the tyre valve stem. Apart from offering an airtight connection, it also results in minimal loss of air whilst unscrewing. Most other commercial pumps offer a clip on system, which is fragile and quite annoying to use.

Pro:
- Great design and sturdy construction.
- Very good tyre inflation concept and design. Rubber on the outside thus providing a solid grip, and durable metal thread on the inside
- User preset cut out pressure remains in memory. No need to set the pressure every time compressor is used
- Plug and forget. Whilst with most compressors you need to watch the display to check for the desired pressure, the Ring will stop automatically at the preset pressure. Works great!
- Built in torch and flashing red lights (very hand at night). If inflating on the road, the flashing lights are indispensable for safety
- The LCD display is so much better to read than the typical vibrating needle gauge
- Can be used to deflate over-inflated tyres (summertime) by a simple push on the dedicated button next to the nozzle head.
- Useful accessories which make this compressor appeal to anyone. Inflates footballs, lilos, airbeds...
- Can be stowed away neatly and easily. The design of the unit makes stowing the cables easy and everything plugs back into place. Unit can then be placed in the supplied protective cover.

Cons:
- Pity it cannot be used in the house. A mains connector would have made it the ideal multipurpose inflation device.

Considerations:
1. When the compressor is used as pictured (in the vertical position) it tends to tilt over during use. Yet the compressor has rubber pads on the side, which means that you can lay it on its side with the controls and pressure indicator facing upwards. I do think that that it was designed to be used this way.
2. When inflating more than one tyre, with a preset pressure in memory, pressing the + button will reactivate the pump after an automatic cutout. This avoids the need to disconnect and reconnect the cigarette lighter plug.

I highly recommend the Ring Automotive RAC640 Digital air compressor. A must have for motorists.

The Ring Automotive RAC640 definitely merits a 5 star rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ring RAC640, 24 Dec 2010
By 
T. Willis (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 12V Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light (Automotive)
Very pleased with purchase. Compressor seems to be fairly robust & all leads and hoses etc. stow neatly away. Compressor has it's own good quality carry case. Easy to understand instruction booklet provided. Compressor is easy to use and is very accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digital Automatic rules!, 9 Mar 2011
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 12V Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light (Automotive)
Good product. Very easy to use and the tyres on my car, motorbike and even my bicycle all have the right pressures! (I used to have a compressor, but it was just a straight "pump" type - plus the gauge wasn't very accurate -so a real hassle to use.) This Digital one is so much easier to use -just set the pressure and it pumps to the right setting and stops automatically - great! I got fed up of the queues at our local petrol station (plus they charged for air anyway) - this is so much better! It comes in a good protective case too, which helps keep it safe/ tidy (I now keep it in my car boot)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ring tyre inflator, 26 Feb 2011
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 12V Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light (Automotive)
Reasonably quiet machine and works well, but had to buy a cable extension for my medium wheel base van. The cable was about a metre too short. Robert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying...a snip., 7 Mar 2011
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 12V Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light (Automotive)
I have no complaints regarding this item. I was going to buy a cheaper model but I am glad I didn't.
It comes in a carry case, its light to carry and stores nicely in the boot. All cables store away easily and there is even a storage compartment in the bottom of it for the deflater and valve adapters. It is easy to use, quickly checks the pressure in the tyre and does as it states, inflates to the preset pressure and cuts out. I have an analogue tester and it appears to check out that it inflates to the correct pressure.
I would recommend this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compressor, 12 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 12V Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light (Automotive)
Great piece of kit. Was sick of waiting for the air inflator at petrol stations so bought this. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 4 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 12V Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light (Automotive)
Very easy to use - I like the digital display and cut-off. Also very quick to inflate (next to no time for car tyres!).

Shame it doesnt also have a normal plug as well (Id like to use in the garden).

[PS - dont buy from AP Motor Store - they left me waiting 6 weeks before my order was cancelled and made up stories about leaving me messages!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ring rac640air compressor/inflator, 18 April 2011
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 12V Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light (Automotive)
great fast delivery from supplier first class service.Easy transaction the Ring automotive RAC640 12v air compressor/inflator is a great tool to keep in the boot of the car, Is really quick and works just like it says on the box GREAT! Mel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good kit, 24 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 12V Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light (Automotive)
good piece of kit, saves the hassle of queuing at filling stations, getting your hands dirty and finding there is nothing to wipe or clean them ! Haven't tried to inflate a flat tyre but for topping up 3 or 4 psi its excellent only taking a few seconds. delivery and value very pleased with both !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews