Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go On Miss Janet...
"Janet", is one of Janet Jackson's best, most groundbreaking albums. With "Janet", Janet Jackson opened up a new chapter in her life, with a more free, sexual look and attitude.
This album cannot be catalogued as R&B, Janet explores many different genres of music in the songs on this album. Janet samples R&B, Jazz, Funk, Soul, Pop,...
Published on 17 Oct 2001 by Henry M.

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Janet loses her way...
The third and final Album I ever bought by Janet Jackson.

Having been an original fan of hers at the outset of her career, her Albums deteriorated to the point I was no longer interested... Singers who start off great, but then attempt to 'shock' (Madonna as another classic example) 'don't impress me much'...

The first Album 'Control' was to...
Published on 29 April 2010 by FAMOUS NAME


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go On Miss Janet..., 17 Oct 2001
By 
Henry M. (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Janet (Audio CD)
"Janet", is one of Janet Jackson's best, most groundbreaking albums. With "Janet", Janet Jackson opened up a new chapter in her life, with a more free, sexual look and attitude.
This album cannot be catalogued as R&B, Janet explores many different genres of music in the songs on this album. Janet samples R&B, Jazz, Funk, Soul, Pop, Dance, Opera, Disco, Folk, Country, Ballads, and much more. Best tracks include That's The Way Love Goes, with it's smooth, sensual sound, one of Janet Jackson's signature tracks. Throb, with it's pulsating erotic, disco beat. Because Of Love, If, and You Want This mainly pop and dance that will make you want to dance and/or sing along. This Time (Featuring Kathleen Battle, an opera star), It sounds like a weird mix, but it all sounds right when you listen to it. Anytime Anyplace with it's slow and sexy vibe, and ballads like Where Are You Now and Again.
"Janet" is a must for any real music fan. Don't take my word for it, listen for yourself, you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Janet Jackson, 23 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Janet (Audio CD)
This is one of Janet Jackson's grooviest and most accessible albums. It has a feel-good vibe and it features signature Janet Jackson tracks like 'That's The Way Love Goes', 'Again' and 'Anytime,Anyplace'. It also contains fantastic dance tunes such as 'If', 'Throb' and 'You Want This'. A real treat on the album is the rock-opera song 'Back'(featuring opera star Kathleen Battle), one of the album's stand out tracks. There is something for everyone on this album. It is also quite sensual. All in all, this is my favourite Janet Jackson album and one of the best R n'B albums of the '90's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TIME FOR FUNKY JANET, 18 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Janet (Audio CD)
This album mixes the fast and funky tracks (Funky big band, Throb) with pop rock tracks (You want this,If) with stunnings ballads(Again, Anytime and Anplace) This is great album to leave in your car because i've been listening to it for 6 years and i'm still not bored. A must buy for any big music fan. If- is probably Janet Jacksons best ever work to date
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a listen, 25 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Janet (Audio CD)
A varied album with something for everyone (not for those easily offended though) - a change from her previous stuff - but a welcome change I think. Got 'Til It's Gone is a surprisingly good track featuring Q-tip and samples of Joni Mitchell's original version. All in all a great album well worth a listen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Janet Jackson - "Janet", 6 April 2005
This review is from: Janet (Audio CD)
This album was Janet's most popular of all her Virgin albums. Not only was it a big #1 in the US, followed by previous US #1 albums "Rhythm Nation" and "Control", but it was also Janet's only #1 album in the UK. This album includes a total number of six singles, two of which were US #1s and two that were top 10 hits in the UK. The hidden track "Whoops Now" was also a single tied with "What'll I Do" so there is really eight singles! Fourteen of the "songs" are interludes (oh dear) and only six are album tracks.
Some of my favourite tracks are "That's The Way Love Goes", "If", "This Time" and my personal favourite which I never skip "Again". The singles are "That's The Way Love Goes" (UK #2, US #1 for eight weeks), "If" (UK #14), "Again" (UK #6, US #1), "Because Of Love" (UK #19), "Any Time, Any Place" (UK #13), "You Want This" (UK #14) and "Whoops Now" (hidden) (UK #9) also tied with "What'll I Do" which is also very good.
Overall - 10/10
I think there are far too many interludes but some of them work excellently! Interludes like "Morning" and "Are You Still Up"... but I normally have a favourite Janet interlude for her albums and here I just don't! Overall, still very good and I'd reccommend it alot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Janet Fans- YOU WANT THIS!, 23 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Janet (Audio CD)
If you listen to this exeptional work of ART by Janet from beginning to end, you will be taken on a journey of self sexual discovery and fantasy.The best songs on the album are If, You Want This & Anytime,anyplace.A very funky album with songs to suit every musical taste!Yet again Janet makes another FANTASTIC album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible, 6 April 2014
This review is from: Janet (Audio CD)
This is one of the best albuns in the music world, is an album that you can play everyday and never get tired. There is a lot of hits and beautiful songs here, talking about feminist, racism, sex, love and sex again. A masterpiece of music history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Janet (Audio CD)
This in my opinion is Janets best album to date, some really feel good tunes and a must have for my classics collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past!, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Janet (MP3 Download)
Haven't heard this album in years, had to put it on my ipod! Do idea where the CD is!
Late 90's early 00's at it's best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Janet Album, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Janet (Audio CD)
This is personally the BEST album janet has ever made I can just put it on and listen to it from START to FINISH. You can't do that with a lot of albums but this one is that great. This is her in her prime she gives us emotions, strength and showcases her sexuality and makes us want to get up and dance. It's trully a 90s CLASSIC one of the best in the last 20 years to be honest. Make sure you buy and support good music.

Go On Miss Janet #throb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Janet
Janet by Janet Jackson
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews