Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect all round base layer
Excellent base layer. Fits nice and tight and wicks away sweat. Keeps you cool during the summer and keeps you warm if worn under anything else during the winter. I ordered the white and the only negative comment I can make is that it does look slightly see through and so would be careful as to what colour to buy. Otherwise, its great. Wouldn't bother spending any more on...
Published on 20 Oct 2010 by Mr. S. Ahmad

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars shrunk!
Great top while it lasted, sweat wicks away and fits well. But be warned, put it in the wash on any kind of medium temp and it will shrink on you! So only wash on low heat. Too small now to use. Such a pity, great top otherwise :(
Published 17 months ago by Ewok


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect all round base layer, 20 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. S. Ahmad - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Helly Hansen Men's T-Shirt Technical Baselayer (Sports Apparel)
Excellent base layer. Fits nice and tight and wicks away sweat. Keeps you cool during the summer and keeps you warm if worn under anything else during the winter. I ordered the white and the only negative comment I can make is that it does look slightly see through and so would be careful as to what colour to buy. Otherwise, its great. Wouldn't bother spending any more on the more expensive base layers as this does the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could this be the crowning acievement of western capitalism?, 10 Dec 2011
By 
doublegone (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Helly Hansen Men's T-Shirt Technical Baselayer (Sports Apparel)
I was thinking the other day, this garment must represent about the best value for money I have ever spent. They are totally reliable for the purpose and just keep on going. I have two long sleeved and one short. I've had them about ten years. They have been on countless camping trips, fishing, snowboarding and hiking expeditions. When its cold in the winter I just wear them day to day under ordinary clothes for extra insulation. I've been doing a lot of winter running lately. They go on under a normal running top and a windproof shell and its perfect even in the Scottish December. They always keep me warm, dry and comfortable. After a decade they show no signs of wear other than the lettering fading on the washing label. They look exactly like they did when I bought them despite being washed at all sorts of temperatures with all sorts of other items. I can't think of anything else I have ever bought from curtains to a car that has kept doing the business for ten years with no signs of giving up. No bobbling, no loose seams. Its extraordinary. And they are pretty cheap.

There are thicker and warmer base layers available from HH and other manufacturers incorporating marino wool, silk and all sorts of luxury. But for me the point is flexibility. I'd rather wear more fine layers and remain flexible as to what I can take on and off. There is nothing to these but they give you that layer of extra insulation that covers most eventualities, and when it doesn't you can wear two.

Bloody marvellous base layer. So good you probably won't even realise as you never think about them. They are just always there doing what you bought them for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, 24 May 2013
By 
Mr. M. Gunston (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
HH are the best non merino wool base layers around in my opinion.
I am a size M in most clothes. However, with HH I find that a size M is very tight fitting and a size L is close fitting without hugging the skin.
I would say that if you have a slim/skinny upper body go for your normal size. If you are muscular or broad than go a size larger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best base layer ever, 11 April 2010
By 
J. Saunders (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Have used these tops for years. For cycling, skiing and walking etc. Never let me down. Keeps you warm and gets rid of moisture. They also stand up well to washing in a machine and tumble drying without shrinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb fit, 10 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this fits superby and feels amazing, soft and silky. washes and drys exceptionally well and still looks as good as new have invested in another 1 already
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars shrunk!, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great top while it lasted, sweat wicks away and fits well. But be warned, put it in the wash on any kind of medium temp and it will shrink on you! So only wash on low heat. Too small now to use. Such a pity, great top otherwise :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helly Hansen Lifa Dry T-Shirt, 27 Aug 2010
I have worn this t-shirt for cycling and for walking and i'm afraid to say it does not appear to be particularly hard wearing and certainly not as hard wearing as other baselayer t-shirts, including Helly Hansen t-shirts that i have bought in the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Impressive for sports or leisure wear, 25 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very impressed with this top. It is true to size, the colour is as displayed online. The fit is as a muscle type top, looks really flattering and is long enough, sleeves a good length too.

Temperature is kept at optimal levels when wearing for leisure or playing sport, it's been worn whilst playing tennis and felt great, kept skin dryer and temperature lower.

Once washed the top has retained shape and size, it's been washed on a low, gentle cycle but still had creases that needed to be ironed out, that's my only disappointment, but on a cool iron it's easily restored to being crease free, not enough of a reason to knock a star off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... no base layer seems to wick sweat away as good as helly Hanson, 2 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Despite having many brands of base layers no base layer seems to wick sweat away as good as helly Hanson. They are slightly loose fitting but then maybe that's why they work so well. They always seem to be my go to base layer. Thoroughly recommended. You can't seem to get white ones in the shops hence why I bought from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Did the job, but much lower quality than expected, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great feel and definitely did a good job over a very hot 21 mile tab but within 5 minutes of wearing it brand new the whole front material started bobbling up. I would recommend trying a different brand for baselayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Helly Hansen Men's T-Shirt Technical Baselayer
12.49 - 23.92
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews