Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece available at last, 24 July 2010
By 
D. Gallimore (Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: El Cid (Audio CD)
Anyone seeing the film will be struck by the great quality and depth of Rozsa's great score, which in many ways equals that of Ben Hur, but despite much searching over the years I've never been able to obtain a record of it, so it was a real treat to discover this comprehensive new recording of the score.

I've always tried to steer clear of non-original soundtracks as they were generally never as good as the original film version, but in this case I don't think there is an acceptable original version around, so it was hobsons choice. Fortunately the whole new recording project has been carried out with great skill and respect towards the original film and it's composer.

The epic majesty and emotion of the film is captured in this musical recording and the producer/researcher/conductor/orchestra are all to be congratulated for bringing this great classic and classical score back to life.

Moreover, for 2 cd's packed with music, it's a bargain that should be snapped up by anyone interested in film scores, or who enjoys great romantic orchestral musical drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worthy treatment of a masterpiece, 17 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. Derek Bebb "Derek Bebb" (Taunton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Cid (Audio CD)
As one of the greatest film score ever written this double disc containing over 150 minutes of music, some of it never previously released, it a worthy tribute to Rozsas's genius. The colourful score refects all the drama, action, passion and pageantry of Mediaeval Spain and it is impossible to fault the performance or the recording and the useful notes.
If only other film scores were given the treatment they so deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars El Cid - a labour of love, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Cid (Audio CD)
Buy this 2CD Set but, before even playing it, carefully pull out the insert first and read about how Miklos Rozsa came in putting it all together. It was a labour of love for him in composing one of the greatest film scores of all time, if not the best and equally matched with his other great masterpiece "Ben-Hur". In composing El Cid, I feel he was unfairly treated by certain studio bosses at the time
because much of what he composed was cut from the film during the editing process and even more pieces never heard until now because they never appeared on the original release of the LP record or CD released many years later. But justice has been done
as producer James Fitzpatrick and conductor Nic Raine with the City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra have created an absolute
masterpiece as faithful to the original soundtrack as possible. The unedited and digitally restored film lasts 180 minutes of which
the musical backing tracks last 150 minutes ! There are 48 tracks on the CD's of which an incredible 34 tracks have never been released before ! This music has also been a labour of love for everyone involved in the production of this 2CD Set and they
must be congratulated. Miklos Rozsa died in 1995 and never lived to know the world can now hear this music as it should have
been heard in the first place and in its entire state. Absolutely wonderful, awesome and majestic. Miklos Rozsa......thank you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "El Cid" Score, 9 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Cid (Audio CD)
For genuine lovers of film music, or indeed, lovers of any type of good music, this recording of the score for "El Cid" is an absolute must. Without doubt, this is Miklos Rozsa's finest score, and is quite probably THE finest film score of all time, and here, it is delivered with dazzling technique and stunning power by the City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Nic Raine. It will hold you in thrall to all the drama, romance and spectacle that great films, and great film music, can produce; quite simply, it's the business. Magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT RECREATED FILM SCORE, 8 Oct 2010
By 
FilmBuff "Andy" (Killamarsh, Sheffield) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Cid (Audio CD)
In my opinion, Miklos Rozsa was the finest composer of film scores Hollywood produced (although, in fact, his music was introduced to filmgoers by Britain's Alexander Korda in the 1930s).

Although he is best remembered for his scores for historical epics, he was just as comfortable composing for Film Noir and war movies (The Killers, Asphalt Jungle, Double Indemnity, Brute Force, Naked City, etc. and war films like Sahara, Five Graves To Cairo, The Green Berets).Of all Hollywood composers, his music set the standard for most film genres especially, in the 1940s, the thriller. His music was guaranteed to enhance the enjoyment of even the most mediocre of Hollywood product.

El Cid,released in 1961, has to be his greatest score, better even than his Oscar winning music for Ben Hur. It has all the epic grandeur, sweep and drama of the story it accompanies.

This recording by the City Of Prague Philharmonic is excellent in all respects. I have previous recordings of some of Rozsa's scores interpreted by this orchestra, some not too successful. This time the orchestra and conductor Nick Raine have excelled themselves. The tempo and drive of the tracks could have been conducted by Miklos Rozsa himself. In fact so successful is the interpretation that I am not ashamed to say that some tracks raised the hairs on the back of my neck, none more so than the Epilogue and Finale, the final track on this double CD set.

I cannot recommend this release too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Variations on an Original Theme for Orchestra ("El Cid"),, 20 Sep 2013
By 
J. campbell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Cid (Audio CD)
One of the most beautiful albums I have ever heard. You can tell by listening, that this was a labour of love for Miklos Rozsa, using all his powers and skill to bring us such a lush and romantic score. Basically 140 mins of the same theme in different variations, Elgar style. If you do not like the initial theme ( play tack 2 the Prelude) then don't buy. Two tracks stand out,The Barn - Love Theme (Disc 2-4) and The Twins (Disc 2-8), both have exquisite violin solos. These are worth the price of the discs alone. And let's not forget the incredible organ finale, The Legend (Disc 2-21), that will send shivers up you spine.

The sound is modern and crystal clear. The Prague Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Nic Raine are passionate and outstanding. This album is so great that I went out and bought their full version of the Lawrence of Arabia soundtrack. Have to admit, I am a sucker for their crystal clear sound, rather than the slightly muddy original versions. I watched El Cid the other day on DVD with Surround-sound and as much as I love the original music. This version has more Ommmpphh!

Finally, I was going to buy this second hand. But seeing that there was not much difference in price between Amazon and outside sellers (including postage); I went for Amazon. It was delightful to find out that when you buy a hard copy from Amazon that you also get the downloaded mp3 version. I have to admit the the Amazon mp3s have a better sound quality than the mp3s that I rip from CDs. All in all a majestic buy. For God, the Cid and Spain!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Theme, 16 July 2012
By 
Alan G. Freer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: El Cid (Audio CD)
El Cid has always been a favourite film since I first saw it in my youth. The music is all part of a great movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Premiere complete recording of music for El Cid, 22 Feb 2010
By 
P. Lee (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: El Cid (Audio CD)
This is the first complete recording of the film score composed by Miklos Rozsa (1907-95) for the 1961 film El Cid (directed by Anthony Mann and starring Charlton Heston and Sophia Loren). Rozsa was one of the finest film composers Hollywood has had, and its foremost composer for films with historical settings. His 90 scores included Quo Vadis (1951), Ben Hur (1959) (for which he won one of his two Oscars) and King of Kings (1961). Rozsa was a classical composer in his own right, having trained at the Conservatory in Leipzig following his upbringing in Hungary. He wrote film music which did its job within the context of the movie but which could also stand alone in the concert hall. El Cid is one of his finest scores, fully demonstrating his breadth and depth of technical artistry, musical invention, emotional range, sense of drama and historical awareness. Rozsa brought his scholarship to his film composition. He prepared for writing the music for El Cid by travelling to Spain and researching medieval Spanish music, the fruits of which can be heard throughout. The music is marvellously evocative, whether it accompanies a battle, a banquet or a love scene. The love theme, which is recapitulated at various points through El Cid, is particularly beautiful, and it appears in various guises appropriate to the context. In the Epilogue, the full forces of organ, orchestra and choir finally give it everything they have, making a stirring end to the film and the score (this is done full justice on this recording). This recording is a labour of love of the producer James Fitzpatrick and the conductor Nic Raines, among others, and restores pieces cut from the final film. The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra and Chorus play and sing beautifully with wonderful intensity. Miklos Rozsa's music for El Cid is a very important film score and it is marvellous to have it available complete for the first time in this beautiful double CD recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent CD, 4 Aug 2010
By 
R. M. Makepeace (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: El Cid (Audio CD)
I endorse all that has been said in previous reviews but it is a pity that the booklet does not include notes on each track/cue as the 3 CD version apparently does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

El Cid
El Cid by The Prague Philharmonic Orchestra (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews