Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daleks Conquer & Enjoy!
This is a great CD featuring the music from the first of the two Peter Cushing Dalek movies [notice how we always call them Dalek Movies, not Dr Who Movies!].
A great aural nostalgiafest and well worth buying.
Published on 17 Mar 2010 by Bryan McCormack

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
All the tracks for the first movie seem almost identical ~~ just a slight variation each time.
Published on 1 Nov 2009 by MARK C. BALE


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Daleks Conquer & Enjoy!, 17 Mar 2010
This review is from: Dr. Who & The Daleks (Audio CD)
This is a great CD featuring the music from the first of the two Peter Cushing Dalek movies [notice how we always call them Dalek Movies, not Dr Who Movies!].
A great aural nostalgiafest and well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dalek-tastic!, 29 Aug 2011
By 
P Goodhead (Worcester) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Who & The Daleks (Audio CD)
For fans of the two dalek movies or soundtrack movies in general, this is long overdue and doesn't disappoint! Dr Who and the Daleks is the complete soundtrack while Daleks Invasion Earth 2150 AD, is everything that still remains, with single releases and related extra tracks too! Very extensive booklet completes the package.
Wonderfully retro and guaranteed to bring back memories of the excitement you first had when viewing the movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2150 AD, 26 Jan 2010
By 
R. Landon - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Who & The Daleks (Audio CD)
Well, I thought the first twenty odd tracks that comprised Dr Who and the Daleks were rather jolly good! I was a bit dissapointed not only by the length of the 2150 AD soundtrack but also that it seemed a bit chopped up in places. On the whole though, a fantastic cd at a very good price, and one that we've waited a very long time for! Right folks, back in the Tardis!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 17 Jan 2010
This review is from: Dr. Who & The Daleks (Audio CD)
Bill McGuffie's wonderful music from 'Daleks: Invasion Earth 2150AD' has been finally been released on CD, after a short delay of only 42 years. Sadly, the original music from this film has been lost, so what we get does have overlaid sound effects in places (although not speech, thankfully).

My only real gripe is that one of the best bits - where the Dalek rises out of the thames and the Robomen take the Doctor and Bernard Cribbins prisoner - is missing! Surely that could have been included?

I haven't actually listened to the music from the first film, because I remember it being very dreary, but this CD/download is worth it if you appreciated the funky jazz sounds from the second, superior film.

Trivia: Bill McGuffie, an accomplished pianist, lost a finger after getting it caught in the door of a phonebox.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, the music from the Dalek films!, 23 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. P. J. Faizey "The Boss" (Pershore, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Who & The Daleks (Audio CD)
Mark Ayres has once again done a stirling job of remastering and tidying up these cues from the original master tapes of the score for Dr. Who and the Daleks and the existing recordings of Daleks' Invasion Earth 2150 A.D. The music from Dr. Who and the Daleks exists in its entirety and it is a joy to hear Malcolm Lockyer's lush and very 1960's music for the film, which hit the cinemas at the peak of Dalekmania back in 1965. Perhaps due to its rushed post production, the music for Dr. Who and the Daleks largely revolves around a main theme which predominates in most of the cues and of course the opening and closing number which heavily features Guitar and Brass. Sadly the score to Daleks' Invasion 2150 A.D by jazz pianist and film composer Bill McGuffie no longer exists but some of the music has been retained via a music and sound effects master recording that was sent abroad for foreign dubs to be made on the film. This is used for the CD release and Mark Ayres has edited the material to remove sound effects where applicable. Bill McGuffie's exciting score is a stark contrast from what had come before, its jazzy upbeat sound often detracting from the dramatic elements of Daleks' Invasion Earth 2150 A.D, but nonetheless a fabulous listen and part of the film's charm when it is watched today. Included also on this release are the instrumental singles from the original records that promoted the two features and some of the sound effects produced by Barry Gray famous for scoring many of Gerry Anderson's series. A wonderful piece of nostalgia, this CD makes a great listen from a time where the Daleks were at their most popular!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dalek Movies Soundtrack., 27 Dec 2009
By 
S. M. Lindsay "dalek groove" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dr. Who & The Daleks (Audio CD)
This is an excellent soundtrack which I always thought would have become commercially available a lot sooner that it did. The key musical threads of both films are included and the detailed insert notes offer a wealth of production notes and still photographs - a must have for fans of the Daleks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 1 Nov 2009
By 
MARK C. BALE (SWANSEA, WEST GLAM UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dr. Who & The Daleks (Audio CD)
All the tracks for the first movie seem almost identical ~~ just a slight variation each time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dr. Who & The Daleks
Dr. Who & The Daleks by O.S.T. (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews