Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dame Janet Baker
This is a wonderful CD of classic English folk songs that with be remembered by many who where at school in the 60's. The track "linden lea" by Vaughn Williams is the quintessential English country folk song full of late summer warmth and longing for days gone by. Dame Jane's' voice is perfection personified and will bring a tear to the eye, well worth every...
Published on 2 Aug. 2002 by Phil

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor packaging.
I am very disappointed with this item.I received the CD's on the 27th of February.All the pieces of the container were broken.When I tried to play the disks I found that they were both scratched.The seller offered me only 40% of the purchase price which I did not want to accept.The seller then told me to return the item to them after which he will refund me with the full...
Published 14 months ago by susanna maria ritter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dame Janet Baker, 2 Aug. 2002
This is a wonderful CD of classic English folk songs that with be remembered by many who where at school in the 60's. The track "linden lea" by Vaughn Williams is the quintessential English country folk song full of late summer warmth and longing for days gone by. Dame Jane's' voice is perfection personified and will bring a tear to the eye, well worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supreme mezzo at the peak of her powers, 17 April 2012
Any young artist starting out would do well to listen to Dame Janet Baker. These recordings mostly from the 1960's and 70's show Dame Janet singing many mezzo works and arias and in doing so she set down a standard by which most other artists can be measured. Her breath control, lyricism and dramatic range is pitch perfect as is her overflowing love -listen to the Angel's Farewell in Gerontius. Remarkable stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The very best of..., 5 Feb. 2009
By 
Mrs. V. Turner "Aurora" (Cambridge Engalnd) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I first heard Janet's sublime voice at an elderly uncle's funeral and asked around to find out who it was singing. I asked for this album for christmas and I have not been disappointed! Her silky voice makes for very easy listening. I know I shall enjoy her wonderful voice for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bliss, 4 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Such a wonderful singer with the ability to give you the impression what you hear is someone thinking - so soft but clear. You want to hold your breath to listen sometimes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing bargain, 14 Sept. 2013
By 
Martin L. Borish (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best of Janet Baker (MP3 Download)
one of the all time great singers of the 20th century. An astonishing value to get most of her finest recordings for such a low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 23 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My perfect voice.how can she be 80 this month.happiest of birthdays Janet Baker.God Bless.there will never be another voice like hers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful voice, 14 Sept. 2014
By 
Helicopter Dave (Rutland Water, UK) - See all my reviews
Wonderful voice and a god selection of songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor packaging., 5 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am very disappointed with this item.I received the CD's on the 27th of February.All the pieces of the container were broken.When I tried to play the disks I found that they were both scratched.The seller offered me only 40% of the purchase price which I did not want to accept.The seller then told me to return the item to them after which he will refund me with the full purchase price..As the condition of the item is so bad it is not worth paying the postage on this item.I hope the seller will reconsider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
all as expected
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Very Best of Janet Baker
The Very Best of Janet Baker by Dame Janet Baker/Various
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews