Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More great war films
More great war films, that are well worth watching, unlike their modern day counterparts, which try to be more gruesome than they need be, for my taste and often forget that there's supposed to be a good story in their somewhere. Well if you like me like a good story, you won't be disappointed in this collection.
Published 4 months ago by Mr. Colin Newcombe

versus
0 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars war collection
This DVD was bought for my grandson for christmas and asI liked these type of films when I was young I thought he would
Published on 29 Dec. 2011 by gud


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More great war films, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic War Collection [DVD] (DVD)
More great war films, that are well worth watching, unlike their modern day counterparts, which try to be more gruesome than they need be, for my taste and often forget that there's supposed to be a good story in their somewhere. Well if you like me like a good story, you won't be disappointed in this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some great war classics, 21 Nov. 2010
By 
M. B. Edwards (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic War Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoy the old war movies, so to get a collection of them like this was a real treat. I'd seen most before, but enjoyed watching them again - the only one I hadn't seen was "The Sand Pebbles" starring Steve McQueen which turned out to be most enjoyable.

The box set includes:

Twelve O'Clock High (1949) starring Gregory Peck. 127 mins B&W English 2.0. Probably my pick of the bunch.
The Longest Day (1962) starring Richard Burton, John Wayne, Sean Connery etc. 168 mins B&W English 5.0.
The Great Escape (1963) starring Steve McQueen, James Garner, Richard Attenborough. 165 mins. Colour. Mono.
Von Ryan's Express (1965) starring Frank Sinatra, Trevor Howard. 112 mins. Colour. 2.0 stereo.
The Sand Pebbles (1966) starring Steve McQueen, Candice Bergen. 174 mins. Colour. English 4.0.
Patton (1969)starring George C. Scott, Karl Malden. 163 mins. Colour. English 5.1.
Battle of Britain (1969) starring Michael Caine, Laurence Oliver, Christopher Plummer. 127 mins. Colour. 5.1 Surround/DTS.
Tora! Tora! Tora! (1970) starring Martin Balsom, Joseph Cotton. 136 mins. Colour. English 4.1.
A Bridge Too Far (1977) starring Dirk Bogarde, Michael Caine, Sean Connery. 169 mins. Colour. English 3.0 Dolby Surround.

Great value for money and hours of entertainment - you really can't go wrong here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect condition - fast delivery, 10 Nov. 2014
By 
Ms. Christina Cullivan (bedfordshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic War Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Perfect - just what we wanted for my step dad. He has had a stroke so cannot read, or do crosswords. Chuffed to bits with this present
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what's not to like about classic films, 19 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic War Collection [DVD] (DVD)
what's not to like about classic films. not all the high tec guff, just honest film making at it's best. luv it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic War Collection, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic War Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Good value for the money. A good selection of films. Well packaged and speedily dispatched. Liked the fact the DVDs were in slimline cases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have, 26 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic War Collection [DVD] (DVD)
As before I reviewed another War Collection set (featuring Platoon) and this was no different to that, the odd obscure film (Twelve O'clock High), the odd film I didn't really care for-(Von Ryan's Express) and mostly many classic films. All good quality, no issues. And so cheap too! Recommended for any war-film buff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value For Money Box Set!, 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic War Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Extremely quick delivery, couldnt be more satisfied. All DVDs are fantastic quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Box Set of DVDs, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic War Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Very good selection/collection of DVDs. Well received. Good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic War Collection [DVD] (DVD)
excellent for this many classic films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic War Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent pack and well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic War Collection [DVD]
Classic War Collection [DVD] by Richard Attenborough (DVD - 2009)
£16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews