Customer Reviews


512 Reviews
5 star:
 (255)
4 star:
 (86)
3 star:
 (73)
2 star:
 (49)
1 star:
 (49)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The most underrated movie of the franchise.
In my opinion Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince is the most underrated of the Harry Potter movies. True, it is not the best of the films, but it is far better than a lot of people give it credit for.

Most people who critized the movie complained about most of the memories being cut from the film, as only two make an appearance. In my opinion attempting to...
Published 11 months ago by Gatekeeper197

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half Blood Prince
Another movie in the Potter series. This one takes a bit of following though, seems a bit disjointed! To say the least. Long gone are the happy days at Hoggwarts, as this movie is very dark and mysterious and not at all easy viewing. However there are some good scenes in it throughout the film.
Published on 24 Nov 2011 by Ade


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Half Blood Prince, 24 Nov 2011
Another movie in the Potter series. This one takes a bit of following though, seems a bit disjointed! To say the least. Long gone are the happy days at Hoggwarts, as this movie is very dark and mysterious and not at all easy viewing. However there are some good scenes in it throughout the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The most underrated movie of the franchise., 1 Sep 2013
In my opinion Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince is the most underrated of the Harry Potter movies. True, it is not the best of the films, but it is far better than a lot of people give it credit for.

Most people who critized the movie complained about most of the memories being cut from the film, as only two make an appearance. In my opinion attempting to put multiple dream/memory sequences don't work in a film which is why I think it was the right decision to remove most of them.

Another complaint has been the focus on the romantic relationships between Ron/Hermione/Lavender and Harry and Ginny. Most people seem to think that they take up a vast majority of the film, when in fact they only take up just under 1/4 of the film ( I even timed them; in total they only take up about 25 minutes of the 145 minutes of film time).

This films still contains great humour and dark storytelling that featured in the previous 3 movies and the last half hour is some of the best work of the series.

In conclusion this is one of the better entries in the series and deserves a lot more praise because of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


113 of 137 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good adaptation but not great. Still worth seeing though!, 25 July 2009
By 
A. Moriarty "mumoftheyear" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am reviewing this film after seeing it at the cinema on Friday and not after seeing the DVD (which is obviously not out yet!). I think that if you saw the film without reading the book you would probably enjoy it more, although I think it would have been important to have seen the five previous films to understand the plot.

First to the negatives points, which were few. I hate to critisize anything Potteresque but I do think that if you are going to adapt such a great book for the screen, you should only omit scenes/characters that are not important to the plot. Also, any changes to the plot should be for the better. Personally, I did not much like the scene with Harry and the girl in the station cafe. It meant omitting the wonderful scene at the Dursleys where Dumbledore appears and tells them exactly what he thinks of them. I wanted to see the goblet of mead tapping Uncle Vernon on the head while he tries unsuccesfully to ignore it! I also thought it strange that, immediately after the Burrow burns down, the next scene show Ron smooching and laughing with Lavender Brown as if nothing had happened. I know time was restricted but I felt there should have been more 'memories' of Voldemort. The one where we met his grandfather and his bedraggled and put-upon mother should have been included and especially the one where the Dark Lord approaches Dumbledore for the Post of DADA professor. His appearance has alredy altered, leading Dumbledore to suspect that his dabbling in the Dark Arts has already gone further than any wizard before him.

However, now to what WAS included in the film. I thought the acting by all the principal characters was excellent, especially the now very suspicious and troubled Harry. The scenes with Ginny which showed their growing awareness and understanding of each other were very subtle and touching. Rupert Grint gave an excellent comic performance of the love-sick Ron Weasly and Emma Watson as Hermione, usually so composed and sure of herself was fabulous as the jealous 'gooseberry'. Newcommer Jim Broadbent made a wonderful Slughorn, showing us his conflicted emotions. On the one hand, he wants to live in peace and comfort but struggles with the guilt of once giving out too much information. He wants to make amends but believes he is a coward. I must also give a mention to Hero Tiffin Fiennes whose young Tom Riddle was chilling. How a boy, so sweet and appealing could convey so much menace was quite incredible.

I loved the opening slow-motion sequence of the film, the immediate aftermath of the battle at the Ministry of Magic, where Dumbledore puts an arm around Harry and tries to shield him from the flashbulbs of the press and the publicity as this sets the tone for the film. Having ignored Harry in year Five for fear that Voldemort was controlling him, Dumbledore knows Harry has earned his right to be more involved. And involved he is. The scene in the Cave is stunning and was truly frightening. Harry shows strength of character and Dumbledore again shows why he is thought to be such a great wizard and the only one Voldemort truely fears.

Overall, despite some minor reservations, I can thoroughly recommend this film. It kept my family enthralled for the 2 hours+ that it ran and it also sets the scene perfectly for the penultimate and last films in the saga. I can hardly wait!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like the wording says, 26 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Trevor Davis (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like the wording says, it's the 'Ultimate' edition! Everything packaged in one box, the blu-ray and dvd versions, plus lots of other bits and pieces. Extremely well put together. For any Harry Potter fan this series is a must
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great DVD., 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great DVD and the extras are very interesting too. I love Harry Potter saga and this movie is one of the best of the all saga!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for myself as i am a huge Harry Potter fan and would highly recommend for any Potter fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hormones over excitement as part six is merely an appetiser to the double billed closure to come., 30 Jan 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Death Eaters are running amok as Dumbledore has an important task for Harry and Voldermort has one for Draco; all set to the backdrop of raging adolescent hormones. While Harry also acquires a rather helpful book written by the mysterious Half-Blood Prince.

Potter 6 is not as dark as the pre-release chattings suggested it would be. Yes there's the usual dark moments, including a shattering turn of events that sets it up nicely for the finale, but this instalment is mostly fun, gentle and even sexy. Harry, Ron & Hermione are more under threat from their own adolescent urges than they are from the swirl of a Death Eater or the appearance of one young & creepy Tom Riddle. This of course makes for good viewing to most of us who have grown with the characters, with the principal young actors having nicely grown into said characters. But can it sustain a two and half hour running time? No it can't is the ass numbingly honest answer. There's some quality set-pieces including Quiddich (for a change) and a swamp attack by the Death Eaters, but by and large it's talky and breezy in equal measure.

A filler Potter movie then, one that is far breezier than expected. Good but not great, but as a set up for the epic conclusion it hits all the right buttons. 6/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter, 9 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This Is A Great Package it comes with the Blu-Ray Copy And A DVD Copy And A Bonus Disc Of All Audio Content.A Massive 5.1 True Master Sound A Beautiful Trasfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice presentation but adaptation could be better, 24 April 2010
This adaptation of the half-blood prince while entertaining fails to remain very true to the books. Much of the story is missed or dumbed down and towards the end there's a dissapointing lack of a number of pivotal and exciting scenes. Dispite this I found the acting, scenery and effects in this movie to be far better than the previous ones and the movie is far more watchable and entertaining.
As for the arangment on Blu-ray I was very impressed. This is the first Blu-ray that I have bought and I was impressed to see that not only is there the movie disc and a special feature disc but also a DVD copy and a digital copy for use with media players such as itunes.
All in all this is a very worth while purchase despite the less than perfect adaptation. I'll be looking farward to the next instalment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, 20 Mar 2010
By 
Mrs. J. Sturzaker "TV addict" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the first Bluray Harry Potter I have seen it was very good the sound and effects were wonderful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 252 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews