Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb bargain starter in the real blues
50 tracks of authentic, mostly pre war mostly rural blues for less than a fiver. You'd be raving mad not to buy this if you are starting to take an interest in the real blues. From this double CD you can figure out easily which singers and which styles you are drawn to, ready for more in depth collecting later. For those who have a collection here's a great addition for...
Published on 1 May 2012 by SH_

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ok but nothing to get excited about
Some nice old blues tracks. This wouldn't be bad choice for someone new to blues music, but a bit 'same old same old'if you've been listening for years. Nothing actually wrong with it.
Published 21 months ago by Mr. J. Colley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb bargain starter in the real blues, 1 May 2012
By 
SH_ (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delta Blues (Audio CD)
50 tracks of authentic, mostly pre war mostly rural blues for less than a fiver. You'd be raving mad not to buy this if you are starting to take an interest in the real blues. From this double CD you can figure out easily which singers and which styles you are drawn to, ready for more in depth collecting later. For those who have a collection here's a great addition for the car, the bedroom, quick access to some all time favourites, whatever...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


76 of 78 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL Delta Blues!, 4 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delta Blues (Audio CD)
Absolutely fantastic collection! it was the first blues cd(s) I ever bought and I couldn't have started anywhere better. a great selection of classic Blues musicians

Track Listing:
Disc 1
I Believe I'll Dust My Broom - Robert Johnson
Baby Please Don't Go - Big Joe Williams
Canned Heat Blues - Tommy Johnson
Crawlin' King Snake - Tony Hollins
Parchman Farm Blues - Bukka White
Country Blues - Muddy Waters
Special Agent Blues - Sleepy John Estes
Walkin' Blues - Son House
Candy Man Blues - Mississippi John Hurt
Hard Time Killin' Floor Blues - Skip James
Dark Was The Night - Cold Was The Ground - Blind Willie Johnson
Little Boy Blue - Robert Lockwood Jr.
Banana In Your Fruit Basket - Bo Carter
Catfish Blues - Robert Petway
Bottle It Up And Go - Tommy Mcclennan
Landing Blues - John Lee Hooker
Standing At The Crossroads - Elmore James
Death Valley Blues - Arthur 'Big Boy' Crudup
Stomp Down Rider - Blind Willie Mctell
Rootin' Ground Hog - Big Joe Williams
Love In Vain - Robert Johnson
Shake It And Break It - Charley Patton
Trouble Hearted Blues - Ishman Bracey
Fixin' To Die - Bukka White
I'm So Glad - Skip James
Disc 2
Mississippi River Blues - Big Bill Broonzy
Ain't No Telling - Mississippi John Hurt
Special Steam Lines - Bukka White
I'm Getting Wild About Her - Big Joe Williams
Hellhound On My Trail - Robert Johnson
Cool Drink Of Water Blues - Tommy Johnson
Take A Little Walk With Me - Robert Lockwood
I Be's Troubled - Muddy Waters
Shady Grove Blues - John Lee Hooker
Hobo Jungle Blues - Sleepy John Estes
34 Blues - Charley Patton
Left Alone Blues - Ishman Bracey
Highway No. 51 - Tommy Mcclennan
Rockin' Chair Blues - Robert Petway
My Black Mama (Part 1) - Son House
Nobody's Fault But Mine - Blind Willie Johnson
Dirty Mistreater - Willie 'Poor Boy' Lofton
Stagolee - David 'Honeyboy' Edwards
Moon Going Down - Charley Patton
Devil Got My Woman - Skip James
Preaching Blues (Up Jumped The Devil) - Robert Johnson
Delta Blues - Big Joe Williams
Black Pony Blues - Arthur 'Big Boy' Crudup
Frankie - Mississippi John Hurt
My Pencil Won't Write No More - Bo Carter

GET IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic blues, 14 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delta Blues (Audio CD)
Sounding like they were meant to be - not tampered with to any degree and evocative of the period - bluesy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roll Call of the Blues, 11 Jan. 2012
By 
Bluenote (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delta Blues (Audio CD)
Big Joe Williams, Bukka White, Muddy Waters, Sleepy John Estes, Son House, Mississippi John Hurt, Skip James, Blind Willie Johnson, Bo Carter, John Lee Hooker, Elmore James, Blind Willie Mctell, Robert Johnson, Charley Patton, Bukka White, Big Bill Broonzy and many more. It's like a roll call of the all-time great bluesmen, covering the spectrum of classic country blues! Fifty tracks for £2.49 probably makes this the most generous country blues compilation of all time! See Susan Gorman's review for a complete listing of the tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 26 Jun. 2013
By 
J. M. Philpott "Janet" (Amersham Bucks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delta Blues (Audio CD)
If you like the Blues but are not sure where to begin this is a good taster and lead-in to discover more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like your blues raw..., 24 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delta Blues (Audio CD)
...this is for you. Lots of artists say they are blues artists, this is full of the genuine article. Absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delta Blues, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delta Blues (Audio CD)
Some of the tracks on this CD were 'scratchy', but given the age of the original recordings not surprising (possibly better material could've been found for those tracks affected)!

Overall a very good CD with a good collection of 'Delta Blues', not your normal selection of 'greatest hits' material.

Happy with the purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some great music, 26 April 2011
By 
Mr. Brenhden T. Seago "brenhden" (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Delta Blues (Audio CD)
This CD is ace, the music is old, scratchy and full of heart. It works in the car, at a dinner party and is great to relax to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good selection, 11 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A nice array of tunes, the raw nature of the music translates well in vinyl and I love sitting in on an evening listening to the likes of Robert Johnson and Muddy Waters. The wide range of musicians gives a good taste for a wide choice of artists. Delivery was quicker than some other vinyl that I have ordered and arrived in good nick. The artwork is well chosen and continues on the inside, this is a record that has been thought about and not just churned out. I would recommend it to somebody starting to get into the blues and wants a good record to start off their collection, although I do reckon it would fit with a more expansive collection too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting selection, 19 April 2014
By 
R. D. Barr "Bob Barr" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Delta Blues (Audio CD)
An interesting selection of artists and an inspiration to find out more about some of them. It was maddening, however, trying to discover the names of the artists because of the ink used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential Delta Blues
Essential Delta Blues by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews