Customer Reviews


225 Reviews
5 star:
 (104)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have .. not only for motorists
I bought this Ring compressor a couple of years ago, so my review is based on a tried and tested product.

Having owned numerous compressors, I find that this is by far the easiest and most reliable to use. The compressor is relatively silent, and strong enough to handle normal tyre pressure with ease, unlike on my previous compressors where the motor used to...
Published 10 months ago by Antoine Camilleri

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy something else.
Purchased on 24th June 2014. It died on 15th November 2014. The compressor rattles, but no air goes into the tyre.

This is the second one of the same model I've bought. The first, too, died, after a year, although that simply died completely: plug in, nothing.

The current one lasted 20 weeks, used once or twice a week to top tyres up...
Published 1 month ago by Fortescue Timberbatt


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have .. not only for motorists, 4 Feb 2014
By 
Antoine Camilleri - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light 12 V (Automotive)
I bought this Ring compressor a couple of years ago, so my review is based on a tried and tested product.

Having owned numerous compressors, I find that this is by far the easiest and most reliable to use. The compressor is relatively silent, and strong enough to handle normal tyre pressure with ease, unlike on my previous compressors where the motor used to struggle once over around 20 psi.

I really like the high quality metal thread connector which screws onto the tyre valve stem. Apart from offering an airtight connection, it also results in minimal loss of air whilst unscrewing. Most other commercial pumps offer a clip on system, which is fragile and quite annoying to use.

Likes:
○ Great design and sturdy construction.
○ Very good tyre inflation concept and design. Rubber on the outside thus providing a solid grip, and durable metal thread on the inside
○ User custom preset cut out pressure remains in memory. No need to set the pressure every time compressor is used
○ Plug and forget. Whilst with most compressors you need to watch the display to check for the desired pressure, the Ring will stop automatically at the preset pressure. Works great!
○ Built in torch and flashing red lights (very hand at night). If inflating on the road, the flashing lights are indispensable for safety
○ The LCD display is so much better to read than the typical vibrating needle gauge
○ Can be used to deflate over-inflated tyres (summertime) by a simple push on the dedicated button next to the nozzle head.
○ Useful accessories which make this compressor appeal to anyone. Inflates footballs, lilos, airbeds...
○ Can be stowed away neatly and easily. The design of the unit makes stowing the cables easy and everything plugs back into place. Unit can then be placed in the supplied protective cover.

Dislikes:
- None so far

It is a pity that the RAC640 cannot be used in the house. A mains connector would have made it the ideal multipurpose inflation device.

Tips:
1. When the compressor is used as pictured (in the vertical position) it tends to tilt over during use. Yet the compressor has rubber pads on the side, which means that you can lay it on its side with the controls and pressure indicator facing upwards. I do think that that it was designed to be used this way.
2. When inflating more than one tyre using preset pressure, pressing the + button will reactivate the pump after an automatic cutout. This avoids the need to disconnect and reconnect the cigarette lighter plug.

I highly recommend the Ring Automotive RAC640 Digital air compressor. A must have for motorists.

The Ring Automotive RAC640 definitely merits a 5 star rating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 57 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everyone should have one, 15 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light 12 V (Automotive)
Very good quality, great product.
Comes in protective case.
Very easy to use....attach to tyre, display shows tyre pressure, press +/- to set pressure you want, switch on, pump turns off when correct pressure is reached.
Job done !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ring RAC640, 24 Dec 2010
By 
T. Willis (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light 12 V (Automotive)
Very pleased with purchase. Compressor seems to be fairly robust & all leads and hoses etc. stow neatly away. Compressor has it's own good quality carry case. Easy to understand instruction booklet provided. Compressor is easy to use and is very accurate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digital Automatic rules!, 9 Mar 2011
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light 12 V (Automotive)
Good product. Very easy to use and the tyres on my car, motorbike and even my bicycle all have the right pressures! (I used to have a compressor, but it was just a straight "pump" type - plus the gauge wasn't very accurate -so a real hassle to use.) This Digital one is so much easier to use -just set the pressure and it pumps to the right setting and stops automatically - great! I got fed up of the queues at our local petrol station (plus they charged for air anyway) - this is so much better! It comes in a good protective case too, which helps keep it safe/ tidy (I now keep it in my car boot)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ring tyre inflator, 26 Feb 2011
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light 12 V (Automotive)
Reasonably quiet machine and works well, but had to buy a cable extension for my medium wheel base van. The cable was about a metre too short. Robert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth buying...a snip., 7 Mar 2011
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light 12 V (Automotive)
I have no complaints regarding this item. I was going to buy a cheaper model but I am glad I didn't.
It comes in a carry case, its light to carry and stores nicely in the boot. All cables store away easily and there is even a storage compartment in the bottom of it for the deflater and valve adapters. It is easy to use, quickly checks the pressure in the tyre and does as it states, inflates to the preset pressure and cuts out. I have an analogue tester and it appears to check out that it inflates to the correct pressure.
I would recommend this unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Buy something else., 16 Nov 2014
By 
Fortescue Timberbatt (Manning the defences at Dover) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light 12 V (Automotive)
Purchased on 24th June 2014. It died on 15th November 2014. The compressor rattles, but no air goes into the tyre.

This is the second one of the same model I've bought. The first, too, died, after a year, although that simply died completely: plug in, nothing.

The current one lasted 20 weeks, used once or twice a week to top tyres up.

Frankly, it's not up to the job.

(Oh, and they both at some point blew the fuse for the cigarette lighter in my car. So that was a trip to Halfords and a fiddly job with pliers.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 4 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light 12 V (Automotive)
Very easy to use - I like the digital display and cut-off. Also very quick to inflate (next to no time for car tyres!).

Shame it doesnt also have a normal plug as well (Id like to use in the garden).

[PS - dont buy from AP Motor Store - they left me waiting 6 weeks before my order was cancelled and made up stories about leaving me messages!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compressor, 12 Nov 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light 12 V (Automotive)
Great piece of kit. Was sick of waiting for the air inflator at petrol stations so bought this. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lasted 2.5 years (updated), 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ring Automotive RAC640 Automatic Digital Air Compressor and Inflator / Deflator with LED Light 12 V (Automotive)
This item purchased in 2012 for use on my car was excellent although a little on the noisy side, originally I would of given it 5 stars, but, the item failed after only 2.5 years of occasional use. During normal operation without warning the pump slowed down and smoke started coming out of it. One burnt out unit. Unit has always been kept in a dry place. I will try another Ring model and see how long this lasts.

I contacted Ring and they have now sent me a replacement 10/10/14 even though outside guarantee period. See how long this one lasts, as I said it worked well until it burnt out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews