Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (63)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


242 of 251 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Good The Bad and The Blu-Ray !
Ok well lets start by saying I won't be reviewing the films here or getting bogged down in the is it even a triolgy debate. Others have been doing this over the last 44 years so im sure you have read it all before.

There have been a few mixed reviews on other sites so let me throw in my hat in the ring pardner and see if its any good...

All three...
Published on 7 Jun. 2010 by TMUK

versus
19 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Outdated transfers on the DVDs
First of all, there is some confusion with the title of the collection, which is used on other collections with other Western films on Region 1 DVD. This review refers to the DVD pack with the three Sergio Leone films starring Clint Eastwood as "The Man With No Name". The collection would be better titled as "The Dollar Trilogy" or "The Man With No Name Trilogy"...
Published on 26 Dec. 2011 by Luis Canau


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

242 of 251 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Good The Bad and The Blu-Ray !, 7 Jun. 2010
By 
TMUK (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Ok well lets start by saying I won't be reviewing the films here or getting bogged down in the is it even a triolgy debate. Others have been doing this over the last 44 years so im sure you have read it all before.

There have been a few mixed reviews on other sites so let me throw in my hat in the ring pardner and see if its any good...

All three films are presented in full 1080p 24fps and appear to be the same extended versions that appeared in the last re-release of the 3 films on DVD in 2005.

Running Times
A Fistful Of Dollars (1964) Runtime 99 minutes
For A Few Dollars More (1965) Runtime 132 minutes
The Good, The Bad And The Ugly (1966) Runtime 179 minutes

In terms of picture quality all three films show some wear with occasional artefacts (white speck holes in the film) but a lot of tidying up has been done on all three. Making a direct comparison to the previous release on DVD of the 3 films, this is the best these films have ever looked and by some distance. The usual vibrant colours associated with the blu ray format are not so obvious but this is not a bad thing. The overall feel is a slightly drab colour pallet and an age to the images which is appropriate for films as they spend so much time with white adobe building sets and faded costumes worn on the dusty trails, but the magic of blu ray is apparent throughout. The close up work that Leone made as his own trademark is wonderful. The scarring on the heavy set faces are a rogues gallery of glorious characters that fill all 3 movies.

The Audio on all 3 films is remastered in English 5:1 DTS-HD. Although im sure many folks are aware of the dubbing issues in all three films. I have to add the sound is fantastic and the reason for the lips and words not matching on for the non english speaking actors is down to the fact the these films had the sound added after the filming, in order to cater to the Italian, German and Spanish markets the films were made for. So basically all the actors added the dialogue in there native tongue and where then redubbed depending on country the film was being being distributed to. The main advantage of adding the sound after was that layers of sound effects could be added which along with Ennio Morricones glorious musical score creates an atmosphere par excellence.

The Extras are plentiful on all 3 films and appear to same as the previous DVD release with 2 new features added.

So is it worth the switch ? Well I think it is. I gave the box set 4 stars as the actual quality of the films may not be what a lot of folks regard as "Excellent Blu-ray". The images are not as vibrant or bright as the the latest Blu-Ray films and the artefacts although not overly abundant in the movies are non the less still there, But we are viewing films made 44-46 years ago that were made as B movie westerns for the Italian,Spanish and German market. They weren't picked up by the USA till 1967 which is mean't they had all 3 movies in 1 hit which explains the desire to make them appear to be a trilogy. So although I do believe that maybe the films could be cleaned a little further and maybe they could shine them up so more Im not really sure i won't them to. I really don't think its either viable (some of the reinserted scenes from the original Italian versions where saved from destruction) or necessary as they appear as they should and these as i said earlier are the cleanest and clearest versions out at the moment.
Well I really enjoyed all 3 films and will enjoy them again and again and again
But maybe im just someone who misses the scratching noise you got when you played old vinly records :)

Some Extra Info added about language and subtitles
Audio and Subtitle Information
Fist Full of Dollars
Audio
English DTS-HD Multi Channel , French DTS Multi Channel, Spanish 2 Channel Digital, English 2 Channel Sir Christopher Frayling commentary.
Subtitles
English Hard of Hearing, Spanish, French (Quebecois) French, Portugese, Portugese (Brazil), Polish, Greek, Chinese and Korean.

For A Few Dollars More
English DTS-HD Multi Channel, English Digital (mono), Spanish digital (mono) , English 2 Channel Sir Christopher Frayling commentary.
Subtitles
English, Spanish & French

The Good The Bad And The Ugly.
Audio
English DTS-HD Multi Channel , English Digital (Mono), German DTS Multi Channel, Portugese Digital Multi Channel, French Digital multi Channel, Italian Digital (Mono), Spanish Digital Multi Channel, Thai Digital 2 Channel, English 2 Channel Sir Christopher Frayling commentary, English 2 Channel Richard Schickel commentary.
Subtitles
English Hard of Hearing, German,German Text, Spanish, Spanish Text, French Text, Portugese,Portugese Text, Chinese, Korean, Italian. There are also several variant subtitles in German and English that feature text versions of the Audio Commentary.

The worse supported film is the few dollars which is the only film of the 3 that is only region AB not ABC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars £10 for 3 Spagettic Westerns....Bargain, 3 Feb. 2011
By 
F. Patel (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read through all of the other reviews and the one thing that hasn't been mentioned is the price. I paid less than the price of a pizza for 3 of the most influential westerns that now have been released in Blue-Ray (BR) format. OK the films aren't as well restored as other old films(James Bond/Wizard of Oz/Star Trek) but to be honest you really do have to go out of your way in which to find fault with these BR releases. Lets not forgot these films are around 45 years old and were budget films then. Yet on my TV they look great. Now I'm a little discerning when it comes to films which helps explain why I have given away a number of Blue rays which I didn't like. Yet and a big yet these 3 films will be staying with me. Other people have explained the technical bits better than I ever could, which is why I haven't bothered boring folks waffling about this, that and the other. If you like Clint Eastwood and have a spare £10 then you can't go far wrong with this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Often imitated - never excelled - there's nothing in comparison to these three!., 16 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Spaghetti Western Collection [DVD] (DVD)
An example of the remark "good things come in three's" : this masterpiece of a trilogy has more than earnt its place in ANY DVD collection.

Nobody needs any sort of description/introduction of these films, but what makes these even better is each movie has a bonus disc that has so much material, we get to witness how each of the 3 had come to life, the films all have an audio commentary.

The last : The Good, The Bad and The Ugly, is available with an extra 20 minutes (maybe less) of scenes not broadcast anywhere before - now available here.

NO DVD - or blu-ray - collection is ever going to be complete without this : regardless of the varied genres.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray review, 14 July 2010
For those who really want to buy this but are afraid of Madame Tussauds being involved in the mastering of these discs - heres the details.
A fistful of dollars - grain fully intact, excellent picture quality.
For a few dollars more - again, grain fully intact and excellent picture quality.
The good, the bad and the ugly - not good news. This one looks very smooth. I dont know how bad it will look on a big screen as I only have a 37" but theres hardly any grain visable at all! It still looks a lot better than the DVD (same restored version) but it should do anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Leone's & Eastwood's Spaghetti western trilogy., 15 May 2015
By 
sam lowry (gtr manchester uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Leone's spaghetti western trilogy has been released in various forms-video/DVD/ & I am sure in the 1970s they were available on cinefilm, all for home use, when I first saw them (again in the seventies), as an impressionable nine or ten year old, their music , images and Eastwood being in them, changed my idea of what westerns were-uptil then I had only seen John Wayne westerns, which even then were a different generations movies. I think (although can't be certain) that i saw them in order, and was sold on Westerns -with Eastwood and Sergio Leone movies.
These are certainly the best I have ever seen, having owned the previous DVD versions, colours appear little better-& as others have stated these are Old pictures-over forty years, shot cheaply and in techniscope.
The trilogy has Eastwood in what was to be a career defining role-insolent, single minded and ruthless humorous , even if Leone "borrowed" the storyline of "Fistful" from Akira kurasawa's Yojimbo.
A few dollars more has Eastwood and Lee van cleef team up to get the gang whom murdered van cleef's sister.
TgTbAtU has three leads Eastwood returning in his signature role, van cleef returning (as the baddie), and eli wallach as Tuco, often the butt of Eastwood's humour, also dishing a lot of his own humour.
The trilogy has rightfully gained its place not just in Western history, but movie history, the recent Django unchained (Tarantino) is massively influenced by it-although DU doesn't have the miniscule budgets Leone had to contend with.
I also got the 2010 set-as I have read that the more recent tgtbtu re-release has apparently got a "teal" effect on them, which I don't recall after numerous viewings on different mediums.
If you can get for a tenner they a real bargain...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spaghetti Western Trilogy (BluRay) Box Set, 20 Mar. 2014
This is where Clint Eastwood really started to get famous. These 3 movies improve each disc to the epic 3 hour The Good, The Bad & The Ugly. The incredible film work, the brilliant soundtrack music, the magnificent acting all makes for 3 great movies. These 3 films are classics, they are classics that have always been a favourite of mine.
I love the picture quality, the sound is a bit strange at times with a mono soundtrack converted into 5.1 which at times has voices changing from rear to front during conversations in films.
The extras are very enjoyable and well produced.
Overall these 3 BluRay discs are well worth investing in if you like high quality acting within a western setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best westerns ever made, 19 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To my mind these are some of the best westerns ever made, it's amazing to realize that they are 40 years old now!
I have owned these movies on DVD for many years but held off purchasing them on blu-ray as I had heard various horror stories about how the quality was no better than the DVD versions and in some cases even worse!
I finally took the plunge with this trilogy and boy am I glad that I did, the quality is amazing for 40 year old films, okay there are still artefacts and one or two light scratches in a few places, perhaps the studio could have spent a bit more time and money cleaning them up.
But I have to say that overall the quality is excellent for 40 year old low budget films, they are bright and the focus is good in most scenes especially on close ups, overall I am very pleased with this purchase especially at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... ultimate classic Bluray collection including the epic western The Good, The Bad and The Ugly, 23 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the ultimate classic Bluray collection including the epic western The Good, The Bad and The Ugly. Leone's trilogy of classics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray.com Verdict, 9 Jun. 2010
By 
IMP (London, UK) - See all my reviews
It goes without saying that The Man With No Name trilogy belongs in every western fan's collection. These three films cataclysmically altered the course of the genre, and launched steely-eyed Clint Eastwood into super-stardom. For some reason, though, the trilogy has never really received the home video treatment it deserves, imperfectly reproduced through pan-and-scanned VHS copies and non-anamorphic DVDs. This Blu-ray release of the collection is a remarkable improvement--newfound detail, consistent color, stronger depth--but videophiles will still find cause to complain. I empathize to some extent--I too want the best possible versions in my collection--but I'm not about to let some minor edge enhancement and imprudently applied DNR ruin my enjoyment of the films. Even with their flaws, the transfers look drastically better than anything that has come before. Barring new re- masters and frame-by-frame restorations from MGM--which, let's face it, given the studio's financial state, aren't going to happen anytime soon, if ever--this is likely the best that The Man With No Name trilogy is going to look for some time to come. Recommended. (Blu-Ray.com)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray details, 19 Nov. 2010
1. In a nutshell:

Picture quality:
- "Fistful": 8/10
- "Few More": 9/10
- "Good, Bad, Ugly": 7/10
Region Free!
Widescreen 2,35:1 orig.
Audio: English, Spanish, French (German/Italian also on "Good, Bad, Ugly")
Extras: seem to be the same as on 2-disc DVD sets.
NB: extraordinary audio commentary by Leone expert Christopher Frayling!
If you like these Leone films, then this 3-piece set should be a no-brainer.

2. For sprocket hole addicts (myself included):

All films of this "trilogy" (of course it wasn't intended as such) were shot in "Techniscope" (i.e. 2 perforation holes instead of 4, as in "Cinemascope" ) hence cutting stock costs in half - unfortunately same goes for picture resolution. Therefore a slightly lesser picture quality than in usual Cinemascope Blu-ray transfers is the result. But this only adds to the intentional grittiness of Carlo Simi's production design. Much better prints are not likely in the future.
Still these Blu-ray prints of the three movies differ in their picture quality with "Few More" being the best (except some minor visible stain at TC 00:04:09-56, Chpt. 2) followed by "Fistful" and "Good, Bad, Ugly" (due to excessive DNR processing).

Alternatives for the 3-disc box set?
- "Fistful" - you can also look for the Italian BD release from RHV (Ripleys Home Video; Region Free) available from bol.it.
- "Few More" - this BD is available seperately
- "Good, Bad, Ugly" - you could wait for an enhanced BD version, but who knows when this will be around? "Good, Bad, Ugly" of course could use some improvement...
- Fox have put out a 4-disc BD set also including "Hang 'em High" available from amazon.co.uk Clint Eastwood Collection - A Fistful Of Dollars/The Good, The Bad And The Ugly/For A Few Dollars More/Hang 'Em High [Blu-ray] [1964] (RC? / picture quality? / audio?)

Overall these BDs look great - a definite improvement over DVDs - and are great fun to watch!! Audio commentary by Christopher Frayling (author of: "Spaghetti Westerns: Cowboys and Europeans from Karl May to Sergio Leone", 1981) impressively marks the difference between informative vs. talkative (yes, Sir!) and provides you with everything you always wanted to know about these Leone films but didn't know whom to ask... brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Spaghetti Western Collection [DVD]
The Spaghetti Western Collection [DVD] by Sergio Leone (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: £21.22
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews