Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great celebration of 25 year in the Business
This was a surprise release for me along with the tour! But can honestly say what a great release, the 2nd disc adds something unique that never really happens with greatest hits. A lot of the older tracks are redone as Alison would have liked to have record them, but with a feel of how they now fit into her live set and style.

Top marks to Sony too....they...
Published on 22 Oct 2009 by SWRF76

versus
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE Alison, but...
By all means snap this one up if you don't have any Alison Moyet CDs, but some glaring omissions (Say It, If You Don't Come Back To Me, Fire, Ode To Boy, Home, God Give Me Strength...) make me think you'd be well advised to get Hometime, definitely, as a fallback - as it will give you a clearer idea of what she's about as an artist; then maybe The Turn or Essex, plus the...
Published on 27 Oct 2009 by Johnny Myo


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great celebration of 25 year in the Business, 22 Oct 2009
This was a surprise release for me along with the tour! But can honestly say what a great release, the 2nd disc adds something unique that never really happens with greatest hits. A lot of the older tracks are redone as Alison would have liked to have record them, but with a feel of how they now fit into her live set and style.

Top marks to Sony too....they saw sense and had Alison involved in this great release (after years of poor support of her!!!). Her voice is fab as ever, but for those who prefer the originals of the older hits you can listen to disc 1. If anything the remasters of the tracks are much clearer than the originals. As Alison says in the notes of the cd sleeve, many of more recent tracks (Should I Feel that its Over, More, One More Time) etc will hopefully make new fans venture to the 'mother' albums like Hometime, Voice or The Turn. Many great Alison tracks exist on these albums and should not be missed.

Great job Alison...whens the next studio album!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars REFLECTIONS OF AN INCREDIBLE VOICE, 9 Nov 2009
By 
D. J. Ryan "Hitchhike" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
25 years have skipped merrily away since the launch of Alison classic solo album 'Alf' and her label Sony Music has compiled a 'Best of' taking tracks from her seven solo albums. Alison never lost the ability to explore and there is many genres on here from Pop, Soul, R&B, Electronica, Jazz and the Blues.

Standout tracks include Should I Feel That It's Over from her Mercury nominated 2002 album 'Hometime', Windmills Of Your Mind from 2004 album 'Voice', This House from 1991 album 'Hoodoo' and of course all the hits from 'Alf' and the wonderfully poppy 'Raindancing'! The hits are included here such as: All Cried Out, Invisible, Love Reseurrection, Is This Love?, Love Letters, That Ole Devil Called Love, This House, Whispering Your Name and Ordinary Girl. Worth checking out is acoustic version of 'Whispering Your Name' Awesome!

My only gripe is I would have liked to have seen the single 'Do You Ever Wonder' a fabulous song by Carlton McCarthy and a single from the 'Hometime' album represented here instead of 'More' and 'Yesterday's Flame' and the inclusion of 'If You Don't Come Back To Me' from 'Hometime'. In addition the wonderful cover of 'Alfie' from the album 'Voice' and the single version of the classic 'For You Only from the debut album 'Alf' this was released throughout Europe in 1985 but disappointly is not included here.

Worth checking out are 'Anytime At All', 'The Man in The Wings', 'Sharpest Corner Hollow' and glorious 'Home' for Alison 2007 album 'The Turn'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alison 's voice just gets better with age., 30 Oct 2009
By 
L. Drumm "Don't Go" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The delux version is just heart warming. Alison's re-working of some of her older tracks is simply sublime. Midnight (Upstairs at Eric's, Yazoo's first album)this was the first song Alison wrote and while I love the original, the current version is my favourite at the moment and I can't stop playing it; I am hooked on the upbeat chorus. Ordinary Girl, Is this love and All cried out are like new songs. Still catching up with the rest.
As we have always known Alison Moyet has a gift, which is her wonderful voice, which just keeps getting better and better; Alison is an icon of our time and may she reign for another 25 years and dosen't she look georgous!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have a listen!, 14 Nov 2009
I think this album reminds everyone that the limelight shirking Alison Moyet is the best female vocalist the UK has had in 25 years. Makes X Factor look rather stupid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE VOICE OF A GENERATION - ALISON MOYET, 17 Oct 2009
By 
D. J. Ryan "Hitchhike" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It is a testament to the unique and gifted talents of Alison Moyet that 25 years on we are still captivated by her mesmerising VOICE. From the opening track, the sublime solo debut "Love Resurrection" with it's foot firmly on the dancefloor to the closing classic "One More Time" from Alison's 2007 album " The Turn" the listener is taking through many genres of music over this stunning collection of songs held together by that magnificent VOICE.

Why this woman is not an National Icon I do not understand as she possesses the most captivating and unique voice to ever come out of the UK. That voice goes from electronica, pop, rock, blues and soul to jazz with effortless ease.

Personal favourites include: Is This Love? (THE NEW LIVE VERSION THIS SHOULD BE A SINGLE. ARE YOU LISTENING SONY UK?), Ordinary Girl (Live), Should I Feel That It's Over, Whispering Your Name, This House, Windmills Of Your Mind, One More Time (FROM 2007 ALBUM "THE TURN"). It goes without saying I love the songs from the solo debut "Alf" and they thankfully are lncluded in this comprehensive collection along with songs from the chripy pop period of "Raindancing".

Buy this excellent record if you want to have the finest female singer of our generation in your record collection whom is also blessed as a great lyricist.

Here's to the next 25 years Alison - you are sounding and looking fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of 25 years revisited, 12 Jan 2011
By 
Spinelli Luca - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very good record. For people who doesn't know Alison Moyet is a chance to appreciate her long carreer either in studio and in live performance on the bonus cd.
If you are a collector or if you have some other records of Alison this edition is particular interesting for the bonus disc (the live one).
On cd 1 remastering work is ok, but the songs aren't different from the versions issued on the records or other collection released in the previous years (e.g. The Essential).
Sorry for my english, but I'm italian. I hope you understood what I mean and that these few lines might help someone in his choice.
Best wishes to all, Luca
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exceptional collection from an exceptional woman, 19 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great album! A superb mix of AM's finest hits, with a nice split between the "remastered" and original versions.

Obviously, it's a hits album, so anyone looking for the darker, edgier side of Madame Moyet won't be impressed with this, BUT if you're looking to introduce a friend to her, or just want to add to your own Moyet collection (great album for the car), then this is spot on.

For what it's worth, my personal favourite on *this* album is "This House". What a totally killer track :-)

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pur quality, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pure quality, even if Alison Moyet has released cd's in the past couple of years that haven't given her the respect she has been due.
This shows you that she was & still is one of our finest female vocalists of the last 25 years & the quality of her output speaks for itself
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing talent, 11 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Best Of... (MP3 Download)
You forget how many incredible songs this woman sang . Such an incredible voice and talent. Can't stop playing this . Great price too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Marvelous, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Robert Taylor "bootneck bandsman" (Gosport, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a cracking cd. Full of well known Alison Moyet tracks and ideal for having on in the background.Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of...
The Best Of... by Alison Moyet
Buy MP3 Album£3.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews