Customer Reviews


234 Reviews
5 star:
 (105)
4 star:
 (57)
3 star:
 (36)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BRITISH HORROR IN YEARS
The creators of Dog Soldiers have come back with what I believe is a masterpiece of a movie - The Descent.

The films plot is pretty basic - girls go cave exploring, girls get lost, girls discover monsters, girls get devoured by monsters. However, dont let this put you off, as this is unlike any horror flick I have seen.

The first half hour or so...
Published on 20 April 2006 by Mr. S. M. Kelly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not that scary... more funny
I usually keep away from horror films so this may be bias, but I thought this was an awful film, acting was sub par, plot was diabolical, in fact the only positive thing I could say about this film is the director knew what he was doing by keeping you thinking, fear of the unknown is possibly the only thing this film has going for it, but of course, as soon as you find...
Published on 3 Nov 2005 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BRITISH HORROR IN YEARS, 20 April 2006
The creators of Dog Soldiers have come back with what I believe is a masterpiece of a movie - The Descent.

The films plot is pretty basic - girls go cave exploring, girls get lost, girls discover monsters, girls get devoured by monsters. However, dont let this put you off, as this is unlike any horror flick I have seen.

The first half hour or so starts slow, introducing us to the characters and their friendship. Its when the girls go down to the cave when things get very interesting.

Even before the monsters appeared, I was terrified by the girls struggle through the tight narrowed caves. Being a tad claustrophobic myself, I found their journey hard to watch.

Its when the creatures make their first appearence that the film changes dramatically. We now experience tons -and I mean TONS - of gore and gresome moments.

In terms of cinematography, this film is amazing. The way the director shoots the film in this dark unpleasent place is dramatically effective, making this possibly the best technical peice of British cinema I have ever seen.

I wont give to much away, but all in all this was a very enjoyable film. See this if you love gory flicks, but also if like me you appriciate the way films are shot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary and suspenseful, one of the best horror films in years, 17 Aug 2005
By A Customer
The Descent is scary and suspenseful and is also one of the best British horror films in years. It is also one of the best and most original horror films made anywhere to come along for sometime. It is such a refreshing change from the slasher films that for so long have dominated most releases in this genre. It features a mostly unknown cast, except maybe for Nora Jane Noone (Steve's Irish girlfriend on Coronation Street). With a cast of mostly women, except for the film's opening scenes, it could easily have turned into a sleaze and skin show and have offered little else. However, despite the attractive female cast, the filmmakers chose not to do this, but to offer up an increasingly humourless and tense exercise in terror. The film benefits greatly from the claustrophic cavern settings, the eerie lighting and most of all from the fantastic sound effects and realistically competent performances from the entire cast. The film may well be best seen and heard on the cinema screen, but for those looking for an excellent departure from your average horror fare, you won't find this DVD purchase or rental a waste of your time or money. Be sure to see it with someone you can hold onto!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the descent, 8 Aug 2005
By A Customer
FINALLY!The first decent horror movie of 2005!After 6 or so months of rubbish remakes and unoriginal films such as Creep,Ring Two,Hide And Seek,House Of Wax etc, this film really was a breath of fresh air. The build up of suspense in this film is like something i have never seen before. The way the film centres around the 6 female leads and apart from the opening, no one else is in the film. In that way i found the film similar to The Blair Witch Project. There are certain moments in the film that literally make you jump out your seat. It is though extremely gory, the faint hearted should avoid watching. It also does have an ending which may confuse some people. If you want a genuinely frightening and original horror to watch,i really recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nasty, vicious, grusome spinechiller... we love it!!!, 31 Mar 2006
By A Customer
Dog Soldiers was very well executed on a low budget.
This film is superbly executed on whats probably a slightly higher budget.
It's the directors ability to take what little he has and evolve it into a mindblowing classic horror film that gives the film the 5 stars it deserves.
With so much rubbish churning out of Hollywood, it just goes to show you don't need A list actors and millions of dollars to produce an awesome horror movie. It just takes an original script, a bit more effort in the ideas department, and an excellent slice of direction.
Not for ages have I actually jumped and nearly torn my girlfriends arms off with fright (who was already in a nervous disposition less than halfway through the film). She was left disgusted with my choice of DVD but equally impressed & entertained.
There are sequences in the film which aren't too disturbing but have you glued to the screen but wanting to look away at the same time... then leave you gasping for more!!!
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Claustrophobic Horror, 30 April 2007
By 
Thomas Elce (Nottinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Descent [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
2005's "The Descent" is definitely one of the more superior horror movies that I've seen in recent years. Effortlessy getting across to the viewer the feeling of claustrophobia and terror suffered by the group of characters unfortunate enough to find themselves in a cave inhabited by inhuman, vicious crawlers very much intent on devouring all involved "The Descent" is commendable for getting almost everything right as a horror movie. Naturally, its gotten criticism for its gore content (as if that wasn't the point) but pointless, irrelevant criticisms aside: "The Descent" is the full package. There's great acting, great suspense, great make-up, great horror scenes and the sort of gore fans of films of this nature will just lap up.

After her husband and daughter die in a tragic car crash Sarah (Shauna McDonald) is convinced by friends Juno (Natalie Jackson Mendoza), Beth (Alex Reid), Rebecca (Saskia Mulder) and Sam (MyAnna Buring) to go on a caving expedition with them. Also tagging along is Juno's friend Holly (Nora-Jane Noone). Naturally, when the group of friends eventually do go underground into the cave things take an awry turn. A tunnel collapses and it becomes apparent that they aren't alone in the dark miles underground. Now they must battle for their lives against inhuman crawlers intent on devouring them all.

Nora-Jane Noone is a fantastic Irish actress, that she hasn't found immense success in her career is a travesty. Once again she's superb in what isn't exactly the meatiest role of the movie (her character's fate is sealed by a pivotal event not so soon into proceedings). She shines whenever on-screen though. Shauna McDonald does an excellent job as the emotionally shattered Sarah, still struggling to come to terms with the very untimely death of her closest family members. Also of note is Natalie Jackson Mendoza, as the most adventurous of the group Juno. Her character's perhaps the most flawed, and thus she needs to do a great job portraying the many misgivings and troubles Juno has in addition to the sheer horror of the terrifying situation she finds herself in. Those are the three actresses that stand out in the nearly all-woman cast. That all being said, everyone involved does pretty great, whatever their fates.

The prospect of having almost an entire motion picture set underground sounds like a somewhat daunting task, even when considering how such darkness adds effect to any horror movie. However, the people responsible for bringing "The Descent" to the screen have brilliantly executed a movie that feels all the more claustrophobic and tense in both the design sets of the cave and the sheer size differentiations. When characters are in small spaces they're often face to face with the blind crawlers, adding to the fear factor given the crawlers make up for their non-existant eyesight with excellent hearing. And when in large spaces, the size and darkness adds up to the possible shock factor. The crawlers can sneak up on the terrified women from any angle.

"The Descent" is high on blood and gore. With both the crawlers and the supposed victims taking their fare share of stabbings, murders and mutilation throughout the crawlers may always have the scare-factor and advantage of sheer numbers over the apparently doomed women, but always promises that its not all open-and-shut in this movie.

I love it when horror movies are done as well as this. Having always been a fan of the horror genre I've been left disappointed by movies that appear to think gore passes as horror or scares. Alas, that's not the case. What's so excellent about "The Descent" is that it has the ability to scare us as well as soak the picture in blood. Thus making for an altogether superior horror that's surely not one to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary like hell!!, 15 Mar 2006
This is a must see horror!! Its the scariest british horror in 20 years!!! This movie will make you scared!! Lots of jumpy bits!! Reccomend it to anybody!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very creepy, 4 Jun 2006
By 
H. J. Whitaker "Bob" (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Some people seem to have missed the point of this film, complaining about the horror. It is a horror film but is done so well that when the gore finally arrives you're nerves are already shredded. The build up is tense and the creepy moments really do make you jump in your seat. Far from being empty, the characters are largely rounded, although not all are sympathetic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric, 20 Jan 2007
By 
K. C. Simm "kenart" (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This film actually made my wife hide behind the cushions. With obvious connections with The Cave, if only in location and a little bit of a telegraphed twist at the end, this film still managed to grip. The all female cast was a nice twist but those who feel it was only that, I feel miss the point. Without giving too much away and sounding chauvenistic, the last part of the film simply would not work without this female element. What the characters do to each other as well as how they react to the situation they find themselves in simply would not have worked with males.
Don't get me wrong these are not your weepy and vaguely silly heroines of this genre. They are capable and involved women with ability and common sense. Having said this i did find myself playing the who will get bumped off first game and I was right. Again, however I was wrong about who survives. I cannot detract from the surprise ending but suffice it to say I don't particularly like endings that look like alternatives have been filmed or the studio perhaps got involved? Perhaps, perhaps not. It did not need what happened.
A worthwhile film that only just missed a top rating because there are better. Worth watching but don't keep your better half away from the cushions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One scary movie!!!!, 17 Sep 2006
The Descent is a very entertaining horror movie which keeps you wondering when are the beasts going to attack.
I watched this on Sky Box Office and was thinking it was going to like The Cave, which is rubbish. I was wrong and I thought that it was amazing! The acting is superb and Neil Marshall directs it so well. The story is really good and alot more sensible and lifelike, unlike The Cave. The beginning was brilliant when they were in a car and a terrible crash happens. I didn't understand th ending but that didn't ruin the film.
When the girls are climbing the the caves, I felt so tight inside. It felt like I was in there with them. [] Overall, this film was brilliant but I only gave it 4 stars because it was abit slow in the beginning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Truly Scarey, 4 April 2006
This review is from: The Descent [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
What at first seems an average, run-of-the-mill, very clichéd and typical 'horror' flick, enthralls the viewer into the world of the group portrayed on-screen. With the use of dramtic events in the film's early stages used, not as plot devices for the films' direction, but as catalysts for the character development is a welcome change and is part of what separates The Descent from so many of its ilk. Another stunning uniqueness is the often excessive gore factor does actually add to and enhance the film, rather than detract from the story or turn a gripping movie into a dreary or even laughable bloodfest. Occasionally confusing and disorientating, this seemed not so much of a problem with watching, but more as yet another way to involve the viewer empathically with what is happening on-screen. This efect, combined with the poor lighting and claustrophobic setting really heightens the panic and this film will make you jump! Overall, a success in both making a truly frightening 'horror', and as an entertaining and well-made film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Descent [Blu-ray] [2005]
The Descent [Blu-ray] [2005] by Neil Marshall (Blu-ray - 2009)
10.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews