Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant performance by both Firth and Brannagh
One of the best films by either Firth or Brannagh. Beautifully filmed and one which captures the primitive attitudes of a rural community in the 1920's. One's heart goes out immediately to Birken (Firth)as the WW1 soldier struggling to come to terms with life after war and Brannagh's excellent portrayal of a man determined to 'keep on smiling' through his own tortuous...
Published on 21 May 2001 by Mrs C

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the full version
This Spanish edition of a good film has been re-edited and some scenes taken out. Not much is lost and the story still hangs together but why isn't it complete?
Published 17 months ago by Timothy W Barker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Almost perfection!, 28 Jun 2013
This review is from: A Month in the Country (1987) (DVD)
I think this a little gem of a film, very well acted by all the main actors including a young Colin Firth and Kenneth Branagh and Natasha Richardson, beautifully filmed, the script is very economical and subtly humourous. The story unfold of a young man just back from the war and still suffering from shell-shock who has been commissioned to restore a painting in a church. He meet Kenneth Branagh, another casualty from the war, an archeologist on a dig around the same church. The two men become friends and get to know a few of the local people, including the vicar's pretty wife.. The film manages to combine a haunting atmosphere with a sense of peace and of a summer holiday in the country. I saw it years ago and suddently remembering it, felt I woudl like to see it again but it is almost impossible to find and is rarely shown in cinemas. I managed to get a Spanish version, fortunately also in English. I would recommend it to anyone. Can't think why it is not more widely available when so many bad films are. Isn't time we gave people more choice?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars J.L.Carr film version, 2 Aug 2014
This review is from: A Month in the Country (1987) (DVD)
Fine accompaniment to the novel. I first saw this many years ago and it has hasn't dated.Excellent British cast (C. Firth, K.Branagh, P.Malahide, N. Richardson).
I have got it to play in English - but with Spanish subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film shame about the subtitles, 5 Sep 2014
By 
M. Stone "mike s" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Month in the Country (1987) (DVD)
Great film but the only difficulty I have is that I was unable to remove spanish subtitles. I managed to get english audio but the dvd does not allow for nil subtitles only that they can be in english or spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Month in the Country, 10 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: A Month In The Country [DVD] (DVD)
The movie did not live up to the wonderful book by J.L. Carr. Although the acting was superb, the story would be difficult to follow if one had not read the book. The scenes of the countryside were beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Most disappointing., 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Month in the Country (1987) (DVD)
This was not for an English viewer,who wants the original version with English subtitles for the hard of hearing.I thought that as I was buying through Amazon UK that I would get a decent English version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a month in the country, 11 Oct 2013
This review is from: A Month In The Country [DVD] (DVD)
Great film, i have a copy on dvd, bought years ago, the film was found in a backroom, rescued and re-released. BUT... why oh why is it £85 to buy? What goes? I paid £5.99 for it, new, maybe eight years ago. RIP-OFF at £85.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely FANTASTIC!!!, 6 Nov 2004
This review is from: A Month In The Country [DVD] (DVD)
Now available on DVD! What a wonderful experience that will be!
I've moved to Redditch now. Anyone who loves this film is a tasteful and emotional person... Hope the reviewer found the location in Radnage worthwhile...? I've been there on many occasions now.
Keep watching (like me) you never get bored with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good film, 19 Aug 2010
By 
R. J. Curry "rory jc" (worthing england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Month in the Country (1987) (DVD)
really good film quite nostalgic good service from the people who sold it to me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Month in the Country (1987)
A Month in the Country (1987) by Pat O'Connor (DVD)
£21.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews