Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!, 22 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Henry V (Audio CD)
I Came across this by accident but was hooked on the first hearing. In tracks such as St Crispin's Day, the composer manages to convey the sweep and drama of the film to such a degree that even if one never saw the film the scene is perfectly conveyed. Definitely deserves a wider audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Henry V OST, Patrick Doyle - A simply beautiful piece of music, 21 Dec 2010
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry V (Audio CD)
This is a really beautiful score from Patrick Doyle for Kenneth Branagh's film version of Henry V.

It is impossible to write a review of this disc without comparing it to William Walton's score for the Olivier film. That was a fine piece of music, but as the film was intended as a wartime morale booster it was relentlessly full of uplifting and stirring orchestral blasts, not always evoking the medieval period and sometimes lacking in a bit of subtlety.

Doyle, in comparison, has carefully selected instruments and rhythms that immediately draw you into the medieval world. This score for Henry V has more colour and variety, and has a slightly darker tone.

There are several tracks that really stand out. `Oh, for a muse of fire' is a superb opener that really captures the listener and draws you in with it's haunting melody. `Henry V theme' neatly sums up the character - all majesty and nobility, yet with a hint of his playful youth still present. `Once more unto the breach' is as fine a piece of musical bombast as you will find, with the full orchestra painting a musical picture of the siege of Harfleur, conjuring up images of the heat and chaos of battle.

The stand out piece is the 14 minute `St Crispin's Day-battle of Agincourt'. It beautifully underscores the real peril that Henry and his army faced. There is nothing grand or triumphant about the battle sequence, the music sets a scene of bloody and intense battle with men fighting to the point of exhaustion in a grim and desperate struggle for survival. It is a dark and moody piece, with an excellent use of drums to evoke the armies charging and clashing. It is simply brilliant.

This is followed by `Non nobis, Domine', a choral piece sung after the battle. Again, it is not triumphant at the great victory, but a humble hymn of praise to God for their survival and mourning for the death and destruction suffered on all sides. It is simply beautiful.

What sets this apart from many other soundtracks is that it is a beautiful piece of orchestral music that can be listened to with complete enjoyment even if you have never seen the film. That is quite a rare thing.

This is a music only soundtrack, there are no spoken word excerpts from the film, which is a bit of a pity. I feel that the opening lines from Derek Jacobi's superb Chorus would have really added to the album. There is an excellent booklet, containing stills from the film, selected speeches and notes from both Doyle and Simon Rattle, the conductor. It is an excellent release of a classic soundtrack. Five stars with no hesitation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The day is yours, 15 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Henry V (Audio CD)
After watching Kenneth Branagh's wonderful movie "Henry V", I simply HAD to buy this CD. The music really lifts you! Listening to this majestic score makes me re-live the awesome film experience over and over again, and it also stands on its own as a CD that is definitely worth your money. The long and short of it is: I LOVE IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 4 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry V (Audio CD)
This soundtrack is absolutely brilliant. What a joy to listen to every time! I would highly recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knockout Doyle, 22 Jun 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry V (Audio CD)
Looking back now over more than 20 years, it seems impossible to believe that Patrick Doyle's music for Branagh's "Henry V" was his initial film score. It was, and is, a deeply rich and atmospheric work, by turns desperately dark and hauntingly beautiful, and one in which he set a very high standard for himself to live up to subsequently. The quality of the music is enhanced even further by a wonderfully exhilarating delivery from the superb City of Birmingham Orchestra and Simon Rattle. For my money, one of the cornerstone film scores of the 1980s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stirring soundtrack, 5 Dec 2010
By 
Daniel Rampton "danielrampton(London)" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Henry V (Audio CD)
Never very keen on Shakespeare, but Kenneth Branagh brought it to life, I bought this Cd as I especially like the track 'Non nobis,Domine'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very well, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry V (Audio CD)
Hello, I recommend this CD for its quality, has quite the music lovers concerning the Knight Templars
super i say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Patrick Doyle, 8 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry V (Audio CD)
Wonderfully atmospheric music. Try the Battle of Agincourt. I could listen all day long. The film is also brilliant with the words by Shakespeare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The better part of Branagh, 13 May 2012
By 
JohnHoppy (Jonzac, France) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Henry V (Audio CD)
I bought the music before buying the film! So struck by a passage I believe Classic FM played. The film is good, certainly, but Patrick Doyle's music is better. Astonishing that it was his first film score. We have always been delighted by Branagh's "Much Ado...." and taken with Doyle's music thereto, but this Henry V score transcends that. I prefer Branagh's film to Olivier's, and must admit I'm hard pressed to say that Walton's wonderful score is better than Doyle's - I feel Doyle's is a more rounded, more complete and descriptive score, and the merit is in the detail, not merely the "pop" nature of the memorable "Non nobis" theme. Take, if you will, the blood-coursing notes that underpin Derek Jacobi's searing opener, the way Doyle stirs your English cockles with the string build-up to Crispins Day and whips up the visceral excitement with little high-pitched flourishes. Clever, highly effective. Yet you can listen to the entire score as an orchestral suite, it enthralls and satisfies throughout. It's a magnificent work, charged with emotion, and one of the finest in cinema. No, I have to say, it's better than Walton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not his best but still a classic, 7 Jun 2001
This review is from: My Aim is True (Audio CD)
I own this on vinyl and I will get round to buying the CD real soon. This is a classic album! It's a rawer and angrier Costello than the later stuff. Alison has got to be one his best ever, it does not fade with time. Red Shoes and I'm Not Angry are the pick of the bunch, great songs that are still fresh today.
Buy it, I will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doyle: Henry V
Doyle: Henry V by City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra/Sir Simon Rattle
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews