Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars31
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2015
An example of the remark "good things come in three's" : this masterpiece of a trilogy has more than earnt its place in ANY DVD collection.

Nobody needs any sort of description/introduction of these films, but what makes these even better is each movie has a bonus disc that has so much material, we get to witness how each of the 3 had come to life, the films all have an audio commentary.

The last : The Good, The Bad and The Ugly, is available with an extra 20 minutes (maybe less) of scenes not broadcast anywhere before - now available here.

NO DVD - or blu-ray - collection is ever going to be complete without this : regardless of the varied genres.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
Excellent value for money love a good western
Don't expect excellent sound even with home theatre but given that some of the films are 40 years old they have done a very good job
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
I loved the Spaghettie Westerns when at the cinema, so was delighted that the DVD version was so satisfactory. Amazons service was great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
Although these films were made many years ago they still grab your attention - from the amazing camerawork to the unforgettably original misic score. I never tire from watching these movies - they dont make them like that anymore.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2011
First of all, there is some confusion with the title of the collection, which is used on other collections with other Western films on Region 1 DVD. This review refers to the DVD pack with the three Sergio Leone films starring Clint Eastwood as "The Man With No Name". The collection would be better titled as "The Dollar Trilogy" or "The Man With No Name Trilogy".

Most reviews tend to focus on the films, but we do have quite a lot of reviews indexed on the IMDb and elsewhere on the web. When I come to an online store I would expect more comments regarding the "product"'s characteristics and quality and less on the films themselves.

As someone else pointed out, even if with a possible lack of clarity concerning the terminology used, the DVDs of A FISTFUL OF DOLLARS and FOR A FEW DOLLARS MORE have old, outdated, transfers, which were norm in the time of VHS players and 4:3 televisions. The transfers are not enhanced for current 16:9 sets which means they have to be zoomed, wasting resolution. To add insult to injury, if you need subtitles, they are also not 16:9 compatible; the second line will be cut off, except if you use an intermediate zoom like "14:9" with dark or grey bars on the sides. This should be clear on the product labelling, so that the costumer could judge better if it is worth the price. It is not, in my view. I don't think widescreen films not enhanced for 16:9 are acceptable. They were not a decade ago, when DVD was already the video standard.

The information is not on Amazon and it is not correct on the box-set or on the individual sleeves themselves. I would not recommend this edition except if you have a 4:3 television and don't plan to have a 16:9 set in the next few years. That is, if you are, for some reason, frozen in time.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2015
Forgot how good these films were. Now my son knows how good they are too!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2013
Excellent movies of course. Only a slight problem; first DVD in the series is clearly very old and so is the quality of the film. As you get to the 3rd and final DVD the quality improves dramatically.

All in all, totally happy customer.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
The films are as good as i remember them...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2016
good for collecters of clint movies
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2015
Shame it's in wide screen format.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)