Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dancing to marvel at
The European 'Dutch' Region 2 DVD does not have the extras of the American release which apparently explain the background to the story, nevertheless this film is a joy to own and view at last. I own quite a few Patrick Swayze films and his dancing ability has always fascinated me as I love traditional and modern ballet. The plot of "One Last Dance" is based on "Without a...
Published on 3 Mar. 2009 by Angela

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's worth a watch
Patrick Swayze is delightful in this story about the dance world. The dancing is excellent and there are some nice moments in it. There are times where the script is a little contrived and I wasn't entirely sure about Lisa Niemi's character, but her dancing is sublime . Worth a watch though especially if you want to see Patrick Swayze dancing for real. Three stars
Published on 25 April 2010 by Rosalie Radin


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dancing to marvel at, 3 Mar. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The European 'Dutch' Region 2 DVD does not have the extras of the American release which apparently explain the background to the story, nevertheless this film is a joy to own and view at last. I own quite a few Patrick Swayze films and his dancing ability has always fascinated me as I love traditional and modern ballet. The plot of "One Last Dance" is based on "Without a Word," a play Patrick Swayze and his wife Lisa Neimi created many years ago. It is mostly about the emotions and conflicts of 3 dancers who are past their performance peak, returning to the stage for a benefit gala, to face their fears and the relationships they left behind. Lisa is touching as a gifted dancer who suffered a burnout and although still mentally fragile is bravely returning to the dance world she loves.

The company dancers are superb, with a technical virtuosity in many styles, from traditional to the most contemporary. George de la Pena plays Max Delano, one of the 3 leads, he performed with the American Ballet Theatre and on Broadway, and is dynamic both as a dancer and an actor. Other standouts include Matthew Walker as Alex McGrath, a sadistic choreographer, and Stefan Wenta as Orest, a poetic teacher who is an inspiration to all. Patrick Swayze as Travis is a marvel, with the athleticism and energy of someone half his age. The final dance sequence with the three leads is thrilling to watch and very moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Last Dance, 17 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Last Dance [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Great movie already have it from an imported source which plays well but when it was coming out in England just had to buy it again hoping for more extras, which there are none, shame. The film is just fantastic, love to watch Patrick and Lisa dancing together, beautiful, talented people. Just wish there was little bit more than just the movie, superb value though so no complaints. Just love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One last Dance, 11 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb film, fantastic to see Patrick and his wife Lisa dancing together. As a Patrick Swayze fan I love all his films, but this is one of the best, so moving, brought me to tears. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remembering Patrick, 5 Nov. 2009
What a brilliant film as a tribute to the superb dancer that Patrick is (and of course, Lisa).
They complement each other beautifully and I certainly wouldn't be without this film in my collection. A definite must see for all his fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DEEP LOVE, 10 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
GREAT FILM ABOUT THREE DANCERS WHOSE LIVES ARE ALL INTERWINED, THE DANCERS ARE REUNITED TO HELP SAVE A RENOWNED DANCE COMPANY, BUT AS THEY BEGIN TO REHERSE FOR THE BIG OPENNING NIGHT FLOODS OF MEMORIES START COMMING BACK TO THEM. TRAVIS PLAYED BY PATRICK SWAYZE HAS A BAD KNEE WHICH HAUNTS HIM PLUS HIS LOVE FOR CHRISSA WHICH NEVER LEFT HIM AS HE REALISES AS THEY DANCE TOGETHER, PLUS CHRISSA PLAYED BY LISA NIEMI WITH GHOSTS OF HER PAST HER BREAK DOWN THROUGH THE PRESSURE OF DANCING AND HER YOUNG DAUGHTER WHO IS TRAVIS'S CHILD WHICH SHE DID NOT TELL HIM ABOUT. THEN THERE'S MAX THE LONG TIME FRIEND OF TRAVIS AND CHRISSA HE'S PLAYED BY GEORGE DE LA PENA ANOTHER WONDERFUL DANCER. THE STORY BRINGS THEM ALL TOGETHER AND THEY'RE LOVE OF DANCE GRADUALLY MAKES THEM EACH FACE UP TO EACH OTHER AND THEY EACH FIND OUT THEY ARE STILL ALL TRUE FRIENDS AND CHRISSA AND TRAVIS START TO BUILD ON THEIR LOVE FOR EACH OTHER THAT STILL IS THERE WITH THEY'E BEAUTIFUL YOUNG DAUGHTER. THIS IS TRUELY A FANTASTIC FILM PATRICK AND LISA AT THEY'RE BEST, I EVEN FOUND THIS TO ME TO BE BETTER THAN DIRTY DANCING AS THIS WAS A FILM FROM THE HEART AND IT CAPTURED ME WELL AND TRUELY BRILLIANT!!!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's worth a watch, 25 April 2010
This review is from: One Last Dance [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Patrick Swayze is delightful in this story about the dance world. The dancing is excellent and there are some nice moments in it. There are times where the script is a little contrived and I wasn't entirely sure about Lisa Niemi's character, but her dancing is sublime . Worth a watch though especially if you want to see Patrick Swayze dancing for real. Three stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best film with Patrick Swayze, 30 Aug. 2010
This review is from: One Last Dance [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
As a massive fan of Patrick I found this film a little dissapointing in the story line but the dancing was amazing just what you would expect from Lisa and Patrick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why?, 17 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Last Dance [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I bought this for my mom as she loves Patrick. We sat done 1 evening to watch it, my goodness what an awful awful film. I am sorry to say, the story line wasn't great, acting wasn't brilliant. I was so disappointed, needless to say, so was my mom. We gave it away. Not worth the space on her DVD shelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful and the DVD brings it to life very well, 23 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Last Dance [DVD] (DVD)
A tad amateurish but worth watching for Patrick who is always well worth viewing. The storyline is very basic and obviously this was just a vehicle for the talents of the Swayzes. The dancing is, as ever, beautiful and the DVD brings it to life very well. How much we lost by this guy's sad demise we shall never know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 19 Nov. 2009
By 
Ms. Rebecca Sandwell (GB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
DVD arrived in good condition and within the allotted time.

when watching it i was immediately reminded of exactly how good a dancer Patrick swayze was. The plot was well instigated and acted and i couldn't help but watch it all the way through twice in ons sitting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Last Dance [DVD]
One Last Dance [DVD] by Patrick Swayze (DVD)
£4.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews